We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel in a great location”
Review of Deadwood Dick's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deadwood Dick's
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unique hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed two nights here in room 305, their biggest room with 3 beds. The room was nice! It was actually 4 rooms....2 bedrooms, a living room and a kitchen (and bathroom). The hotel is older and very unique. If you have to have everything new and perfect, this is not the place for you! It has a lot of charm and huge windows! Of course being older, it also has some stains, and cracking and peeling. I don't mind this at all, as I still felt it was clean. We had no problem with parking, as the hotel has several free spaces around the side and in the back. Once you enter through the antique store and find someone, they will show you to your room and tell you any quirks you may need to know! THere is a cool old elevator to haul luggage up. We never had any problem with it! Also, one of the best things, is that they are very pet friendly! We had 3 little dogs and they had no issues with that, although be warned that there really is no where to let your dogs out to go to the bathroom...its mostly concrete! A few things to be careful about: The stairs are a little steep, and the heat was uneven...although this wasnt much of an issue, we used extra radiators in the room when it got too cold, and just opened a window when it was too hot. The biggest drawback was the hot water, or lack of.....there is a sign in the room that says let it run for a while and it will get hot. We let it run ALOT and it never got more than luke-warm...plus I hated wasting all that water. Still, I would stay again! THe location is fantastic and you can walk to everything downtown! The people that ran the hotel were friendly as well.

Room Tip: Room 305 is huge and has awesome windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your comments. After your review, we investigated the lack of hot water in this unit and found the pipe had gravel blocking the flow of the hot water. We corrected it thanks to your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    79
    18
    17
    23
See reviews for
54
127
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Casper, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I love staying at Deadwood Dicks. I love the history of Deadwood and the character of the old buildings. Deadwood Dicks however has a character of originality that beats the bigger Deadwood Hotels. The Suites are large, the rooms are quaint, and the views are fabulous. And above all the rooms are clean. It is hard to describe the feeling that comes over one at Deadwood Dicks. Its as if you are not of this time, rather then you are in another time. The atmosphere, the price, and the hospitality of Dave and Mary can not be beat.
I love Deadwood Dicks!!
Davina G

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David City, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Birthday weekend and we head for Deadwood Dicks....A huge suite with 2 bedrooms and king and queen beds....Huge windows to see the activity out on Main street...and a delicious grilled steak supper at Deadwood Dicks Bar and Eattery.....( Thanks guys...ALL was wonderful!!!!)...AND a short block and a half to see 3 Dog Night in concert....Cost????...Less than a $100.00...Experience????...Priceless!!!!....Oh...did i mention the live music and beer before the concert?????Thank you all!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for what you need exactly and Mary will do her best to arrange it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Convenient location. on site parking (big deal in deadwood). this is a very old building and the rooms are unique. tall ceilings, huge windows. it's kind of charming with the old style elevator. but we found some negatives. the radiator makes lots of noise (and at 4 am it is disconcerting) and doesn't heat the room all that well. the hot water for showering is in short supply. way too many stairs to climb when someone doesnt shut the elevator door properly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seahawx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David City, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2011

my husband and i enjoyed deadwood once again by staying at Deadwood Dicks Hotel.....we called mary the owner and asked for "our" room and it was ours......I like the 4th floor and being able to go on the roof and see the deer come out......as Deadwood is now none smoking it is great to go out in the morning grab a coffee from your room and sit an smoke and plan the days adventures in the Backhills while sitting on the roof.....Deadwood does not have screens on the windows as the town does not have gnats and ohter little creatures to bug you..... if a fly or wasps does come in oh well...... better than spraying yourself down with cancer causing sprays and smelling that all day long..... THANK YOU mary and dave for your hotel.....we LOVE it

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

My husband and I adore Deadwood and visit from another state as often as or schedules will allow..we even spent our honeymoon here..after staying in other Deadwood hotels..we always pot for Dicks. .true..the hotel is old and very eclectic. .and also, I would be lying if I said the place doesn't need a few renovations. However, it really captures the true sense of historic Deadwood and the king bed in room 407 is unbelievably comfy !! After living in a studio apartment in lower Manhattan NYC for several years..Deadwood Dicks really give me a happy nostalgic feeling of my 6th floor walk up ..I will say if you're looking for four star luxury...this is probably not the place for you..however..if you want to experience eclectic old Deadwood history. , you will love this place as much as my husband and I do..

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ds0530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bancroft, South Dakota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

The people were very friendly but the hotel was awful. I have 2 toddlers and a Great Dane. The grassy area they talk about for walking dogs is a 4x4 peice of weedy grass and then a mountian straight up. Our room was on the 4th floor. Hallways and elevator to small for doub;le stroller. To get the dog outside we had toout our door up 2 stairs ,across the roof, in another door, down a hall to the small english styler elevator that we almost didn't all fit in. And if it is on another floor and the last people in it didn't close the cage behind them it wont come to you and you have to walk the stairs. Also we were pulling a horse trailer and there was no parking so we had to park 2 blocks away at a bank. The second night we were there we had wasps in our room, they offered us another room on the 3rd floor but seeing as it was going to take us 6 trips across the roof with our stuff jsut to go down 1 floor to sleep and than leave in the morning doing it all over again,Especially since they never offered to HELP us move our stuff. We just left at 9pm at night to drive 6 hrs home. it was not worth staying there any longer. Both me and my 3 yr old were crying to go home. We ended up staying at a Microtel in Rapid City that was very nice, big hallways and an actual big grassy area in the back for dogs. First floor too right by a back door. Deadwood Dicks was awful. But the beds was comfy the first night there were no wasps in it.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have wasps
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
We are sorry you had a bad experience. The grassy area is along the sidewalk for approximately two city blocks and then there is a park. There are boxes along the walk with bags which are also in the park. It is true our elevator is small, maximum occupancy of four people or two with luggage. We feel this gives it the “quaint” atmosphere people keep coming back for. There was another exit six feet from your room that went straight downstairs to the grassy area . We pointed it out to you when you checked in. You acknowledged it and said your dog wouldn’t go down the stairs. We have onsite parking for our guests but do not have extra spaces for trailers and the like. We do have our guests unhook their larger vehicles and park them at the free lot two blocks down. This lot is provided by the city as parking is a premium in Deadwood. We are one of the few Hotels with our own private parking so that guests don’t have to walk a block or more with their luggage to check in. In the fall, when you stayed, the weather is driving all the flying creatures indoor for warmth. We offered an upgrade to another Suite and you declined. That is untrue that we did not offer to help, we in fact offered to move everything FOR YOU and you still were not satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.0 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#11 of 24 in Deadwood
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex
0.1 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#4 of 24 in Deadwood
510 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Dick's

Property: Deadwood Dick's
Address: 51 Sherman Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#15 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Deadwood Dick's 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Historic Landmark Building in Downtown Deadwood converted into a hotel. Spacious comfortable Queen and King rooms or suites with an Old Deadwood feeling decorated in period styles. European style elevator, an original Otis. Saloon and Eatery on premises plus an Antique Mall covering 12000 square feet. The coolest place in Deadwood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Deadwood Dick's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deadwood Dick`s Hotel Deadwood
Dicks Hotel Deadwood
Deadwood Dicks Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing