We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, clean great value with polite accommodating staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hickok House
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Vernal, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy, clean great value with polite accommodating staff!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is a great value!! Home away from home! Staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs. Big hot tub is in a really nice quiet wooden planked room. Rooms smelled like clean log cabin furniture. Shower head was great. Flat screen tv and wi-Fi was high quality. Restaurant, slot machines and bar on-site. Our favorite was the trolly that picked us up out front the hotel and runs 3 times an hr. until 3am. We were able to tour old downtown and not worry about parking. $1 per person per ride. It was only 15 mins from the 2 mountain resorts we visited. Terry & Mystic. Awesome hotel for only $69!! Will stay there again!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacey8582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am glad to hear our staff was able to accomodate you completely. We strive to make your stay with us an enjoyable and memorable expierence. I appreciate your description of our property. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to your next stay. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    79
    58
    21
    18
See reviews for
66
121
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The staff were very kind and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Was very uncrowded on a weekday in the middle of the winter. Nice location in Deadwood with trolly cars stopping right outside the door. No Complaints.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertLainhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
I would like to start by saying thank you for choosing to stay with us at the BEST WESTERN HIckok House. We appreciate you taking a moment to let us and other know how we are doing. We do pride ourselves on great customer service and CLEAN rooms. We agree our location is nice, even though it is not on Main Street, the trolley will get you there in just a few minutes or if you choose to walk it is a short 15 minute walk. We also have free on-site parking for our guests.
Thank you again for your nice review and everyone here hopes to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lead, South Dakota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I was snowed out of my house in the blizzard. I stayed at the best western because it was cheap and close to work. The room was clean and cozy. The room did not have a fridge but the staff was very kind and kept my things in their fridge. I was able to finish some work in the evenings with their WiFi. Easy access to the restaurant for dinner in the evening. I will recommend the best western to my family coming to town.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lynda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for your review. It means alot to us when local people stay with us and recommend us to their families. We want our guests to be comfortable and feel like that our part of our " family". We are glad we were able to accommodate you at what must have been a frustrating time. We look forward to meeting your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Spent 3 nights just after Christmas at the Hickok. The room was very nice, clean and large with a very comfortable bed. The staff was courteous and genuine. Front desk staff were nice and accommodating to our needs. The Casino staff were helpful and attentive, but not over-bearing in any way. Our stay was very good. We would recommend this hotel-casino-resaturant to all who venture out to the beautiful Black Hills.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
We would like to thank you for your nice review of our hotel. We appreciate it when our guests take the time to let us know how we are doing. All of our staff want to our guests to feel at home and comfortable while with us. We hope you enjoyed your visit with family while you were here and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Was given a room at the end of the hotel in the dungeon ! No kidding. It was a large dark room and felt like you were in the basement. Will never stay again - cost almost twice as much as Super 8 - They have a 3 day advance notice requirement to cancel. Worst stay ever !

Helpful?
1 Thank RRitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
I would like to start by apologizing for not meeting your expectations. Our guest satisfaction is our number one priority. I wish I would have been given the opportunity to rectify any issues you encountered. The room you were in was a King room and is one of our more requested rooms because it is away from the parking lot and in a quieter locatin away from the street also. The front office staff would have been more then glad to show you a different room and move you. Our prices are very competitive with the other hotels in Deadwood, however when you make a reservation through a third party website or travel agent site they add charges that can add a significant amount to your room. We have a 72 hour cancellation. we also advise every guest of this repeatedly when they make a reservation directly through us.
I hope you will give us another chance to show you that we do value you as a guest and appreciate you choosing to stay with us while you are in Deadwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell Rapids, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We have been making the trip to Deadwood for Kool Deadwood Nites and a few other events for the past 12 yrs. We happened upon the Best Western Hickok House on one of our first trips and never looked for another place to stay after that. The staff is wonderful and very accommodating. We look forward each year to seeing our "friends" at the Best Western. It's like a going home event. As I need time to rest due to some medical problems, it provides the perfect place for me to do that and for my husband to relax and enjoy good conversations with the staff and returning guests. The beds are very comfortable and rooms are clean. Short walking distance to downtown or easy to take the trolley which stops in front of the hotel. Short driving distance to many main attractions in the hills also. Nice family restaurant, casino and small bar also on site. The only thing that would be nice to have in the rooms, especially for extended stays would be a microwave and small refrigerator. Would highly recommend it for a short visit or extended stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
We appreciate your review and your loyalty to Best Western Hickok House. I am glad you are able to get your much needed rest while you are here and your husband can enjoy himself as well. We do try to meet the needs of your guests and provide outstanding service to each as well. We think of you as part of our extended family.
We value your suggestions and I will pass them on. We look forward to seeing you in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed at the hotels during the 2013 Black Hills blizzard. The hotel was very hospitable and comfortable during the blizzard. The staff was friendly and professional even though the snow was pilling up. The beds were extremely comfortable and I got very sound sleep every night! The room was clean and the service was outstanding. The restaurant was reasonably priced and delicious. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bebrooks4316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review on your stay at a not so wonderful time. I am glad you found your stay and our staff to be very pleasant. I will be sure to pass on you comments to everyone.
We have an awesome Housekeeping department that does an excellent job. Our restaurant is the place the local people like to eat. I am glad you found it to be to your satisfaction as well.
We hope that you can visit us again when it isn't as snowy. We would like to thank you again for you kind words we appreciate them,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.4 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.5 mi away
First Gold Hotel
First Gold Hotel
#18 of 24 in Deadwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hickok House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hickok House

Property: Best Western Hickok House
Address: 137 Charles St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Hickok House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hickok House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hickok House Hotel Deadwood
Best Western Deadwood
Deadwood Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing