We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveller rating
188
104
67
65
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
188
104
67
65
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wedding venue terrace overlooking the river duty manager groupon deal bridal suite wedding breakfast fantastic wedding lovely surroundings looked lovely pot roast relaxing break an evening meal cooked breakfast full english two night stay afternoon tea stayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 469 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2018

I booked this Hotel for my partner's Birthday surprise. We drove over 3 hours without him knowing where we are going. The reception was nice and the Duty Manager polite but on the way to our hotel room I could smell something of a 'wet dog'. It was terrible and discussing. The room was shocking! The only thing I was able to say to the Duty Manager when I walked in was 'this is not the room I have booked' and he said that this is the Standard room and quickly close the door being himself on the way out. There was a blood stains on the carpet, human fesses in the toilet, very old, tired and broken furniture, there was a screw screwed in to the bath to secure the bath screen, mould all over the bath. The smell in the room was dreadful. My partner wasn’t happy at all and I felt embarrassed because this supposed to be nice surprise for his birthday. We went to the Duty Manager and complaint about the room, I showed him pictures of what the Hotel advertise as a Standard room but the room we got was nothing like it. He then transferred us to another room that looked much better and there were no blood stains on the carpet but still was quite tired and in need for some proper maintenance. When my partner opens the window the window handle just stayed in his hand and at some point, during the stay the curtains just fell off the window. There were two TV's in the room and one remote control that didn’t work. The food in the restaurant wasn’t that great for my taste, it was over spicy because how many people like the chicken breast covered in guacamoles. The restaurant was outdated and the furniture not very comfortable. I could see the insides of the chair hanging down to the floor. Breakfast was nice and cooked properly.
There was a nice pub close by where they served really good home cooked meals. I do not recommend this Hotel to anyone, it’s not worth the price for sure and it should be label as 1-star hotel.

Room Tip: Find different Hotel
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justyna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Lookes lovely but.... room very dusty/cob webby. No stays on windows so had to tie them open. Arrived and loo roll holder missing so loo roll left on the floor. Shower head only coming out of half the holes as limescaled up. Bathroom really needed cleaning attention. Reception not manned a lot so could not address any issues. Shame really as lovely setting

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank lcrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Superb food lovely staff but poor management over one hour to get a starter and a drink only skeleton staff on not their fault shame as could be a dream place needs running properly

Only interested in weddings and functions not travelling public

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Stayed there for three nights recently with a Groupon deal and were pleasantly surprised. The whole place had a tired feeling to it and really requires a revamp but we understand that it is only leased from a local farmer and it is proving difficult to obtain the funds necessary to complete an update. The staff are young but very helpful and the breakfast was good although a mark off for no Earl Grey tea! One thing I did notice was the lighting in the evening on the 400 yard driveway to the house from the main road. Although there were a number of lamps postioned along the driveway, none were lit after dark which could make it an intimidating walk for guests through a wooded area. A nice location though for visiting Norfolk.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Shimba6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Lovely hotel set in beautiful grounds. Small but very friendly, helpful staff. The room was spacious and I had the best night's sleep I'd had in ages.
The dinner menu is fairly extensive and moderately priced. The full English breakfast was cooked to order and was not and plenty even for the hungriest person.
I would happily go back again and would love to stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolmak2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lenwadehouse, Front Office Manager at Lenwade Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear carolmak2016,

Thank you for such a lovely review, I shall pass your feedback on with the team.

I'm pleased to see you enjoyed the food at the hotel.

hopefully we will welcome you back soon and hopefully for longer next time.

Kindest Regards
Mike Harvey-Kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews