We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of Martin Mason Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Martin Mason Hotel
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Small, quaint hotel with a very cool atmosphere. About a block or two from the main strip in Deadwood. I would recommend it to others for the overall feel and experience, although the clawfoot tub with no shower curtain in the corner of the room made bathing a little cumbersome ( I guess it added to the overall experience though).Overall we had a very pleasant stay, but one that initially seemed like it might not happen. WARNING: lengthy story on our initial reception below:

We booked the room with them about 2 weeks in advance, and referenced an internet discount coupon on Trip Advisor. After we arrived at the hotel, the employee at the desk started going on about how she thought it was a reserved holiday (President's Day weekend) and that our discount already plugged into the computer system wouldn't be accepted. We called twice after booking just to make sure the rate was good and that the discount was showing in the system. (Also keep in mind we are standing there at the desk, bags in hand, ready to go to our room we booked while she attempts to charge us more).

Luckily she finally gave us the room, after she couldn't get in touch with the owner. But seriously? You're going to try and charge us more while we're standing in front of you, tired and ready for the room we booked in advance, with the discount showing on the computer. . . customer service at a place like this should always be paramount in my opinion.

Room Tip: Pay attention to the bathroom setup of your room. I'm not sure if they're all as awkward as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    25
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
100
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The Martin Mason is one of our favorites when we visit Deadwood. The management has been great when outside influences (black hills reservations) have caused a few problems. The staff has been very helpful and courteous. The rooms are a great change of pace from the norm. The beds are the best I have slept in away from home. In several stays with them I have yet to have an experience other than fantastic. I highly recommend this historic hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
278 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Ok so full disclosure, I have not stayed here yet, so take this review for what it's worth...a review on customer service over the phone.

I travel a lot...in fact as much as I possibly can. I do whatever I can to save, and when I am "home" we don't do much in our neck of the woods because I am always thinking about my next adventure...my next roadtrip masterpiece if you will.

While it's only January now, in planning our next trip (April-May) I came across the Martin Mason. Naturally of course, I was blown away by the reviews and the concept itself. Not originally planning on staying on Deadwood, most of trip had been flushed out, once I learned about the place I was really convinced adjustments needed to be made and I needed to work the M.M. into our trip and into our budget, which was a bit of a tall order in that I have already booked a few places that were more than we typically spend while traveling (look for those reviews in late May-we really picked some great digs for this next trip!!!). Anyway in dealing with so many people in the hospitality industry occasionally I am really impressed and I like to make that known. I do this because I want to share my knowledge with other travelers, but I also do it to try and offset the fact that it's human nature for us to complain more than praise. I think we have all done it. When someone does something nice for us, were thankful but forget quicker than when someone isn't nice or does something we perceive as "shady". A good example would be how I can still remember in Arkansas this terrible checkout situation at a chain hotel but can't for the life of me think of where I got amazing customer service that far back. Well this is something I won't forget, and I want to share this review now at a time it might be helpful to others planning there Spring and Summer visits to Deadwood and surrounds.

So getting back on track here, I saw a promotion that went through April of 2013 which discounted the rooms fairly significantly to where it would be in our budget to stay here on our upcoming trip. The only problem was, while we are in the area for 4 days (the last full day being May 1st-which is also my girlfriends 39th birthday) to take advantage of the deal in April I would have had to switch around reservations made for Custer and for Badlands NP. I would also have to do the trip in such a pattern that was inefficient given where we are coming from before we get in the area and where we are going next... I was reluctant to call because as a small business owner, I know everyone asks for exceptions and it can get out of hand sometimes. Sure enough, I called and got great customer service from the lady I spoke with, but I knew I needed to speak with someone else and that was fine. Because the person who answered (I forgot the nice ladies name-unfortunately it was VERY early in the day) was so nice, I wasn't discouraged and felt like my decision to try and ask for an exception was something I should follow up on. I agreed I would call back later (I didn't want to leave a message but instead call back later in the day). Sure enough, when I called later (again, nice and friendly service) I got to speak with Melanie as she was going to be the decision maker. I started to explain my situation and she was so warm, friendly and understanding I felt so great about this decision to stay here that I would somehow find the funds to stay here if I couldn't get the discount. Fortunately though, that wasn't necessary because she granted my exception and we are now booked. More importantly than the discount though was THE GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! She was helpful in other aspects of the conversation discussing where to eat, etc. I was blown away!!!!!! When discussing the room she even said if on the day of check in they have availability they will try and offer me a free upgrade!!! While that would be nice, it's not something we need...we are just happy to be staying here and giving our business to place that really wants it and has, in my opinion, already earned it!!!

I am sorry that I had to take so many words to convey this, and I don't like writing reviews when I have yet to stay some place but I really think this situation warranted it. Now I hope and pray I have not encouraged people to ask this nice lady for special scenarios, but if you do need special care I am confident this hotel is much better than your standard run of the mill lodging... As for the stay, I will definitely be reporting back on that after we return in May.

Room Tip: Stay here, something tells me you will be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank troy mcclure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Thank you so very much for the wonderful review! It is always very rewarding to know that seasoned travelers understand our goal to provide special care to our guests. It means so much to us that you would take the time to share your thoughts with others. We will be here to make your stay comfortable in every way and we wish you safe travels until your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This was our 2nd stay at the Martin Mason Hotel, and it hasn't changed our opinion. The furnishings and decor were charming, but the functionality was lacking. The bathroom sink, which is in the room itself, had separate hot and cold faucets (not just handles) that were on opposite sides of the sink so you could not get a warm water flow. There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom. The tub was quite large and comfortable to soak in, though the shower curtain rod was only a small circle of that so you had shower curtain sticking to you throughout your shower. The room was 50 degrees when we checked in, there were only two hangers in the wardrobe, and

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
It is unfortunate that you did not express your concerns while you were here as, when rooms are available, we have upgraded our guests. One of our beautiful suites was available over New Years Eve and since I was in the hotel during your stay, I would have made that decision. It is always best in small hotels to make an effort to communicate, as in our case, it is our goal to make every guest as comfortable as possible. I would have truly enjoyed helping to make your stay perfect.

To address your concerns: The shower/tub in room #11 is designed to actually leave the curtain toward the shower open so it doesn't need to touch you. The tub is so large that water does not splash out. We are sorry you didn't understand our efforts. We hope you enjoyed the bath salts and bubble bath we provide for the large tub as it is quite luxurious.

The sink in the room is designed to be ADA compliant. It is an original sink to the building.

My response below was from the review you wrote over a year ago and apparently applies to your current concerns:

"We realize that no hotel is right for every person, as everyone’s expectations are different. We pride ourselves on our great staff and we thank you for your comments

For clarification, our hotel was restored under National Historic Preservation Guidelines and we used the original bathroom fixtures in the restoration, as required. Our goal was to give our guests the experience of staying in a hotel of the 1893 period when water mixing valves were not available. Also, instead of installing noisy electric motors in each bathroom, we chose to vent all bathrooms through a rooftop unit so each bathroom has continuous and silent ventilation.

We are confident that we have the best and most historically accurate hotel in Deadwood and we welcome every comment of every guest. Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts so we can improve, as it is always our goal to make our guests time with us, perfect in every way. "

Now that we have honored a non-refundable deposit for your rally reservation, which you canceled, we hope that you have a better stay the next time you come to Deadwood. It would be our suggestion that you try one of the large hotels without the historic character of the Martin & Mason, as they apparently will please your sensitive taste and satisfy your needs better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Surprised my wife on her birthday with a trip to Deadwood. Getting there was half the fun and once we arrived at MM we felt like we had arrived in a simpler time. Everything was amazing--the room decor was like staying in a museum (in a good way), delicious snacks were available in the hallway, the friendly staff was more than accommodating, and the birthday champagne on ice in the room was a great touch. A perfect home base for checking out Deadwood and the surrounding areas!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWA29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
We are so happy when we read such wonderful reviews! We're glad you understand our idea of stepping back in time and that your time with us was "perfect". Please return to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Just had to stay here after watching the TV series “Deadwood” and loved the history of the place (as well as the town). Wanted to stay in Sanderson as it had a sitting area but it was already booked for our first night so we stayed in Lucy Ann (even the sheets were red) for that night thereby getting the opportunity to experience more of the hotel. Both rooms were at the far end of the corridor so quiet and both had huge walk in showers which is our preference. The ladies in the ‘cage’ where you check-in were very helpful and had a lot of local knowledge and were happy to make dinner reservations for us. We enjoyed the coffee and scones each morning (if you want a full breakfast there is always the Lee Street Station Cafe) as well as the biscuits and chocolates in the afternoon. There was complementary water and sodas in a fridge in the hall too. Whilst it did not detract from our stay I do feel that it is a shame that the entrance is through a casino. I know this is the same for most hotels in Deadwood and it is the proceeds which funds the restoration of the historical district - yet it still has a slightly sleazy feel. It would be so much more fun if it was a more old-style casino rather than rows of ‘slots’. In any event, we would absolutely stay here again as it made a welcome change from all the run-of-the-mill chain hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkietrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are very glad that your stay with us was "a unique experience" as that is our ultimate goal. We want every guest to remember the time they spent at the Martin & Mason and we hope that you have the chance to return sometime in the near future. In the meantime....happy travels and thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Embarrass, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

On a recent trip out west, my family and my mother-in-law were getting two rooms each night. Using TripAdvisor whenever we didn't have advance reservations, we found the Martin Mason Hotel. My mother-in-law stayed in one of the rooms in this hotel and the rest of us got a room in the same building at their "sister" hotel. It's a fun old-fashioned building that they've restored nicely, they use period furniture but include amenities like a TV and updated bathrooms. I recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emiLyQuick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
We are glad you enjoyed our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your stay! We hope to see you all back here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.0 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#2 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#7 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin Mason Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin Mason Hotel

Property: Martin Mason Hotel
Address: 33 Deadwood Street, corner of Deadwood and Sherman St., Deadwood, SD 57732-1351
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin Mason Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic district and walking distance to the best of Deadwood, the 1893 Martin & Mason Hotel stands as the premier historic renovation in Deadwood. A quiet and unique experience, offering Victorian era ambiance with all the modern amenities. Luxurious King beds in our rooms and suites and the best sleep in South Dakota. Scones, tea and coffee are served each morning to our guests. The best breakfast restaurant in Deadwood, the Lee Street Station, is located in the building and open daily. Award winning staff available 24/7. Weddings, special events and meetings are our specialty in our 1898 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Martin Mason Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing