We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great location”
Review of Martin Mason Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Martin Mason Hotel
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We wanted to stay somewhere a little different to the chains that are in the area and this hotel delivered just what we were looking for. The room (#1) we had was fantastic. Beautifully decorated, large and very clean. Is an old building and the character has been preserved and built upon very well. Only stayed one night in Deadwood but would not hesitate to stay here again. Very short walk to the vast majority of Deadwood attractions and right over the street from the museum. Staff were brilliant and very accommodating. If you're looking for somewhere a bit different but still offering great value for money then this is your place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

Love the privacy, the old-time atmosphere and espcially the spicy lady serving breakfast.
Beds were great, very fine & clean linens. Good coffee in the morning. The tile work in the bathroom is very nice. Very accomodating hotel staff.

Room Tip: Sanderson suite 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We and another couple recently stayed at the Martin Mason and thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms are beautifully furnished in period, newly remodeled with modern amenities,exceptionally clean and welcoming. Don't miss the morning scones! Excellent! The staff was delightful, and went out of their way to graciously resolve an issue to our very great satisfaction. We all highly recommend the Martin Mason to anyone looking for upscale lodging in Deadwood.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

If you are lucky enough to get one of the eight rooms at the Martin Mason Hotel, then don't leave! :) My husband and I stayed in the Mason Suite (rooms 7&8) on August 18th and 19th and it was just spectacular. The hotel is stunning and the suite was perfect. Both my husband and I kept saying that it just felt like home. The sheets were super soft, the pillows were perfectly fluffy and the shower was wonderful. Mona, the hotel manager, was just a delight. All of her recommendations were wonderful. The scones and coffee out in the morning were a nice touch, but save room for the delicious breakfast in the diner downstairs. We will definitely be back just to stay in the hotel. It was a spectacular experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CortneyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Altough a little pricy, Martin Mason Hotel is one of the good historic hotels in town and we enjoyed our one night stay very much. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Just the "shower" (consisting of a free standing bath tube without shower curtains) was a little special as you had to be very careful to not make everything wet... A highlight is the ceeling in the ground floor (altough a replica, it's shiny and cool). The Hotel also provides soft drinks and afternoon tea and bisquits for free.

Deadwood's a great place to stay and Martin Mason is certainly one of the really good places to stay if you are looking for a speciality hotel (not just the normal motel or hotel chain). If you choose a hotel chain, then Holiday Inn seems to be on a good spot.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My Wife and I spent our 30th Anniversary here. Rooms 7 & 8 two room Suite was excellent. I was hoping for a quiet evening and was not disappointed; unlike some old hotels I have stayed in the noise at night was very minimal. The king bed was excellent. Furnishings other than the bed and flat screen was a great collection of antiques. The shower stayed the set temperature unlike many of the box hotels of today. The morning coffee tasted great! The staff; from the manager to the maid are proud of the hotel and attentive of your needs. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We were on our way to Sheridan and looking for a nice little town to stretch our legs and have a drink. Whilst strolling the streets of peaceful Deadwood we saw this magnificent building of the Martin Mason Hotel. We had a very nice chat with the lady of the house and drank a very good coffee! Next time we'll stay overnight!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FlandersKrisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.2 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
#17 of 25 in Deadwood
131 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#2 of 25 in Deadwood
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex
0.1 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 25 in Deadwood
768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin Mason Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin Mason Hotel

Address: 33 Deadwood St, corner of Deadwood and Sherman St., Deadwood, SD 57732-1351
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range: £78 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin Mason Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic district and walking distance to the best of Deadwood, the 1893 Martin & Mason Hotel stands as the premier historic renovation in Deadwood. A quiet and unique experience, offering Victorian era ambiance with all the modern amenities. Luxurious King beds in our rooms and suites and the best sleep in South Dakota. Scones, tea and coffee are served each morning to our guests. The best breakfast restaurant in Deadwood, the Lee Street Station, is located in the building and open daily. Award winning staff available 24/7. Weddings, special events and meetings are our specialty in our 1898 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Martin Mason Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing