We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel - just hard to find...”
Review of Martin Mason Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Martin Mason Hotel
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Martin & Mason Hotel is a very nice, very traditional hotel in the centre of Deadwood. The rooms are named as well as numbered (we stayed in Lucy Ann), and are traditionally decorated and furnished, with 4-post beds and dark red paintwork (in our room and wood panelling.
We didn’t have a full breakfast with our room, but the coffee and scones available in the hallway were tasty and kept us going for a while.

There are a couple of difficulties with this hotel though. Firstly, it’s pretty difficult to find as it’s above a casino and has very little signage at street level (there’s a bit sign high up on the building but if you’re not looking at the 3rd floor you won’t see it), and secondly, the entrance and reception area are in the middle of the casino. It’s a personal thing, but I’m not comfortable in casinos so I don’t like this. But I guess a lot of people visiting Deadwood are visiting to go gambling, so maybe this is a big plus point for them!

Anyway, I’d fully recommend this hotel for a stay in Deadwood.

Room Tip: Lucy Ann is very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review of the Martin & Mason Hotel. We enjoy hearing from our international travelers and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We understand your concerns about walking through our Wooden Nickel casino to access the elevator to the hotel rooms. We hope that during your stay you were able to use our two private and keyed exterior entrances to the hotel, designed specifically for guests who want to avoid the casino. It was important to us that we maintain the historic feeling of our quiet small hotel and the two staircases to the second floor are designed to provide this to our guests. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope that you will return again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed at the Martin Mason Hotel for a night after seeing a concert in Deadwood. I really enjoyed both the property and the service. Let me start by saying, yes the building and rooms are historic, as such this may come as a shock to some who are used to staying in cookie cutter hotel rooms. The tub with a hand held shower nozzle took some getting used to but it was still comfortable and fun. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was clean. Breakfast was coffee and scones outside in the hall and the scones were delicious. Overall, we really had a great night there. We were able to walk to everything and Star was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angamn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Martin & Mason Hotel. We hope that when you return sometime, you might try another room for a different experience since they are all unique. The rooms with the showers are 1, 2, 5/6 and 7/8. Rooms 10 and 11 have bathtub/shower combinations! Thanks again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We where in room 7 the Mason Suite, my husband and I found the room to be well restored decorated to the period, comfortable very spacious, staff where very friendly polite willing to help, couldn't do enough for us, made our stay for two nights a delight.
Highly recommend. Close to the Main Street.
I put this hotel as top class.
Excellent

Room Tip: We where on the second floor but throughout our stay we had know trouble with any noise, it was a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linette and Joh... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our hotel. You cannot imagine how gratifying it is when travelers, such as yourselves, appreciate everything we have done to create a perfect experience for our guests. We hope to see you again sometime here at the Martin & Mason!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

It's not a boutique hotel by any stretch of the imagination. We went to the room we had reserved. No seating except on the bed. For some reason the chairs were missing. The woman who took us to our room came back with a couple of straight chairs. DH not impressed. He was also taken aback that this hotel had been condemned before being rehabbed. He felt that should have been offered upfront. We were offered an upgrade which I took for another $100. DH not pleased. But, I wanted to be comfortable. We got a suite. Too bad there wasn't food service. It would have been wonderful to have tea in that room. Bed was luxurious. Towels very nice and fluffy.

There was coffee available on the floor with the rooms and a small fridge with complimentary beverages.

The normal rooms are small. However, it is an old hotel. If you want cookie cutter experience, then go somewhere else. It's not a great value for the money. But, it's well located in Deadwood. We walked to everything.

Room Tip: Talk to the hotel when reserving a room. You will have a better chance of getting what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

We appreciate so much your time in writing a review for our eight room boutique hotel. We actually do meet all the qualifications for a "boutique hotel" as described by wikipedia! We are also very proud of the fact that we have received so many accolades and awards for our thirteen year project to restore our building located in a national historic district. We are frequently asked to give tours of our project by the state and city historic preservation officers as an excellent example of a complete renovation. During the renovation it was necessary to create bathrooms in rooms that originally did not have them, and this in itself was a challenging project! In addition, it was our goal to use every historical item that was left in the building after many years of abuse. We couldn't be prouder of our efforts! Unfortunately, I was not present during your stay or I would have been happy to show you the building with Before and After pictures! If you were in one of the suites I am so sorry that you did not find the tea kettle provided with tea cups, tea and condiments to make your stay more comfortable.....maybe next time. I do look forward to helping your next stay meet all your needs here in Deadwood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Small room. Dirty bedspread. No food services available. Old linens. Soft, lumpy bed with equally bad pillows. Poor lighting. Non existant management skills. Dank lobby. Would never recommend this "hotel". Not at all like advertised...except that it does seem old.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

The staff at the Martin & Mason Hotel is very accommodating and helpful with all of our guests. Even though I was out of town during your stay, the staff let me know of the issues regarding the confusion with your purchase downstairs and how unhappy you were upon arrival. They actually called me in Michigan they were so concerned. Clearly, you were having a "bad day". Please let me clarify some of your comments; Our restaurant is only closed from 10pm to 7am, this time of year, so I am sorry that food service was not available to you when you needed it. I hope you had breakfast in the morning, as it is the best in Deadwood, but I am sure you were pleased with the coffee and scones outside your room in the morning! Our beds are all pillowtop with 600 count sheets. The down pillows are a selection of different thicknesses and weights, so as to accommodate everyone's needs. Nothing is dirty as we have the absolutely best housekeeper in the world who takes her job responsibilities very seriously. I would like to personally invite you back to meet her and our entire staff on better terms when you are happier. as this review was quite unrealistic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Melanie and entire staff made our two night stay a memorable experience. The personal attention to guests makes this hotel a MUST DO in Deadwood. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a stay to remember.

Room Tip: The Lucy Martin room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you so much for the great review! We really enjoy having such nice guests in our small hotel. It is what makes this business so rewarding and fun. The Lucy Ann is one of our favorite rooms too! We look forward to hosting you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The Martin Mason hotel embodies everything that is great about Deadwood. It is authentic and atmospheric, yet has all the up-to-date necessities for these days such as a lift, air conditioning and modern bathrooms. The bed could not have been more comfortable, and the welcome and hospitality could not have been warmer. Melanie is such a charming and friendly woman, as is everyone who works at the hotel.
Breakfast at Lee Street Station attached to the hotel is cooked to order and delicious - the rye bread the best I've tasted this side of Poland.
I accidentally left a precious necklace behind, and Melanie was in touch to let me know before I had even realised I didn't have it. Incredible service.
I would say to anyone planning to visit Deadwood: stay at the Martin Mason - you won't be disappointed.
PS I just wish I wasn't already married because I'd love a wedding in the ballroom on the top floor - a magic place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jospanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.2 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 26 in Deadwood
590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hickok's Hotel & Suites
Hickok's Hotel & Suites
#18 of 26 in Deadwood
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 26 in Deadwood
760 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.1 mi away
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin Mason Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin Mason Hotel

Address: 33 Deadwood St, corner of Deadwood and Sherman St., Deadwood, SD 57732-1351
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range: £77 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin Mason Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic district and walking distance to the best of Deadwood, the 1893 Martin & Mason Hotel stands as the premier historic renovation in Deadwood. A quiet and unique experience, offering Victorian era ambiance with all the modern amenities. Luxurious King beds in our rooms and suites and the best sleep in South Dakota. Scones, tea and coffee are served each morning to our guests. The best breakfast restaurant in Deadwood, the Lee Street Station, is located in the building and open daily. Award winning staff available 24/7. Weddings, special events and meetings are our specialty in our 1898 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Martin Mason Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing