We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing and quite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mystic Hills Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We enjoyed our time at the campground and we had a great time riding the trails! We will be back again. Everyone was very friendly. It was so nice and peaceful. We stayed in our camper, but the cabins are very nice also. Rent a 4 wheeler are side by side you won't regret it.Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank DEmter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had a stand-alone cabin during the Sturgis Rally. Cabin looked new. It had a great bathroom, two queen beds and nice decor. We could park the trailer, truck and bike in the parking area just in front of the cabin. It was also quiet (and that says a lot during a rally). Also had barbecue grill, campfire ring and picnic table. Lodge was nice with food being ok. Wi-fi was nonexistent in the cabin and poor up at lodge. Had good signal, but no capacity if others using it. Didn't try breakfast, but had dinner twice. Both were worth eating, but not great and could not compare to the great meals we had in reasonably-priced restaurants in Deadwood. In summary, if you live out of the cabin, it is great. If you live out of the other facilities, it's good enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 11pittypat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

There were 6 of us, mostly family members. We had a great stay. The camp ground was well taken care of. Most buildings appeared relatively new. The lodge was very nice. Since it rained a little more than we liked, we spent time in the lodge hanging out finding a dry place. They had washers and dryers so those were kept busy buy people with wet camping gear.

The campground was quiet, peaceful and friendly. All food we had was great. The lodge had internet access and cell phone access. Any issues we encountered were acted upon immediately by the staff. I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: This is a campground. It is in a hilly area, look for a flat spot. There is minimal cell phone sig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sndygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed in cabin #9. It has a loft and a hot tub. We are not RV or tent campers but loved this cabin. It was spacious and private. Our 9 year old son, enjoyed the ATV ride to Custer Peak. We were able to get on the trails from Mystic Hills and Custer Peak was a short drive. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Eilena62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were able to secure two camp sights and a trailer for our group this last trip to Sturgis. The rates are not less than others during Sturgis week. Mike and his daughter accommodated us as we actually arrived one day early. The lodge has breakfast (marginal at best - coffee was terrible, buffet was cold) and we had one dinner (Prime Rib - let's just say it was not something I would order again.) From that point on, we ate sandwiches in our trailer or ate out before we got back to the camp site. Clean Bathrooms - BIG ISSUE. They clearly need to be cleaned and kept up twice a day or more often and they are NOT - obvious short staff. As the other reviewer noticed, there was poop in one of the showers and by the 4th day it did get to be disgusting in the ladies room. Don't even think of going in without shower shoes that you do not wear into your trailer/RV - leave them outside. Campsites get muddy, so bring something to put down on the ground. They do have picnic tables and some tree coverage. WiFi is only available in the main building and is satellite so if more than a few folks are using it - you can expect it will not work for you. Cell phone coverage is nonexistent in the camp sites - but spotty in the main building. Close enough to Deadwood, but still a ride away. We do plan on returning but will stay in a cabin or a bigger RV so as to minimize the use of facilities.

Room Tip: Stay in the first area across from the main lodge and to the right of the bathroom facilities. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LibyAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle K, Manager at Mystic Hills Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

We are so sorry you had a bad experience staying with us. We certainly strive to make each guest's trip enjoyable. We appreciate the feedback and are implementing ways to improve. Thank you for choosing us for your stay in the Black Hills, and we hope we can do a better job accommodating you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

DO NOT go here! We rented a camp site not the cabin. The bathrooms were absolutely disgusting and hardly cleaned! Someone actually POOPED in the shower (most likely the night before because i was up early and the other lady had to warn me, and someone had to inform staff since they never seem to check on the bathrooms or anything except to see if the right party is in their assigned spots)We arrived Saturday ( i was there 6 days) and the coach roach that was there Sunday morning was still there Tuesday until they finally cleaned it that afternoon. When I say clean they just squeegee the floor, there is grim all along the side of the showers, they never emptied the waste baskets in the stales, only emptied the trash once, one stale was out of toilet paper for 2 days, soap dispenser out of soap for 4 days. They need to take a pressure washer to it and give it a good clean and have their staff pay more attention to the bathrooms than just be in the lodge were the dinner (we ate hamburgers only once) was over cooked and the breakfast is not worth the $10 they charge. They only have 2 dryers and washers and this site is not big and people were still waiting for hours lining up to us them and they are going to add more motor home plots but this place is not staffed or equipped to have more people there since they can take care of the small amount of people that they had this Sturgis week. Next year being the 75th anniversary for Sturgis bike week I would defiantly NOT recommend this place they are incapable of taking care of the crowd that they are trying to have. They need to hire more people to take care of other areas the camp site we had was a big spot but flies were all around when it didn't rain (maybe thats from the loose cows that were roaming around the area) and the staff was nice but this place needs to change a lot of things!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Spicyone02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle K, Manager at Mystic Hills Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

It is unfortunate that you had a bad experience at our campground. During rally and busy weekends we make it a point to clean the shower house twice a day but sometimes as you observed the sheer volume of people using the facilities makes it tricky to get in there prior to it needing attention. We've decided for next year in an attempt to avoid this issue again to have designated hours when it will be closed for cleaning. Also we appreciate when our guests let us know if the shower house or anything is not up to par as we try really hard to give everyone a good experience. Ultimately we're deeply sorry that we didn't meet your standards and hopefully we'll do better next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Camp sites are large enough for 36' fifth wheel campers. Plenty of parking for trailers that hauled motorcycles, ATV, etc.
Great access to riding trails.
The local store as any items you may need and what they don't have is a 5 minute drive away.
The trail maps they provided are very good and have more information than the ones provided in the mail.
Very friendly people.
Showers and toilets are kept clean.
Cabins are very spacious and clean.
Highly recommend, we had a group of about 40 and they handled us with no problems.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
10 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 26 in Deadwood
591 reviews
9.3 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
8.6 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Hills Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Hills Hideaway

Address: 21766 Custer Peak Rd, Deadwood, SD 57732-7334
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Deadwood
Price Range: £71 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the forest off of 385 near Deadwood, South Dakota, Mystic Hills Hideaway rents cabins, 50-amp RV spots, and tent sites. Right next to Forest Service Trail #7, you can hop on your four-wheeler or snowmobile and be riding through the woods in no time. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing