We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricely Hotel, Large, clean rooms but parking and breakfast disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Beds are comfortable and the rooms are large, clean and well decorated. Breakfast is from 6:30-9:30. We had a tour one morning and had to leave by 6:30 - so we missed breakfast entirely. The next day we had another tour and had to leave at 7:00. We arrived for breakfast at 6:40 and there was only cereal, toast, bagels, juice and coffee. At 7:00, when we were leaving, a lady brought in eggs and bacon - which we missed of course. Very disappointing. You pay $12.95 daily for parking. We parked in a small parking garage with about 30 spaces. Inadequate for all the quests and so dark that I had to find a flashlight in order to load our vehicle. I asked where you parked if there were no more spaces in the garage - they said our front but you still pay $12.95 daily. We will not stay here again. There are many less expensive hotels close by to choose from.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VetteGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill G, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

VetteGirl2014,

Thank you for staying with us during the Corvette Rally here in Deadwood. We appreciate you found our rooms large and clean. Booking early can save you a lot of money as our rate is set by demand and occupancy. For special events we have guests book a year out to capture the lowest rate. Breakfast is served 6:30am to 9:30 am week days and 7am to 10 am weekends. The day you came down for breakfast at 6:40 was Friday which would be why the eggs and sausage was not quite out yet. I am glad my breakfast ladies were able to get you a few things prior to opening at 7am. We have 40 spots to park downstairs, 10 on the side for larger vehicles and another entire lot for use by our guests and our valet's. The underground parking garage is one of our great features as most car aficionados and motorcycle riders appreciate having their vehicles parked indoors and secure and away from the elements.

We do appreciate your business and appreciate your feedback.

Safe Travels,

Deborah Rumpel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
There are newer reviews for SpringHill Suites Deadwood
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

I just loved everything about this hotel. From the delicious, healthy choices breakfast to the beautiful pool with a retractable roof our stay was perfect. The rooms are spacious, sleek and comfortable. The staff was also attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kroberts0525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill G, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

kroberts0525,

That’s the kind of feedback we like to hear! The SpringHill team is so happy to hear that your stay was most enjoyable. So glad to hear the breakfast met your expectations a healthy diet. We strive to provide the ultimate experience in your hotel stay. We do have a great staff and we are proud to be able to provide the very best in customer service. Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay and we look forward to you visiting us again in the future.

Have an amazing Summer!

Deborah Rumpel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel had beautiful views from the windows. The room was clean and spacious although I did have to call down for a few amenities.The pool was wonderful and had a fun layout for the kids, but it was littered with towels and some trash. There were not enough towels so we had to ask for more. It is such a beautiful hotel I wish the service was better and areas were well taken care of. We ate out on the patio which was nice until we noticed we could not get back in. A grounds worker happened to be outside and let us back in. He was the friendliest staff member we came across. I do agree with the other reviewer the parking fee should have been added in. The few perks that were given did not compensate for the parking fee since we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family4231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill G, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Family4231,

Thank you for your review. It is good to hear that the kids enjoyed the pool area and appreciated the fun lay out. Our desire is to maintain a family friendly environment. So sorry to hear that you had trouble getting back in the building after using our patio. Hotel room keys cards for our hotel should open the doors to the hotel. Thanks again for your comments as it provides us an opportunity to improve. We hope you will visit us again soon!

Deborah Rumpel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here during the first week of July and the hotel is very nice. The rooms are very nicely decorated and well maintained. The kids loved the pool, the breakfast was a welcomed plus and the bartenders and front desk we very friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed the gas fire pit on the patio in the cool evenings. I have two suggestions that would enhance the experience. One is to fold the parking fee into the room charge, the separate $12.95 charge per day really leaves a bad taste in your mouth when on 2 occasions we could not find a reasonable spot and the overflow lot was not well explained upon check in. The second is to replace the bathroom doors. The stylish over sized bathroom doors are wood framing with mostly frosted glass and when someone gets up at 3:30 in the am everyone in the room is awakened by the light shining through. We used this hotel as a base for exploring the Black Hills and Devil's Tower and enjoyed our stay very much. Would definitely consider staying here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the back side of the hotel to avoid any road noise.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill G, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Jeff P,

Thank you for the review and suggestions for the SpringHills Suite by Marriott in Deadwood. As you mentioned in your review the hotel is nicely situated in the Black Hills within a short driving distance to Mount Rushmore, Devils’ Tower, Crazy Horse Mountain and a number of other attractions. We hope that using the hotel as a base provided you the opportunity for short day trips around the area and the opportunity to relax, recharge and enjoy the evening. We continuously strive to exceed our guest expectations and appreciate your feedback on the parking and the bathroom doors. Please know that we would love to have you back at the Hotel on your next visit to the area.

Safe Travels,

Deborah Rumpel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Okay, this place is awesome! We were so happy to walk into our room, I even asked if we had been upgraded. But nope, that was just a regular suite room. Everything was brand new and well designed for the weary traveller. We just loved the pool, work out room, jacuzzi this place is so great! Really, I don't know what else to say! Oh i know.. I can't give it 5 stars, sigh, because there were hairs in our bathroom tub when we walked in to check (we checked due to another hotel in SD having a dirty bath). Which is such a little miss by housekeeping when everywhere else in this spring hill suites room & hotel was really spotless. location is great. we walked from downtown main street easy and felt safe at night, but you can take the trolley too. parking was around $13 at the hotel, which is fine. Great sheets, great bed! I would sooooooo recommend this place to anyone in the area! Oh and the morning continental breakfast was great!!

Room Tip: some hotel rooms view the pool
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2TravelTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill G, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

love2TravelTravel,

Thank you for the exuberant review of our hotel. Our team is very happy to hear that we met your expectation in most every way. One of our goals is to provide a place to relax and re-charge with great breakfast, and pool/fitness facilities. SpringHill Suites is a Marriott brand designed to meet the needs of “weary” travelers like you. The SpringHill brand is proud to provide all suites with 25% more space than standard rooms at a competitive rate. While you indicated the hair in the tub was “a little miss,” the oversight does not meet our usual expectations for cleanliness. As you indicated in your review the hotel is typically spotless. We strive to maintain that standard always. In your future travels, we hope to see you at the SpringHills Suites by Mariott in Deadwood.

Deborah Rumpel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here the week before the 4th of July and I have to say it’s a good hotel in the area. The rooms are very nice and the bathrooms are clean. The breakfast was good too. My only complaint, as with many others, is the charge for parking. Most area hotels charge $5 for daily parking, but Springhill Suites charges $12 and this doesn’t guarantee that you’ll have a parking spot. They try to offset this fee with a coupon book and free happy hour cocktail. But the inconvenience of trying to use these coupons doesn’t offset the charge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JRC24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill G, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Jason,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that your stay with the SpringHill Suites Deadwood was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future. We do hope you will visit us again in the future.

Deborah Rumpel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Clean, comfortable rooms with upscale amenities, including large, walk-in shower. Large rooms. Great breakfast!! Great location for you if staying in the Black Hills or if passing through the area on your way East or West.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill G, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Richard S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip advisor. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our "clean comfortable rooms and found the breakfast and location excellent". We hope you and your family will visit us often and appreciate you staying with us for the weekend.

Deborah Rumpel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.7 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
720 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Deadwood

Address: 322 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1223
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range: £53 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Deadwood 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're here for work or play, SpringHill Suites is committed to meeting your travel standards. This luxurious addition to the Deadwood lodging scene features 78 stylish and spacious suites that are innovatively designed to give our guests more space, sounder sleep, and a focused work environment. Visitors are also invited to experience some of the area's best gaming at our adjoined casino, Cadillac Jack's. The casino features tables for blackjack and poker, as well as a floor filled with state-of-the-art slot machines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing