We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel, Let Down by Parking Charge Policy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel, Let Down by Parking Charge Policy”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. The room was modern, well maintained & nicely appointed. It had the added benefit of a separate lounge area. However, as the hotel is built right into the hillside, so be aware that the rooms at the back of the hotel, especially on the lower floors, are looking directly at a rock wall. This makes for a dark outlook. To help with the lighting, the sliding door to the bathroom is glass paneled. This helps during the day, but is a disadvantage at night, as the bed is directly across. So, if one person is trying to sleep & the other turns the light on in the bathroom, the light shines directly on to the bed.

Overall, a very pleasant hotel experience was tarnished by the hotel policy of charging $13.73 (with taxes) PER DAY for parking, (especially as there is free parking just down the road). No other hotel in our whole month of travelling around the West has done this. Also, the parking is limited, so you still have to search very hard to get a space, even after paying the fee. The hotel says that they compensate by giving you gambling & discount vouchers, complimentary drinks, etc, none of which we wanted or indeed used. And, in reality, these 'FREE' things aren't really free or complimentary for anyone, but a bit of a con, as the hotel guests have already paid for them, whether they wanted them or not, through the annoying, non-negotiable parking fee.

So, HOTEL MANAGEMENT, please listen to TripAdvisor feedback & just absorb the parking charges into your room rate. Your guests will be happier for it and you'll still get the same revenues.

Room Tip: Suggest trying to get a room facing the front or on a higher floor, to avoid the darker aspect of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill G, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Deadwood, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Virginia O,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for choosing our hotel during your travels. We are happy to hear you had a pleasant hotel experience and found the rooms modern, well maintained and nicely appointed. We appreciate the feedback on the parking fee, however this policy has been in place since we opened because parking is extremely limited due to it being a historic town. Some hotels downtown have no parking at all.

I am sorry if you found it difficult to find a parking spot. We have valets on staff at no additional charge to park your vehicle for you in the event you cannot find a spot in the garage. I sincerely apologize if the front desk did not make this additional amenity known to you.

We do hope you enjoyed your tour of the Wild West and wish you well in your future travels.

Deborah Rumpel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    130
    33
    3
    7
See reviews for
187
266
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel actually price gouges. And the service is WAY below a Marriott standard.

We had to pay in full two months before the Rally with no changes or canceling. And when we got here they made us pay more for parking. $699 wasn't enough per night.

The room cleaners took a personal towel of mine and I couldn't even get a sorry. It's a microfiber hair towel that was a different color than the hotel towels. Not even an offer of paying for it. I even kept it in a different place from their towels just so that wouldn't happen. The cleaners also never changed the sheets, didn't leave new supplies daily ( glasses, shampoo ect). Even the ice bag was a trash can liner.

When I complain all I get is " what do you expect- its Rally week."

For $699 per night I EXPECT awesome service. And for a Marriott I expect more. One of the rewards program perks is a daily paper at your door. This hotel doesn't do that during Rally week.

So I am charged $400-$500 more to night for the privilege of staying here during Rally and I don't even get the typical service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill G, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Deadwood, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Amy G,

I am truly disappointed to read your review and to find your stay did not meet your expectations. I only wish during the multiple times I saw you and your husband during your stay you had mentioned any concerns you had to me. On the days we greeted each other your husband informed me everything "was great." We at SpringHill Suites - Deadwood pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service and in fact were recently recognized for top in guest service scores for all SpringHill Suites nationwide.

I am also concerned to learn you believe you were charged $699 per night. I have reviewed your folio and it clearly reflects your early bird contracted rate which was all explained in the contract you signed for your stay. As your stay was over the Sturgis Rally and the busiest time of the year for our area, the reservation and cancellation policy is different than any other time of the year. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss with you directly so please contact me at your earliest convenience. I would hope that you can see from our other trip advisor reviews that we do take guest service seriously and consistently deliver an exceptional experience.

I am looking forward to speaking to you and resolving any misunderstandings you may have.

Deborah Rumpel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We arrived unannounced the day on the Friday before the Sturgis Motorbike Rally started and really did not expect to get a bargain at this hotel as we had been told that it would be difficult to find a room within a 100 miles of Sturgis! However, we got a beautiful kingsize room with very luxurious facilities for the same price we have paid for more mediocre rooms in a motel. The price also included a buffet breakfast, free drink at the bar before 7.00pm and $15 to use in the casino next door if we wanted. The breakfast buffet was served in a very stylish reception/lounge area and was more than adequate. Thank you, Heather (receptionist) for the wonderful bargain and so far, best hotel of our USA stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdcaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill G, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Deadwood, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
pdcaw,

What a wonderful review! Thank you so much, and we're so glad you had a good experience staying with us. Our team works hard to make each guest as comfortable and happy as we can, so your feedback is much appreciated.

We wish you safe travels on your tour of the US and hope your travels will bring you back for a visit soon.

Deborah Rumpel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centre Al
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed during rally. Nothing went unanswered by staff! Rooms were great, entire hotel was clean. Couldn't have been more pleased. Will definitely come back to this hotel. In a city full of hotels we made
the right choice!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jsteeleking3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill G, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Deadwood, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Jsteeleking3,

Thank you so much for your kind words, and for taking time to share your experience! We're very pleased that you had a good time during your stay with us, and are glad you chose our hotel for your Sturgis Rally stay. That's our goal and our purpose; to provide the best service, clean rooms and assist our guest in having the best time ever.

We hope you'll visit us again soon; please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us even better!

Deborah Rumpel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were not expecting anything special in Deadwood. It was raining as we arrived and everything looked shut. However, the hotel presented a different face altogether. We thought our hotel room was one of the best designed we had stayed in. Very modern of course, but extremely quiet and comfortable, with a separate seating area, microwave oven and desk. The staff were all incredibly helpful and welcoming. We were most impressed and have only positive feelings towards the place. Would stay there again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill G, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Deadwood, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
worldtraveller112,

Thanks so much for taking time to let us know you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so pleased you found the hotel quiet and comfortable and the staff helpful and welcoming! That's what we love to hear, and we hope your journey in the states will bring you back to us one day soon!

Safe travels,

Deborah Rumpel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed during rally and couldn't be more pleased! Clean rooms, good restaurant in casino, staff is fantastic! 3 adults in a queen room was fine. Separate bath from restroom a plus! Prices were high but understandably due to rally. Parked bikes in garage, safe, dry and easy access. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill G, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Deadwood, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Jill T,

We love RALLY and adore our rally guests! Our entire team looks forward to welcoming our bikers each year. We are thrilled to hear you found the rooms, restaurant, staff and underground parking fantastic. We hope you and your guests had a wonderful Rally and we look forward to welcoming you all back next year for the 75th Anniversary. Thank you for choosing us for your stay and taking the time to leave this perfect review!!!

Deborah Rumpel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel because I made a mistake with the reservation at the hotel we intended to stay at. We were told this was the only hotel in town with rooms and they were $299/night for a king with a sofa bed. We were desperate so we took it. The room was very clean until we pulled out the sofa bed and found a few bits of cereal between the sofa bed and the chair next to it. The pool was really nice, but that didn't make or break our stay. There was a wedding party with a very large crowd, but they weren't out of control so that didn't really affect us until we came across puke in the elevator. I understand that these things happen and can't be prevented, hotel staff took care of it right away after we informed them of it. The trolley transportation from the hotel was very slow and behind schedule. The breakfast buffet was the standard self-serve buffet amped up a bit. My suggestion to others is to stay at a less expensive hotel because this one was not worth the price we paid. I would have rather stayed at one of the hotels in the heart of town for this expense as this one is a bit of a jaunt to walk to-from the center of activity.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill G, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Deadwood, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Carie W,

Thank you for your recent review and we appreciate you found our hotel to be a very nice place. We’re disappointed your stay didn’t meet or exceed your expectations in regards to the price. We work hard each day to ensure all of our guests depart with a satisfied experience and hoping they want to return.

Days of 76' is a special event weekend for Deadwood and one of our most celebrated weeks so demand is high for rooms here in Deadwood and may be the reason your original hotel could not accommodate you. When rooms are not booked in advance, day of rates can be elevated due to demand.

I do apologize for the oversight with housekeeping. I have spoken with our housekeeping team to pay extra attention to the fold out sofa sleepers and apologize for the few bits of cereal beneath the couch. We hope you will give us another try as rates range from $59 to $179 when they are not on a special event weekend.

Deborah Rumpel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.0 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.7 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Deadwood

Property: SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Address: 322 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1223
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Deadwood 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're here for work or play, SpringHill Suites is committed to meeting your travel standards. This luxurious addition to the Deadwood lodging scene features 78 stylish and spacious suites that are innovatively designed to give our guests more space, sounder sleep, and a focused work environment. Visitors are also invited to experience some of the area's best gaming at our adjoined casino, Cadillac Jack's. The casino features tables for blackjack and poker, as well as a floor filled with state-of-the-art slot machines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing