We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Found Hidden Gold in Deadwood!”
Review of Martin Mason Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Martin Mason Hotel
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Hot Springs, SD
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We Found Hidden Gold in Deadwood!”
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I took a chance and reserved this hotel for Saturday of Valentine's weekend on advice from TripAdvisor and the reviews I read there, and I'm so glad I did! The Martin and Mason Hotel was Absolutely Wonderful! It was a little hard to find, about half a block off Main St., across from the Historic Courthouse, but once we did, we were very pleasantly surprised. My wife and I were greeted in the lobby by the hotel owner, Melanie, who was extremely nice and helpful checking us in and showing us to our room. We had room #4, the John Martin Room. It was very beautifully restored to the Old West period with antique furniture, a big comfortable king size bed, and a claw foot tub right in the room. Very cozy! There was also a modern flat screen TV in the room. Complimentary beverages were available right down the hall. In the morning there was fresh coffee and scones in the hallway as well. It was really a great hotel stay in Deadwood! My wife and I both loved it! Thanks Melanie, we will surely be back again!

Also, the Lee Street Station Cafe downstairs next to the Wooden Nickel Casino serves a great breakfast, and the ladies there are super friendly!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kandbsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    25
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
101
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
HONOLULU, HI.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Ono means "Good" in Hawaiian. The Martin and Mason Hotel has a great location in Deadwood's casino and restaurant district. Free parking and Continental breakfast. the rooms are quiet and well appointed with antique furniture. This is a small personable hotel and casino with friendly help that will remember your name and go all out for you ! Located one quarter block off Deadwood's Main Street and an easy walk to everything you want in Deadwood. Love it!
Richard Honolulu, Hawai'i

Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DEADWOODDICK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We looked at a lot of places in Deadwood and Lead to hold our wedding reception, and none of them held a candle to the Martin and Mason! Not only is the building itself exquisite, breathtakingly decorated with beautiful antiques, but Mona (and the rest of the staff) was so helpful, friendly, and professional. Ours was a destination wedding (for us as well since we live in Colorado), and Mona and the Martin and Mason could not have made it any easier to help me plan from afar! My guests, especially those who were lucky enough to stay in one of the rooms, could not say enough about how beautiful the hotel was, and everyone who met Mona loved her! Honestly, working with the Martin and Mason was one of the easiest, most fun parts of the entire wedding planning process.

The suite we stayed in was so beautiful and comfortable - in fact, the suite we stayed in on our honeymoon paled in comparison to the comfortable grandeur at the Martin and Mason!

Go with the Martin and Mason for all your hotel and wedding needs – you won’t be sorry!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

When my husband suggested staying in Deadwood the name didn't have much appeal, how wrong I was to be proved....
From the moment we pulled up outside the Martin & Mason hotel any concerns I had melted away. My husband went to check for vacancies, the receptionist took on board all our requirements and we were shown to Room 10, The Tyrell, this was a beautifully decorated room with fantastic comfy bed and a very large bathroom. We were invitied to look around the wonderful ballroom on the top floor and shown where we could find complimentary cold drinks.
Fresh scones were served each morning outside our room with coffee.

The service we received at Martin & Mason was exceptional, the staff very extremely helpful and courteous and took a genuine interest in ensuring we enjoyed our stay. Nothing was a trouble. On our first morning they enquired as to our plans for the day and had no hesitiation in recommending a scenic drive to our destination (Mount Rushmore/Crazy Horse Memorial), they provided maps etc and even told us if we got lost to give them a call. When we returned they were eager to ensure we had enjoyed ourselves and provided us with fresh cofee for our room to help us relax.

We were further recommended to dine in the Social Club and then go into the Midnight Star to see the artefacts belonging Kevin Costner on display......all recommendations made to us by the hotel were of sound advice and could not be faulted in any way.

We met the owners Melanie & Blake when we came back on our second evening, they were most hospitable and welcoming and we ended up having some wonderful conversations with them during our stay.

I can honestly say our stay at the Martin & Mason was second to none, we had a wonderful relaxing holiday, surrounded by people who have a genuine interest in making your stay the best possible. Other hotels could learn a lot from this but then again would you want them to...afterall this is a hidden gem and the personal service is part of what makes this exceptional.

We've only been home a week and long to return already........

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthumberlandTopCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

There's a lot of background to give here but I'll keep it brief. I grew up in the black hills before moving to LA 10 years back. This last weekend I returned with 200 of my closest friends and family to get married at the opera house outside of Deadwood. We took over 5 hotels in the area and the Martin & Mason was BY FAR the best. And certainly the least known. The entire hotel is 8 rooms/suites located 1 block off of main street near that AMAZING courthouse and museum and after touring all the hotels in town, we put our families in this one. The design is impeccable. The beds are super comfy. The staff is great. Until we found the entrance directly from the street we believed the only drawback was having to go through a casino to get to the rooms by elevator - but that's the case with almost every place in Deadwood. The rates are in line with the quality of the place, so be sure to ask management for discounts/promotions before you book, but then book immediately. It's one to remember.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dumb_american
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

wonderful welcome when we arrived - they offered to upgrade us free of charge to a much larger room with sofas etc .
The beds are heaven to sleep in , Melanie & Mona were so friendly, kind and helpful to us ( gave us a kettle for our room lovely scones and tea in the morning , free drinks in a fridge down the landing too , directions on local attractions , and even telephoned our car hire company to arrange a later drop off time so we could do the scenic drive on route to Rapid City airport ! )
We have not had this level of service in any hotel we have stayed in before.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nerja18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Went here for anniversary. Had a small problem with box bugs that like to bask in the sunlight. Apparently during the late fall, these critters like to find their way indoors, and then hang out by a window for the warmth. My hubby went to the manager and told her that we had little bugs in the room; they immediatley switched us into a nicer room and cleaned the other one. We were able to stay in the bigger room (with a beautiful claw foot tub!!!!) for no extra charge and didn't see any more of our little friends. We were apologized to several times by the manager. We asked around to the locals that we found to see if they all had problems with the little bugs as well, and this was confirmed that the little guys are normal and harmless. Other than that problem, which was taken care of right away, it was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAllen1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.2 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
681 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#11 of 24 in Deadwood
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#5 of 24 in Deadwood
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bullock Hotel
Bullock Hotel
#16 of 24 in Deadwood
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin Mason Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin Mason Hotel

Property: Martin Mason Hotel
Address: 33 Deadwood Street, corner of Deadwood and Sherman St., Deadwood, SD 57732-1351
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin Mason Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic district and walking distance to the best of Deadwood, the 1893 Martin & Mason Hotel stands as the premier historic renovation in Deadwood. A quiet and unique experience, offering Victorian era ambiance with all the modern amenities. Luxurious King beds in our rooms and suites and the best sleep in South Dakota. Scones, tea and coffee are served each morning to our guests. The best breakfast restaurant in Deadwood, the Lee Street Station, is located in the building and open daily. Award winning staff available 24/7. Weddings, special events and meetings are our specialty in our 1898 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Martin Mason Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing