We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly reccommended place.”
Review of Deadwood Dick's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deadwood Dick's
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Close to everything but away from the noise of the gambling strip. Traveling with my 85 year old mother and 1 year old grandson on labor day weekend this was a ideal place to stay. Large comfortable suites, with a brand new flat screen TV. Owners escorted us to our rooms and showed us around and how to use the 100 year old one of a kind elevator. Great place to stay for the cost.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plau32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for your nice review of our property. We are glad we could accommodate your entire party from the child to the elderly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband, myself and another couple stayed here for 5 nights during the Sturgis Rally. We really enjoyed this hotel. It's old & authentic & kept pretty clean. It's hard to describe all the character within this place - cool stairways and doors, great original elevator, large antique store attached. Perfect location. We stayed in the king small suite, #413, and the king hotel room. The suite had a kitchen which we didn't use, but it made the room roomier. Of the two rooms, the king hotel room was my favorite. Large windows and lots of light and a better view. We'd stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: The king hotel room - wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33rjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our property. Thank you for the nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have been coming to Kool Nites in Deadwood for the past 10 years. For at least the last 5 years we have stayed at Deadwood Dick's. Dave and Mary always go out of their way to greet us and make sure everything is good for our stay. The room is spacious and clean with a refrigerator and microwave. There is new internet service and it works great! We love the old fashioned elevator and now that it is brand new it works great! Definitely will be back next year.

Room Tip: We always stay in 405 - nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shar0nT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for your nice review of hour establishment. We are always happy to hear our customers are satisfied with our hotel and other amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed the better part of a week during Sturgis. By far our best accommodations on our trip. The staff was friendly and stayed out of our way. Our room was huge, comfortable and sported a full size fridge and mini stove. Water was hot, room was gorgeous and quaint with antiques. Learning the layout of the hotel took some getting used to and the elevator quirks were charming. We had a covered rooftop porch to relax in the evenings before bed and even during the rally, we often had it to ourself. Short walking distance to all that Deadwood has to offer and the town offers a lot!. Rooms were quiet, we could not even hear the pounding rain until we went outside. Would definitely recommend and will stay again without question.

Room Tip: While I didn't see the others, ours was so nice, I can't imagine others being bad. We stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianChick43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was our third trip to deadwood and our third stay at deadwood dicks. That should say it all. But just in case. We always have a great stay. Couldn't ask for better management and sevice. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerald0592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Great place to stay to have the Deadwood, Old West experience. We have stayed here before and highly recommend it to our friends. Everything you want to do and see in Deadwood is within walking distance,just two blocks to Main Street, We thinking being off off Main Street important, because you have the quiet in the evening.

We stayed in one of the mini-suites (413). It was roomy, nicely decorated, well appointed with a full fridge, cooking facities, and microwave. It was in the back but that was not a problem, we had a view of what the locals (and the wife is one) know as "Brown Rocks."

BTW, if you like antiquing, there are three floors to tempt you.

There is a restaurant (lunch and dinner) and a bar, but we only sampled the bar (strange how that happens!). There is an outdoor space for dining or having a glass of wine.

I can report that the room elevator is working and is an experience in itself.

Mary and Dave, along with Tony at the front desk, are great hosts and most accomodating.

If you are doing the Black Hills and plan to spend time in Deadwood this is the place to stay. As I said, Deadwood Dick's will add to your experience. You will not be dissappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanandpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Great views from the front rooms , great owner's great bar food and staff, nice area to sit out side for food and drink. The hotel is old,and has character. The town is small you can walk every were. we have stayed here several times.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the town, ask for a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VacationJunkieWomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.0 mi away
Iron Horse Inn & Suites
Iron Horse Inn & Suites
#11 of 25 in Deadwood
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 25 in Deadwood
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#4 of 25 in Deadwood
551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.8 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Dick's

Address: 51 Sherman Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#13 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range: £31 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Deadwood Dick's 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Historic Landmark Building in Downtown Deadwood converted into a hotel. Spacious comfortable Queen and King rooms or suites with an Old Deadwood feeling decorated in period styles. European style elevator, an original Otis. Saloon and Eatery on premises plus an Antique Mall covering 12000 square feet. The coolest place in Deadwood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Deadwood Dick's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deadwood Dick`s Hotel Deadwood
Dicks Hotel Deadwood
Deadwood Dicks Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing