We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Comfortable Bed I Ever Slept In”
Review of Deadwood Dick's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deadwood Dick's
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
St. Louis, Missouri USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Most Comfortable Bed I Ever Slept In”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We returned to Deadwood Dicks in June 2012 after our stay there last year. It was even better this year and we stayed a week. The best part about our stay was the bed was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on. We were able to get a very restful night's sleep and wake up fresh and ready for another adventure each day. The owner, Mary, is a most accommodating manager of this hotel and did everything she could to see we were very well taken care of. The room was fantastic - very large and we were able to store all our luggage (from a three week trip) so it was out of the way and we had plenty of room to move around. Deadwood Dick's is located on Sherman Street - two blocks away from the main street where all the casinos and shops are in Deadwood. The location provides a quiet place to check into at the end of the day for a good night's sleep. I especially love the nice, soft, fluffy towels in the bathroom. Deadwood Dick's is FIRST CLASS and one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. The nostalgic gated elevator gives this place added charm and adventure. We will come back again and again and again. Thank you, Mary, we had the time of our lives and we owe it all to you and your efforts to provide a comfortable hotel in a perfect location.

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms offer super views of Deadwood - especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeSt-Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
We love our returning guests as much as they love Deadwood Dick's. Some people are just FUN! This couple is a good example. We are so happy you had a great stay with us again. All of our rooms have double pillow-top mattresses for your comfort. We hope to see you again next year. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    74
    18
    17
    23
See reviews for
50
124
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Waukon, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I was so excited to stay at Deadwood Dick's. It sounded great and right downtown. We could park our vehicle and never have to move it. In January, I made reservations for three nights in June. When we arrived, I checked in and they could not find my reservation. They had already taken a night from my credit card to reserve the rooms. The reservation was finally found with the receipt from my credit card. She said somebody had forgotten to write it in the book so they had booked our rooms for somebody else. They had a room for us the first night but nothing for the second and third. She did call around and found us a room a mile out of Deadwood for the same price. We were put in the king room the first night and upgraded for free. They let us park there so we wouldn't have to pay for parking and said they would buy us lunch sometime during the weekend. At that point, I was just so disappointed that I didn't ever want to go in there again. This pretty much ruined my first day in Deadwood. I understand errors being made, but I feel they should have given us our room as we had made reservations so early and told the other people they didn't have rooms for them, or at least given us a break on the night that we did stay. That being said, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I'm sorry we had this bad experience as I think I would have thoroughly enjoyed staying there, but I can't imagine going back now as I couldn't even go into the antique shop and I love antique shops. A huge lesson learned - confirm your reservations!! I have already confirmed my reservations for the rest of the summer.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Everything she wrote is true. We made a mistake and I sincerely apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
421 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

My initial thought as we were led through the maze of hallways, stairs and on to the rickety, cage elevator, then across the roof(!) to our room - was that my sister and mom, had they been with us, would have turned around by now - but then they wouldn't had made it to our delightful Room #413, which was charming with its brick walls and western decor. The staff was very friendly, the bed was extremely comfy and because I love history and the stories that this old place probably carries with it, I enjoyed our one night stay very much. Would probably stay here again because of the value, location, cleanliness and staff. Would try and take the stairs instead of the elevator whenever possible though.....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine102262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the comments from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed two nights here in room 305, their biggest room with 3 beds. The room was nice! It was actually 4 rooms....2 bedrooms, a living room and a kitchen (and bathroom). The hotel is older and very unique. If you have to have everything new and perfect, this is not the place for you! It has a lot of charm and huge windows! Of course being older, it also has some stains, and cracking and peeling. I don't mind this at all, as I still felt it was clean. We had no problem with parking, as the hotel has several free spaces around the side and in the back. Once you enter through the antique store and find someone, they will show you to your room and tell you any quirks you may need to know! THere is a cool old elevator to haul luggage up. We never had any problem with it! Also, one of the best things, is that they are very pet friendly! We had 3 little dogs and they had no issues with that, although be warned that there really is no where to let your dogs out to go to the bathroom...its mostly concrete! A few things to be careful about: The stairs are a little steep, and the heat was uneven...although this wasnt much of an issue, we used extra radiators in the room when it got too cold, and just opened a window when it was too hot. The biggest drawback was the hot water, or lack of.....there is a sign in the room that says let it run for a while and it will get hot. We let it run ALOT and it never got more than luke-warm...plus I hated wasting all that water. Still, I would stay again! THe location is fantastic and you can walk to everything downtown! The people that ran the hotel were friendly as well.

Room Tip: Room 305 is huge and has awesome windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your comments. After your review, we investigated the lack of hot water in this unit and found the pipe had gravel blocking the flow of the hot water. We corrected it thanks to your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casper, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I love staying at Deadwood Dicks. I love the history of Deadwood and the character of the old buildings. Deadwood Dicks however has a character of originality that beats the bigger Deadwood Hotels. The Suites are large, the rooms are quaint, and the views are fabulous. And above all the rooms are clean. It is hard to describe the feeling that comes over one at Deadwood Dicks. Its as if you are not of this time, rather then you are in another time. The atmosphere, the price, and the hospitality of Dave and Mary can not be beat.
I love Deadwood Dicks!!
Davina G

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David City, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Birthday weekend and we head for Deadwood Dicks....A huge suite with 2 bedrooms and king and queen beds....Huge windows to see the activity out on Main street...and a delicious grilled steak supper at Deadwood Dicks Bar and Eattery.....( Thanks guys...ALL was wonderful!!!!)...AND a short block and a half to see 3 Dog Night in concert....Cost????...Less than a $100.00...Experience????...Priceless!!!!....Oh...did i mention the live music and beer before the concert?????Thank you all!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for what you need exactly and Mary will do her best to arrange it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Dakota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Convenient location. on site parking (big deal in deadwood). this is a very old building and the rooms are unique. tall ceilings, huge windows. it's kind of charming with the old style elevator. but we found some negatives. the radiator makes lots of noise (and at 4 am it is disconcerting) and doesn't heat the room all that well. the hot water for showering is in short supply. way too many stairs to climb when someone doesnt shut the elevator door properly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seahawx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.0 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#13 of 24 in Deadwood
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#6 of 24 in Deadwood
461 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Dick's

Property: Deadwood Dick's
Address: 51 Sherman Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#15 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Deadwood Dick's 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Historic Landmark Building in Downtown Deadwood converted into a hotel. Spacious comfortable Queen and King rooms or suites with an Old Deadwood feeling decorated in period styles. European style elevator, an original Otis. Saloon and Eatery on premises plus an Antique Mall covering 12000 square feet. The coolest place in Deadwood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Deadwood Dick's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deadwood Dick`s Hotel Deadwood
Dicks Hotel Deadwood
Deadwood Dicks Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing