We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love It, Love it, Love It!!!!!”
Review of Martin Mason Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Martin Mason Hotel
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Martin and Mason Hotel in Deadwood, South Dakota on January 25th leaving on the 28th. This was a three night stay for a romantic getaway. From the moment that we checked in to the moment we left, the folks at this hotel went above and beyond for us. A clerk personally show us to our room and gave us a tour, by the way we stayed in room 1. Every morning outside our room was fresh coffee and homemade blueberry muffins. This hotel only has three floors, the first floor has a casino, sorry we are not gamblers and I cannot comment on the casino, the 2nd floor has 12 rooms that is it. The 3rd floor is a ballroom which was closed during our stay but we did sneak a peek and WOW how beautiful. Room 1 that we stayed in was done in antique style with old door knobs and original crown moulding and base. My husband and I are in the millworks business and restore old homes often but this hotel had all the ritz of the 1800's. We visited and compared several hotels in downtown Deadwood such as mineral palace, the franklin, bullock hotel, ironhorse inn, and dozens of others and None were as nice as this place, most of the others seemed smokey, (we are none smokers with Asthma). The other hotels rooms had smoke coming from the casinos into the rooms which is not good if you hate smoke, that is why the hotel is so great, the 2nd floor was completely sealed off from the casino. I recommend this hotel to anyone traveling and wanting a romantic getaway, the bed alone is enough reason to stay in the room. I have a spinal cord injury and had been recently hospitalized in Dec. for 2 weeks, I had not been able to sleep in a bed for three months until we stayed in Room 1 of this hotel, this bed was the best, we are thinking about buying the extra matteress that they had for sale... I do not know anywhere else that you can have such a amazing experience and we travel alot and have been on the road since July 2007 and again this was the best, it is a little pricey, but worth every penny and more.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank starnsky40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 186 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinMasonHotel, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank thedoors2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.2 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
#17 of 25 in Deadwood
131 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#2 of 25 in Deadwood
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex
0.1 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 25 in Deadwood
768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin Mason Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin Mason Hotel

Address: 33 Deadwood St, corner of Deadwood and Sherman St., Deadwood, SD 57732-1351
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range: £77 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin Mason Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic district and walking distance to the best of Deadwood, the 1893 Martin & Mason Hotel stands as the premier historic renovation in Deadwood. A quiet and unique experience, offering Victorian era ambiance with all the modern amenities. Luxurious King beds in our rooms and suites and the best sleep in South Dakota. Scones, tea and coffee are served each morning to our guests. The best breakfast restaurant in Deadwood, the Lee Street Station, is located in the building and open daily. Award winning staff available 24/7. Weddings, special events and meetings are our specialty in our 1898 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Martin Mason Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing