We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Deadwood Station Bunkhouse & Gambling Hall
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Onamia, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value, Great location”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Our group stayed for three nights in July 2014. The staff was very friendly, and the location was perfect for touring the area on motorcycle. The rooms were well suited to our needs, clean, and reasonably quiet considering the amount of bikes coming and going. We will definitely be coming back, as well as recommending this hotel to our friends. If booking through Black Hills Vacations.com, I suggest calling Deadwood Station directly to confirm your reservation. We did call directly as we always do, and found our rooms had been cancelled by the booking agent for some unknown reason. Fortunately, the staff at the hotel was very accommodating and reinstated our reservations without delay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank muggyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    16
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
13
25
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here for just one night, based on the price. Check in was slow as there were several people ahead of us. The room was clean, a nice flat screen TV, bathroom was clean with the usual thin towels. The room wasn't anything special, but it served it's purpose. The microwave and small fridge was a nice convenience. It got cold during the night, however, the knob selector for cold to hot was broken. The low fan/high fan was workable but without an operable temperature selector, it was useless. At-the-door access for parking was convenient. In the morning, we couldn't help but notice the 4 staff members standing in the middle of the parking lot grouped together, watching people pack up and prepare to leave. Were they sizing everyone up to see what room would have the "best" pickings? That last review made us skeptical about what to expect from the staff. If we stayed more than one night, I would definitely be very cautious as to what I left in the room during my absence. Although this motel is not right in town, it is just on the edge of town and provided easy access to town. Good for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRMEnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I and another couple stayed here for two nights while we were in town to see a show. We did have to wait quite a while to check-in - as in we were standing there and the receptionist was on the phone, which was fine, but it was like we didn't even exist...I thought a "I'll be right with you." or acknowledging we were standing at the counter would have been nice. Anyway, that wasn't a big deal. The rooms were very quiet and the beds very comfortable. I liked that the rooms were further back from the road. The trolley stops at this hotel every hour and for a dollar will take you to any of many stops in Deadwood. It was nice to be able to buy some wine on site and drink it in the room. We did have some drinks at the bar on site as well and had a good time. There is a nice covered patio outside as well where you can take your drinks. We also enjoyed sitting outside of our hotel rooms on the covered sidewalk in front of our rooms in the outside chairs in front of our rooms. My only issue was that checkout is at 11 AM and at 10:00 AM we had gone over to the lobby/restaurant/casino to get some coffee. Our cars were still parked in front of our rooms and we hadn't yet turned in our keys. Anyway, my husband went back to our room at about 10:20 AM to grab the rest of our things so we could checkout and housekeeping (3 younger females) was in our room when he got there doling out our bottles of wine and other things in the fridge. They did seem embarrassed when he walked in and gladly handed what was rightfully ours to him. I just don't understand why they were in there at 10:20 AM when checkout is at 11 AM and we hadn't checked-out and our cars were still parked in front of our rooms. That really did bother me. Other than that one thing, I did enjoy my stay. For the price I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdgal46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casper, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The motel is a great place to stay in Deadwood. We were pleasantly surprised by the room! It looks like the motel has had a very recent remodel. The room had brand new carpet, furniture, a nice flat screen tv, small refrigerator, and small microwave. There was free wifi and easy to use. We spent the majority of our time in town so we weren't looking for a lot of extra amenities. We came in on a Friday evening and left on Sunday so the price of the room was the best in town at only $82 for the weekend. There wasn't a coffee maker in the room but a really nice coffee shop and restaurant on the premises. There are also a few slot machines in the main building. The trolley stops right in front every 30 minutes and for $1 it makes it very convenient to head to town and have fun!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 111 which was tucked back in a hallway on the bottom floor. There was only one roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Small hotel but very clean. The hotel and restaurant have been remodeled. This is a family owned business and they are wonderful people! They make you feel at home which to me is very important. The hotel is the first one in about a mile and a half trail of motels and the trolley stops every hour to take you to town. Very convenient and personal. I love it!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moonrapsody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have stayed there every spring for the last five years when it was the Bullock Express. The rates are great and the place is pet friendly as we travel with two little dogs.We found the place clean and plenty of hot water. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the make a person feel welcome. The rooms have coffee makers and who cares if there are no hair blowers, bring your own.We stopped in there this summer too see the remodling and found it all very nice. We will defently stay there this coming spring.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terrycorey823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukee, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

It was OK with us. Stated it was newly remodeled. They were just putting the room #'s on the doors the night we stayed. VERY GOOD rates, and they were very friendly and nice. I had leg cramps that night from traveling, and had to run hot water on my legs about every hour. Believe me we I had tons of hot water. Nothing wrong with my room, and yes we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
2.2 mi away
Thunder Cove Hotel
Thunder Cove Hotel
#21 of 24 in Deadwood
68 reviews
2.6 mi away
Black Hills Inn & Suites
Black Hills Inn & Suites
#24 of 24 in Deadwood
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
First Gold Hotel
First Gold Hotel
#19 of 24 in Deadwood
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex
1.6 mi away
Best Western Hickok House
Best Western Hickok House
#18 of 24 in Deadwood
290 reviews
1.2 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#11 of 24 in Deadwood
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Station Bunkhouse & Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Station Bunkhouse & Gambling Hall

Property: Deadwood Station Bunkhouse & Gambling Hall
Address: 68 Main Street, Deadwood, SD 57732-1232 (Formerly Deadwood Station)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Deadwood Station Bunkhouse & Gambling Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in one of our 38 newly appointed rooms at the same great low rates! Comfort and affordability were in mind when this property was being renovated. Each room is equipped with 32" Flat screen TVs and free WIFI thorough. Deadwood Station Bunkhouse and Gambling Hall is conveniently located at the entrance to Deadwood. It is a quiet location with spacious on-site parking. The Trolley stops here, so it's easy to get anywhere you'd like to go in Deadwood. Check out the rest of the property while you stay with us. Have a beverage from the Miner's Saloon. On the hungrier side? We serve breakfast pastries, pizza, wings, sandwiches, and so much more. Enjoy your food and beverages inside while you try out your luck on our slot machines, or outside on the deck taking in the beautiful scenery. A no frills complimentary breakfast is available daily for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Deadwood Station Bunkhouse & Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bullock Express Hotel Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing