We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hickok House
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
westland michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

Booked a room here in March through AAA for July to celebrate my daughters 40th birthday. After we stayed one night we found out that they WOULD NOT honor the price that was quota through AAA. We left the hotel and the town. Reserved a non-smoking room and was given a smoking room. Really spoiled a big event in my daughters life. Two thousand miles from home and on a Sunday we couldn't even get a hold of AAA to get help with this.

WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE. CHOOSE A DIFFERENT PLACE TO STAY.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkbsks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review, 24 October 2015
I know it has been several years since this review was submitted. I do feel that even with the amount of time that has passed it warrants a response.
I would first like to apologize for all the frustration that was caused by this incident. From time to time a booking agency may offer something to a guest but not express it to the hotel. I strongly recommend calling the hotel once it has been reserved just to confirm the details you have been given.
We were not able to adjust the rate to anything lower then our lowest available rate. We never want our guests disappointed, however, without any documentation. we can not offer a rate lower then we offer at that time.
We are terribly sorry that this ruined your celebration as we did apologize profusely and did reduce the rate but unfortunately was not able to meet the guest's expectations.
AAA never returned our calls about this guest either.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    79
    56
    21
    18
See reviews for
65
117
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Charles, MO
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

The hotel looks old from outside but we were pleasantly surprised at how nice and large the room was. The service at the front desk was great. We had a room upstairs by the little veranda area over the casino. Our kids enjoyed it a lot.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badlandsbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bljk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2009

We stayed at the Best Western In Deadwood a couple weekends ago, for the first time. We had called and reserved the room personally at the hotel, the front desk clerk was great! Her name was Ashley, a local and total sweet heart who gave us a mini tour over the phone with lots of great ideas for things to do when we got there. Deadwood is a small town with alot of little streets, we were unable to find the hotel on our own. Called the desk and to our welcomed suprise the same clerk who booked our reservation gave us simple step by step directions and literally walked us through the streets until we pulled into the parking lot. At checkin, she was very kind and curtious, explained the local history, all the interesting facts on the Homestake Gold Mine Company (its the largest, oldest mine still containing ALOT of gold) and the recent construction from NASA turning it into a science lab. She gave alot of personal information, was a joy to chat with pointed out everything to see and do. We WILL DEFINITELY return this late spring early summer when they open up the Homestake tours again according to our friendly tour guide front desk clerk! The room was great ground floor front of the room parking with outside entrance. Very clean, very nice beds. The restaurant and casino is small and quaint with alot of personal love and attention given to each customer. Not cold, harsh and rushed like other larger casinos and restaurants we visited while there, and in comparrison the quality and price of the food was very reasonable and well worth it, plus quality of service was so much better than the fancy "5 STAR" places on Main Street. Thanks for making our first trip a great one, we shall return, and will stay with you again. Hope to see Ashley again too! Its not often these days you actually get good quality real customer service. It was a real treat.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bljk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
91 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2008

we loved this hotel,idealy situated very clean comfortable room has its own resurant which we used for evening meal and breakfast,staff very freindly would highly recomend

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bosshog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehall,pa.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2006

great room,quiet,extremely comfortable beds,ditto the pillows,easy access,employees friendly and helpful.restaurant on premises great food at reasonable prices, hot tub well maintained,close to everything.all in all a fantastic vacation at a great place, would return anytime!!!

  • Liked — comfort and price, room security
  • Disliked — casino was very small, just slots
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank badog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2006

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, mid-September. It's well located, on the road towards Lead: it's about a mile from Main Street, which is quite an interesting walk, or you can take the shuttle which passes by very frequently. Restaurant on site, as is a small casino (well, a few slot machines). Check-in staff were friendly and the room was fine for size and amenities - although a bit dark as there's no window on the rear side and the front is under a verandah. We had no problems with cleanliness that other reviewers have noted.

The problem was that things were a bit creaky, literally and metaphorically. Literally, because, in our ground-floor room suffered from squeaking floorboards from the room above - this was not something minor, it was really noticeable. Then, the tv remote didn't work (replaced immediately), the tumble dryer didn't work (poked at at bit, then laundry taken into hotel's own laundry and coins refunded). Most importantly, though, the aircon didn't work. It took a couple of days to get the hotel to accept this, because at first they said the system was 'between seasons'. i.e., acts as an aircon during the day, a heater at night and thus was a 'bit unpredictable'. Finally, though, it was agreed not to be working and a fan was produced. Given the day temperatures were around 89deg, this was not really satisfactory. Finally, the beer taps in the bar stopped working (and, two days later when we left, were still not functioning).

When I left, I asked for a reduction because of the non-functioning aircon. There was some debate about this (it being pointed out I was already on a 'discounted rate'!), but it was eventually agreed.

Quite a few minor points but, when all added up, this hotel isn't really up to scratch. But, if the above problems don't worry you, then it's good value and well located.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Capelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2006

We arrived at the Best Western in Deadwood late on a Sunday night. We were told there were no King rooms, and were given a room with two queen beds. When we pulled the sheets back there were small black bugs in the bed. Upon further inspection of the room we noticed other insects sharing our room with us. We asked for another room. Suddenly, they had a room with a king bed. They swapped us to that room. When we pulled the sheets back, there were bugs in that bed as well. When we brought the workers up to see the bugs, they told us that they were small black bugs that came down that time of the year from the "hills". We had no where else to go and it was very late. We decided to stay. During our stay, we also discovered that the air conditioner did not work. When we checked out, we were not given an apology, a discount, or a free night for the discusting experience. Do Not Stay Here!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.4 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.5 mi away
First Gold Hotel
First Gold Hotel
#18 of 24 in Deadwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hickok House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hickok House

Property: BEST WESTERN Hickok House
Address: 137 Charles Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hickok House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hickok House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hickok House Hotel Deadwood
Best Western Deadwood
Deadwood Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing