We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Deadwood!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hickok House
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Hickok House is the best place to stay in Deadwood. I have stayed at several motels in Deadwood and have never had service like I do at the Hickok House. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They go out of their way to make sure that your stay is very enjoyable. The rooms are very clean and well maintained as is the entire property, the food is excellent in the restaurant and the service impeccable. Oh, and they have the best coffee in Deadwood. If you are reading reviews and basing your decision where to stay on that. then by all means stay here where you are treated like family and not a number.

Room Tip: Just ask.... They will do everything they can to accomodate you
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silverpin05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hickok House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

This was the second year in a row we have stayed there and love it. The staff is the most friendly we have ever met. I think its very clean, its not as fancy as others but the service is good. I love it when the maids are smiling, you know its good! We travel by bike and this is VERY bike friendly! Plus its great for relaxing on the porch and very social with all the other bikers who stay there. We will be back!

Room Tip: They give Harley owners discount
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldsOfFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWHH_Hotel, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

We appreciate your kind words and value your comments. We look forward to having you back. We like to think of our guests as part of our extended family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Awful. Disgusting. Hated it. I recently stayed at this hotel for one night. During the night, my wife and I were bitten by bed bugs. The next day, I had over 20 welts and my wife had about 10. I called the Manager but he/she was unavailable so I checked out. Later on that day, I called back and the Manage was still unavailable. I called Best Western customer support and talked to a representative. She took down all the information and they have not responded to this complaint. My only advice is that this hotel should not be frequented.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOSETILLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWHH_Hotel, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

At the Best Western Hickok House we take all complaints very seriously. The room you were in was thouroughly inspected by trained staff, management and professional exterminators. There was NO sigh of any type of insect in the room.
We have a contract with Ecolab to help prevent and monitor this issue as we are aware of the concern nationwide with bedbugs.
Your calls were not ignored. We have tried several times to call you and recieved no answer, We have emailed you with no response. Best Western customer service has tried to make contact with you as well with no reply. It is extremely unfair for you to say there has been no response to this issue from anyone involved with this hotel.

Lynda D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Traveled with two families. Good place to stay as the rooms are big. Couple of blocks away from downtown Deadwood. Free internet and free parking. The staff was friendly. The only issue was that they held a huge amount from my checking account (debit card) and didn't return it quickly enough even after I gave them a card to charge to -- and despite that my brother-in-law provided his card to charge for his room. Good room for the price.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank ILLINOIS785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Very nice hotel. The clerk was friendly and very helpful. Rooms were clean and quiet. Nice deck on the second level. They have laundry facilities. The surrounding area is clean and safe. Ample parking. The trolley that runs through town makes a stop at this hotel and it is an easy way to get downtown. They don't have a free breakfast and the adjoining restaurant is nothing special. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Panhead64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Over the last 3 years I stayed in this hotel out of convenience. It used to be better when I stayed here the first time in 2009. Now it decresed in cleaness and service - room wasn't made one day, bathroom not really clean... However the checkin staff was very friendly! If their pricing would be $20 less than asked for it would be a good deal. Their room definitely need remodeling! Bottomline - there are nicer places to stay in Deadwood, SD for the same amount of money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWHH_Hotel, General Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2011

I would like to apologize to you for the less the perfect expierence you had with us. It was a mistake on our part. I would like to offer you a discount on your next stay with us. Please contact Scott at 605.578.1611 and I will make sure everything is great for your next stay.
Once again I am terribly sorry about the oversight with your service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I was in town visiting family and stayed here. The rooms are large and clean. The beds and pillows are amazing! The staff is very friendly and efficient. The restaurant has good food at great prices. The onsite parking and the trolley stop right in front makes getting to downtown Deadwood easy. I will be staying here again the next time I'm in town!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfmomto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.3 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 24 in Deadwood
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
722 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#4 of 24 in Deadwood
541 reviews
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hickok House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hickok House

Address: 137 Charles St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range: £44 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Hickok House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Hickok House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hickok House Hotel Deadwood
Best Western Deadwood
Deadwood Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing