We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Great for Motorcyclists”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hickok House
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Quiet and Great for Motorcyclists”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel was nice and quiet and caters very well to motorcyclists. Though bikes are in the parking lot and going by on the road, the rooms are quiet. The rooms are large and were clean and well equipped. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 736dallasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to accommodate our guest needs to the best of our ability. Our rooms with two queen beds or a king bed are large rooms with plenty of space for guests to feel comfortable.
Our location does provide a more quite environment when you want to relax. The trolley is an easy was to get around town.
Our outside entrances make it easy access for our guests to be able to get to and from their vehicles whether it is a car or motorcycle.
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay was and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    79
    60
    21
    18
See reviews for
68
121
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

worst room in motel. i.e. room closet to the street. not impressed as we are BW diamond members we stayed there week just before Sturgis Harley Davidson event. we are not bikers. loud voices outside of our room, and constant bikes & cars driving by our room. at least traffic quieted down after dark. other than restaurant attached to hotel nothing else close by. Food was ok for the price. Breakfast menu too limited... 2 choices. no fridge in room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We appreciate your loyalty to The Best Western Brand.
I would like apologize to you for not meeting your expectations. We make courtesy calls to our guests shortly after check in to make sure everything is to their satisfaction. Had you let us know that you were not happy with the location of your room we would have been happy to get you into a room that would have been more to your liking.
Our restaurant offers several options for breakfast. We have breakfast burritos, rolls, muffins, cereal, pancakes, breakfast sandwiches and the typical egg meat and toast type breakfast. We also have a wonderful Steak Tip Breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minot, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Love this hotel and the staff!! Highly recommend!! Great location with trolley service to downtown area and the rooms very clean with excellent beds. We enjoyed it greatly and had a great balcony area for visiting at night overlooking the main street. We had a girl reunion there, and it was excellent. So much fun at a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are glad you had a wonderful time here. We are glad you allowed us to host your reunion and hope that you will stay with us again.
The trolley is definitely the way to go when you want to get around Deadwood.
We are glad that you all enjoyed your time with us and I will pass on your compliments to our staff.
We hope to see you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A nice place to stay in Deadwood that's not to pricey. Room was clean and updated. Staff was helpful. Located in a good place. Would probably stay there again if in area. Only thing bad about is that it doesn't offer a breakfast but resturant attached to hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmp62765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay.
We appreciate your comments!
I understand that a lot of people are accustomed to a continental breakfast. Our restaurant is highly recommended by the local people in the area. We feel with a made to order breakfast you get the best quality meal to start out your day.

Thank you for stay with us and we look forward to being able to host your next stay if you are in Deadwood again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Nice accommoodations, friendly staff, and Deadwood is a great location to stay in the Hills. Good place to "people watch" and the local tour trolley makes stops here to take you downtown to gamble (pardon me....to "game").. Patio outside on the second story is a nice extra and was a great place to meet other travelers and swap some stories. Doesn't have the pool, huge exercise room or elevators, but I don't need them anyhow. I prefer the almost "mom- and-pop" atmosphere where you actually meet and visit with folks from other parts of the country. This is the place to do it! If you have been staying in the big, multi-story motels on your trip, try this one. It is a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lance P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
We appreciate you wonderful words about our facilities. We do try to provide a unique and friendly experience for our guests while they enjoy Deadwood.
We try to maintain a warm friendly environment for our guests. Our patio areas are a great place to sit and "people watch" or meet new friends.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will stay with us again when you are in Deadwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just wanted to share..... not a horrible place to stay but not the best. The staff at the bar & restaurant were wonderful. :) I don't complain much but....... don't travel here with young children. It would be ok with a couple of adults. The cost to go on a family vacation is high enough as it is with gas and food prices. We brought our own food and for 2 days we could eat it.....there are no microwaves or refrigerators not even in the common area. And when we went to ask if there was one anywhere on site we got the "no we don't have either" with an attitude, maybe you should invest in at least one it is after all 2014. Carpets could be cleaned once in a while, my child's legs and hands were filthy from crawling around. But the price we paid for the room and ALL it had to offer was not worth it. Sorry folks!

Room Tip: not sure of the best room..... but all outside entrances and common areas outside with a lot of smok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations.
I would like to apologize for you receiving the wrong information. We do not have microwaves or refrigerators in our rooms however we do have them in our office that we are more then happy to store things in for our guest or heat something up for them. I have let the housekeeping dept. know of your comments about the carpet in your room. We do shampoo our carpets on a regular basis.
Once again I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. We strive to make a positive impression on our guests and it is obvious that we fell short with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a great day visiting the old western town of Deadwood,from checking out the many shop to visiting le grave site of Bill Hickok & Annie Oakley to playing at the Hickok House Casino to having a great cowboy breakfast that morning,It was a good day during the early start of our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank frenchmade7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your visit to Deadwood. We are glad you allowed us to be part of your Deadwood experience. Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in Deadwood. We hope you to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.4 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.5 mi away
First Gold Hotel
First Gold Hotel
#18 of 24 in Deadwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hickok House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hickok House

Property: Best Western Hickok House
Address: 137 Charles St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Hickok House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hickok House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hickok House Hotel Deadwood
Best Western Deadwood
Deadwood Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing