We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place to stay while visiting the Black Hills” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hickok House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hickok House
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay while visiting the Black Hills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Nice accommoodations, friendly staff, and Deadwood is a great location to stay in the Hills. Good place to "people watch" and the local tour trolley makes stops here to take you downtown to gamble (pardon me....to "game").. Patio outside on the second story is a nice extra and was a great place to meet other travelers and swap some stories. Doesn't have the pool, huge exercise room or elevators, but I don't need them anyhow. I prefer the almost "mom- and-pop" atmosphere where you actually meet and visit with folks from other parts of the country. This is the place to do it! If you have been staying in the big, multi-story motels on your trip, try this one. It is a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lance P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
We appreciate you wonderful words about our facilities. We do try to provide a unique and friendly experience for our guests while they enjoy Deadwood.
We try to maintain a warm friendly environment for our guests. Our patio areas are a great place to sit and "people watch" or meet new friends.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will stay with us again when you are in Deadwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    77
    56
    21
    18
See reviews for
64
114
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Nebraska
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just wanted to share..... not a horrible place to stay but not the best. The staff at the bar & restaurant were wonderful. :) I don't complain much but....... don't travel here with young children. It would be ok with a couple of adults. The cost to go on a family vacation is high enough as it is with gas and food prices. We brought our own food and for 2 days we could eat it.....there are no microwaves or refrigerators not even in the common area. And when we went to ask if there was one anywhere on site we got the "no we don't have either" with an attitude, maybe you should invest in at least one it is after all 2014. Carpets could be cleaned once in a while, my child's legs and hands were filthy from crawling around. But the price we paid for the room and ALL it had to offer was not worth it. Sorry folks!

Room Tip: not sure of the best room..... but all outside entrances and common areas outside with a lot of smok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations.
I would like to apologize for you receiving the wrong information. We do not have microwaves or refrigerators in our rooms however we do have them in our office that we are more then happy to store things in for our guest or heat something up for them. I have let the housekeeping dept. know of your comments about the carpet in your room. We do shampoo our carpets on a regular basis.
Once again I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. We strive to make a positive impression on our guests and it is obvious that we fell short with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a great day visiting the old western town of Deadwood,from checking out the many shop to visiting le grave site of Bill Hickok & Annie Oakley to playing at the Hickok House Casino to having a great cowboy breakfast that morning,It was a good day during the early start of our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank frenchmade7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your visit to Deadwood. We are glad you allowed us to be part of your Deadwood experience. Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in Deadwood. We hope you to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed in Hickok House July 2 - 4th. Great motel, staff is superb and room is clean and comfortable. Restaurant was fabulous for breakfast. Trolley stops every 30 minutes and will stop at various places downtown for $1 per person. Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for such a nice review! We are glad you had a wonderful time here. The trolley does make it much easier to get around Deadwood without worrying about parking.
We look forward to having you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Too much to pay for a tiny little room with one bed, no free breakfast, no fridge, no microwave. Everything was clean. Employees very nice. There are plenty of other places to stay in the area at the same price with alot more amenities

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
I am very sorry you were not happy with your stay. We do offer rooms that are larger then the room you stayed in. We do offer larger rooms for our guests who would like more spacious accommodations.
We have never offered a complimentary breakfast nor have we had microwaves or fridges in our room.
I always recommend if there are certain amenities you require please make sure to ask about them when making your reservations.
I love having our guests stay and meeting new people however my number one priority is making sure they are satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Deadwood hotels

United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very tight parking in parking lot. Was told at time of making reservation that there was breakfast when there wasn't. When arriving in our room this July night the room was very hot. Turned on air which did not cool down room until sometime during the night. Everything about the room just looked plain old. Not planning on ever staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I would like to start by apologizing for not meeting your expectations.
When am agent at another hotel makes your reservation for you they may from time to time give you some misinformation.
We have never had a complimentary breakfast, we have a full service restaurant that offers breakfast.
Our parking spaces are large enough to safely park large pickups in without being crowded. I am very sorry you did not find them large enough for your vehicle.
I certainly wish you would have let us know about the air conditioning when you checked in as I would have been able to either more you to another room or had our maintenance man come up and fix it right away.
I hope you will reconsider staying with us again and giving us the opportunity to make your stay a more pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

pat and angie are the nicest hosts you could ever hope to meet.clean rooms and great food espescially their steak tips for breakfast...we always go back and highly recommend this property to all our friends who visit the black hills

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
I would like to thank your for your return business. We appreciate that very much. We are glad that you find everything to your satisfaction when you are here. You are absolutely right about Pat and Annie being the nicest hosts. They value every guest they have and do their best to make sure every guest they come in contact is enjoying themselves.
Thank you for the recommendations and the wonderful review we certainly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.4 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.8 mi away
Cadillac Jacks Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
2.0 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hickok House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hickok House

Property: BEST WESTERN Hickok House
Address: 137 Charles Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hickok House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hickok House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hickok House Hotel Deadwood
Best Western Deadwood
Deadwood Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing