We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat and stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martin Mason Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Martin Mason Hotel
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
calgay
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Stayed for the Sturgis rally and loved it. The hotel is a wonderful represention of historic Deadwood. Melanie [owner],Mona, Tammy and staff, treated us like best friends. We stayed seven nights and were upgaded to the the corner suite for the last 2 nights. It is a fabulous room with its view of the Sheridan St. and grand space. The "Lee St Cafe is a great hangout, boasting the best breakfast in Deadwood and every day about 4PM Tammy began happyhour with a cocktail and introduced everyone to each other making it a great place to meet new people and have a good time. A great place to stay with an even greater experience of the historic Deadwood.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilust2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    25
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
100
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Martin and Mason hotel during our first Sturgis Ralley run. My husband rode the Harley out from Southern California, and the Martin and Mason was to be our home base during our stay. We could not of picked a better place. Mona and Melanie, along with all the other hotel staff were really accommodating. First off we stayed in room #2, the bed was the most comfortable bed ever! We had a shower in this room, which was roomy and a great shower head with plenty of water flow. Nice size closet and antique furnishings through-out. We could look out our window to see all the bikes riding into town. We had fresh baked scones each morning, with coffee, shortbread cookies in the afternoon and chocolate truffles at night. They were place outside the rooms for the guest to enjoy. There was also complimentary bottled water and sodas. Riding on the Harley we had to do laundry...and Melanie was so great to take care of our laundry while we were there. It really made a big difference. We didn't have to hang out at a laundro-mat for a portion of our stay. So thank you Melanie...we really appreciated your assistance. Mona shipped back our purchases for us - as there seems to never be enough room on a motorcycle for all the shopping! They have a great little restaurant where you can sit outside and have breakfast, lunch and after noon cocktails. There was parking right at the hotel for our bike, with an area set up for washing the bikes too. You can walk to Main Street and enjoy the cool little town of Deadwood. We had a fanstastic stay during ralley week at the Martin and Mason hotel and would highly recommend this hotel. Great room and even better staff! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melanie030, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are glad that you had a great time with us, and in Deadwood. It really is our pleasure to make guest’s time with us the best it can be, and we pride ourselves in making your stay as comfortable as possible. This year’s rally was great, but what made it even better were the wonderful and interesting people we got to know during their time with us! We hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ND
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel for our fist ever trip for the Sturgis motorcycle rally. It is perfectly located at only about 13 miles from Sturgis so we got the best of both worlds! We got the exciting always crazy sturgis during the day and then back to deadwood in the evening.

The hotel was amazing and only made even more so because of the people that ran/worked there!!! Those folks were terrific!! They had free grilled corn on the cob nights outside on a patio with even some blue grass entertainment on 1 night - we certainly enjoyed that night - then having an amazing breakfast outside in the mornings really made for a great start to the day.

We were in room #10 and I loved it - with fresh pastries and coffee in the AM and yummy chocolates in the hall in the evenings it was certainly special.

The hotel is in a perfect location and we just walked to downtown deadwood and had a few drinks and ate at this great steak house.

We really recommend this hotel and are looking forward to returning next year for the rally.!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joybrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melanie030, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
We’ve tried to make a very special place in Deadwood at the Martin & Mason Hotel. When we read reviews like yours, we know we have succeeded. It is great to know that our guests appreciate what we have to offer and we can’t thank you enough for taking the time to let us and others know. We hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

The staff was great-friendly and helpful. The scones in the morning were fabulous, as were the afternoon cookies and nightly chocolates. The beds were super comfy.

Unfortunately, we were in room #4, which had the sink and bathtub in the room itself. The toilet was in what obviously had been the coat closet. It was cramped and did not have an exhaust fan. There was no shelf or vanity area at the sink for soap, toothbrush, hairbrush, etc. There were two faucets, one for hot and one for cold, which made it impossible to get a good temperature for washing your face, etc. While the bathtub was a generous size, it was nearly impossible to use the spray wand and not soak the surrounding floor and walls when using it. A shower rod and curtain hung from the ceiling would have made it better, but I still would have preferred a more conventional and modern bathroom.

The hotel was charming and the people were friendly, so it dismays me that I was not pleased with my room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melanie030, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
We realize that no hotel is right for every person, as everyone’s expectations are different. We pride ourselves on our great staff and we thank you for your comments

For clarification, our hotel was restored under National Historic Preservation Guidelines and we used the original bathroom fixtures in the restoration, as required. Our goal was to give our guests the experience of staying in a hotel of the 1893 period when water mixing valves were not available. Also, instead of installing noisy electric motors in each bathroom, we chose to vent all bathrooms through a rooftop unit so each bathroom has continuous and silent ventilation.

We are confident that we have the best and most historically accurate hotel in Deadwood and we welcome every comment of every guest. Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts so we can improve, as it is always our goal to make our guests time with us, perfect in every way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

This historic building has been carefully and thoughtfully renovated into a chic boutique hotel. It is centrally located and is walking distance to all of Deadwood 's activities. While the rooms are wonderful and tastefully decorated, the real charm is the staff. They are customer oriented, friendly and hospitable. This hotel is a joy to stay in. Ask for rooms 5-6.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jflatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

This is our last night at the Martin & Mason. We will be sad to leave. We travelled to Deadwood for the history and found it right here in our hotel. It has been lovingly restored to reflect the year it was built - 1893. Attention to detail is really quite amazing, with period antiques and decor. Every morning there was fresh coffee and homemade scones available just outside our door, served on fine china. We were shown to our room by the owner, Melanie, and each time that we saw her throughout our visit she remembered us by name. We found the same graciousness was provided to us throughout our stay by Luby, at the front desk. It has the distinction that it is not just another hotel, it captures the spirit of the town. If you're going to the Black Hills be sure to check for availability at this hotel first.

Room Tip: Every room is unique. Check out their web-site. There are wonderful photos of individual rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota
Level Contributor
131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

My wife and I so enjoy turn of the century hotels (no, not 2000 :-)) It is hard to find them as they are lots of work to bring back to life. Well, the Martin and Mason is alive and well. We are so pleased that we found this interesting jewel. I even used the stairs as opposed to the elevator to get more of the effect of a gold miner who had struck it rich. We spent 2 nights in the Sanderson Suite and it was so nice. The scones were served warm each morning. The coffee and tea were hot. Also complimentary soft drinks and bottle water on our floor was a nice touch. The quaintness of the Martin and Mason allowed the staff to get to know us and that was neat as well. So if you like old hotels this is the place for you. If you like big boxes with no personality, it certainly is not.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WayneSouthDakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.0 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.0 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#7 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin Mason Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin Mason Hotel

Property: Martin Mason Hotel
Address: 33 Deadwood Street, corner of Deadwood and Sherman St., Deadwood, SD 57732-1351
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin Mason Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic district and walking distance to the best of Deadwood, the 1893 Martin & Mason Hotel stands as the premier historic renovation in Deadwood. A quiet and unique experience, offering Victorian era ambiance with all the modern amenities. Luxurious King beds in our rooms and suites and the best sleep in South Dakota. Scones, tea and coffee are served each morning to our guests. The best breakfast restaurant in Deadwood, the Lee Street Station, is located in the building and open daily. Award winning staff available 24/7. Weddings, special events and meetings are our specialty in our 1898 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Martin Mason Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing