We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antiques and Room!!”
Review of Deadwood Dick's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deadwood Dick's
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Torrington, Wyoming
2 reviews
“Antiques and Room!!”
Reviewed 3 June 2011

3 floor of antiques to explore and a room for the night.
The owner treat us like family and we'll be back for another stay

Room Tip: For a couple room 408 and for a family 410
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farmersdaughter_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    73
    17
    16
    23
See reviews for
49
120
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pine Haven, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2011

We felt like we went back in time from the moment we walked in. This place is not for those who want to stay in the same old little box. The rooms are large with huge windows. Some of the best views of deadwood. Close enough to everything, but far enough to miss the noise. Hidden historical treasure right downtown. A real Mom and Pops kind of place. We will stay every chance we get.

Room Tip: Ask Mary and David
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therancher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrington, Wyoming
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We go gambling and sight seeing in the Black Hills at least 8-10 times a year. I discovered Deadwood Dick's about 5 years ago and we made it our home away from home. This is not a new building, if you ask about the history, it used to be the general store for the Adams family of the 1800's. The elevator is quite ancient and fun with the old style buttons and 2 door closure(and people frequently forget to close both doors rendering the elevator unusable) But we don't mind the stairs we can use the exercise.
Every room is different and we have stayed in 90% of them. So there is a different rate on a king room or a suite or even the double queen. And the rates are different in winter and the summer. Plus on special events there are minimum night requirements but most of the hotels in Deadwood have this policy. But I love the beds and the mini-kitchens in the rooms. I love the proximity to main street. My whole family feels at home with Dave and Mary. The icecream, the bar, and the antique store is just a bonus. Oh they have WiFi too!!! They don't have a pool but the Rec Center is about a block up the street and it was newly renovated last year with a indoor slide and a kiddie pool and it is only 2 bucks for a day. This is the best place to stay in Deadwood and surrounding communities.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyofarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2011

I've stayed at Deadwood Dick's several times in the last couple years, and everytime I feel like I've returned to my vacation home in the Black Hills. I love the character and the history of the hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and I love the antique decor.

The old elevator is really kool and I love the antique shop and old bar area. My favorite place is the patio where I have spent hours soaking up the pine scented mountain air with a drink or ice cream, just watching the world go by.

It's a 2 minute walk to the main street, and there's a trolly stop right out front where you can ride anywhere anytime.

Mary and Dave are great hosts and I have really enjoyed getting to know them. They'll cook you up some crispy hot wings or get you a hand dipped ice cream cone. I feel they are family and I will go back again. It's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayM0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Service, amenities, view, etc. are important, but when it comes down to it, I want a hotel to be clean, quiet, and the bed comfortable so I can get a good night's sleep. I'm not sure our room had been stayed in for months! There were several dead flies on the bathroom floor and in the room. The room decor is very old and worn, making it also appear "dirty", though it may not, in fact, be. The location is great, but we could hear road noise all night long, making for a disruptive night's sleep. The mattress in our room had to have been old. We are of average weight and we sunk and rolled to the middle of the bed. The price was right and the location close to things....but, I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2011

I love Deadwood for the ambience and Deadwood Dicks did not disappoint usl! The room was clean and warm. The service was wonderful, especially since it was a holiday! The shop is a trip! Like stepping back in time for my husband and I! Loved the elevator and the charm of the room! Look forward to staying again.....

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnadpuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Beware if you make reservations here and have to cancel more than TWO MONTHS in advance. They will keep your money and sell your room to someone else so that they make double the money. What a scam, not to mention illegal. I am all for small businesses, my family runs one, but when it comes to this hotel, I would stay at a chain where you have some consumer protection. Our fight is not over, but at this point, the owners are ignoring our requests.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amlrtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Our Rally reservation cancellation policy is verbally communicated before we take any reservation. It is then followed up with written communication with response required before confirmation. Since this is our busiest week of the year, we stand firm on the policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.0 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.1 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#7 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#2 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Dick's

Property: Deadwood Dick's
Address: 51 Sherman Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#14 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Deadwood Dick's 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Historic Landmark Building in Downtown Deadwood converted into a hotel. Spacious comfortable Queen and King rooms or suites with an Old Deadwood feeling decorated in period styles. European style elevator, an original Otis. Saloon and Eatery on premises plus an Antique Mall covering 12000 square feet. The coolest place in Deadwood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Deadwood Dick's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deadwood Dick`s Hotel Deadwood
Dicks Hotel Deadwood
Deadwood Dicks Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing