We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay for Husband's Birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lenwade Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lenwade
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely stay for Husband's Birthday”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed here for a Saturday night to celebrate my Husband's 40th. We had a lovely stay. Upon check in we realised our room didn't have a bath and I had been really looking forward to a soak. We were moved to a room with a bath immediately and even given extra bubble bath and body lotion. There was a wedding on during our stay but at no point did we feel treated as an after thought even though the staff were busy looking after the wedding guests. The food in the hotel retaurant is amazing and the cooked breakfast is fantastic. The bed was very comfortable indeed. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Only two rooms have a bath, they are in the process of refurbishing the bathrooms and are replacing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    81
    56
    50
    26
See reviews for
91
194
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed on a two night KGB deal which was very good value for such a nice place. Our room was on a wing with two windows so nice and light to enjoy the views of the grounds. It was nice, clean, the bed very comfy. We had a modern flat screen TV but it didn’t have a radio setting in it. Surprised to read in the other reviews that some rooms don’t have a TV so perhaps not moan about not having radio and other half was able to watch Euro cup final!

We didn’t eat in the restaurant as there was a wedding in the Marquee so we went to the village pub. Not that we were made to feel in the way at all. It was our choice. On our return we sat on the terrace with a drink and enjoyed a firework display put on by one of the guests for the happy couple.

Even though a wedding on it was not off putting, this wedding certainly June 30th, and all the guests happy, not loud, even in the late hours. Best wishes to the couple who ever they were.
I can understand why the Hotel is booked for weddings most weekends, the grounds and the place making a perfect setting.

The staff are friendly, chatty and helpful, the Manager was very helpful in finding me details and directions – printing off a route map for our planned stop to break our journey home.

The only minus thing I can say is the wardrobe only had two plastic hangers in it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Our son held his wedding and reception here yesterday. Although most of the credit must go to our new daughter in law for her meticulous planning and creativity, the actual delivery was expertly executed by Ady and his team at Lenwade.
Nothing was too much trouble and the food and service were of the top order. They did everything humanly possible to make the day so special for the Bride and Groom.
We cannot recommend this venue any higher for a wedding venue.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WensumCanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We held our wedding at lenwade house on the 2nd of june this year. I would like to say that the venue is in a lovely location by the river and surrounded by trees, it is very serene. The rooms that have undergone refurbishment have been done to a very high standard. The marquee is a really nice space and was set out just as we wanted by the staff.

The service provided was very good from start to finish, we mostly dealt with jane but were also introduced to nick, ady and the chef. Jane was very helpful and professional as was Ady who was there the morning of the wedding, setting up, helping with the wedding and he made sure that we were happy with everything.

The food was lovely, we had a barbeque and profiteroles and cheesecake for desert. We had a cooked breakfast the next day and again this was lovely. The chef was friendly and made sure that everything was as we wanted it.

Just a couple of things I would comment on; I would agree that the rooms were a little cold but this is an old property, there were a few mix ups with some of the rooms (we put this down to having four weddings over the same weekend), in some of the rooms there were no tv and no coffee and tea making facilities (not a problem for us but may be for some).

If you are thinking of booking this hotel for your wedding, do not hesitate, do it! you will have a great time!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_bugz_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Three of us ate in the restaurant here on a Wednesday evening. The food was average for the price. My husband`s duck was good but my sea bass was tasteless and drowned in a stodgy sauce. As in most British restaurants, the vegetables were overcooked and unappetising. The crème brûlée desserts were good. It was disconcerting to see a rat run past the window as we ate. We asked the waiter to report this to the management. The best part of the evening was the cabaret put on by the wild rabbits in the grounds.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrissieDenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We have recently stayed here on a 2dy break,bought from 40Winks,this is by far the worst hotel we have stayed in for service and food,it appears to be run by inexperieced people
when we arrived the lady on reception was more concerned with making phone calls than dealing with us,
on our offer it included B &B Afternoon tea and bottle of wine if you bought an evening meal
and a Welcome drink, The Welcome drink didn't happen and we had not bought with us the paper on the offer. The afternoon tea was a scone each and a pot tea,this is NOT an afernoon tea
We had booked a table for the evening meal and was told we could turn up any time,we waited at least 30 mins for a menu after we ordered we waited another 35 mins to go into the restaurant,then we asked for the wine list we were told that there isnt a wine list its just red white or ros'e,when we got into restaurant we waited a further 30mins for the starter,and approx another 30 mins for mains,we were giving up the will to live by then
there were 4 items off main menu and 2 items off the desserts which were not available
starter was fish cakes we asked for 2 cakes only, 3 arrived,the other starter was red onion
tart when it came it was a piece of flaky pastry with a small slice of red onion,very poor
we both ordered trout when it came the portions were very large portions( more pub dinner than restaurant) the veg was overcooked and the trout came with a very large portion of prawns mushrooms peas all mixed together and saturated in salt it was uneatable,the only thing we ate was the trout which was ok,there was also 5 large new potatoes more like a navvies dinner
We complained to the waitress who said sorry and walked off
When we went for breakfast the following morning,there was no crockery,we asked the waitress
for a pot of tea and two toast after wating for 35min for these which never came we left,
room was ok it was clean,the bath and the washbasin had no chains on the plugs, we had
difficulty taking the plugs out of the plugholes,the wasbasin didnt have a grill in the plughole so you had to take rings off before you used it,there was also a notice by wash basin saying that the hot water may come out of the cold water tap,the toilet took forever to refill
they need to employ a professional manager to show them how an hotel should be run and a good handyman to put right all the silly little jobs
We chose this hotel because of all the good rightups,the grounds are impressive and the drive up to the house
if you want small tasty quality food dont come here,this hotel survives off the weddings

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patandfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Its taken me a while to write this review, but want to say how glad i was to have my wedding at lenwade!!! Everything was AMAZING... Ade made eveyone feel at ease and somehow calmed mine,my husband and my dads nerves,hes a star.
Nearly everyone at our wedding said it was the best wedding they had been too. Me and my husband worked hard to make our day happen and it was very special, thanks to Henry the chef who is by far the best! His food was just melt in the mouth and not a complaint by anyone which is hard as some people are fussy...
All the staff at lenwade made our day and helped it run smoothly i think Jane and Nick should be very proud of there hotel.
Maybe get some tv's in all rooms so that tele addicts cant complain as a few of my guests kept moaning to me, and the hot water wasnt always hot but im sure with time these minor things will be sorted. I wasnt at my wedding to watch tele so didnt mind.
But a big thanks to all at lenwade for making my day as good as it could of been. Especially Ade who overall was a great help to everyone while he was there, shame he had to leave so soon.
Book your wedding or even a little break at Lenwade you wont be dissapointed.
Thanks from Kayley and Mark.xxx

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kayley t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenwade
4.3 mi away
Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
9.7 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
6.0 mi away
Stower Grange
Stower Grange
#1 of 1 in Drayton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenwade Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenwade Country House Hotel

Property: Lenwade Country House Hotel
Address: Fakenham Road, Lenwade NR9 5QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Lenwade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lenwade
Hotel Class:3 star — Lenwade Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing