We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than I could have asked for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
South Norfolk Guest House
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More than I could have asked for”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Just stayed for the one night for a course today. It was absolutely lovely, the hosts are charming, the room was a good size with full ameneties and comfortable. Superbly priced. I only wish I'd been staying in the area for more nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricaxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South_Norfolk, Owner at South Norfolk Guest House, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to review us on Trip Advisor and for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would welcome the opportunity to welcome you to our home in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
23
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Teneterden, Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

After experimenting with several local B&Bs I settled to stay here some 150 plus weekday nights over a 22 month period while working locally. I've stayed in everyone of the rooms, in all weathers and at all times of year. Throughout that time I never considered looking elsewhere once! Simon and family were always great hosts. Friendly, a mine of useful local information, flexible and accommodating, and offering great value too. A range of comfortable en-suite bedrooms to suit your pocket and needs plus free wi-fi access; kettle, snacks and TV in your room. Breakfast in cosy (open fire) Winter dining room or conservatory. Lounge room. Great breakfasts range and strong coffee to order. Microwave, fridge, plates and cutlery etc available to use if you require. Evening meals can be provided. Excellent friendly pub of the year (with good food, beer and fortnightly quiz or live music) 1 minute walk away. Good local circular evening walks to clear the head in quiet Norfolk village. Range of takeaways and supermarket in 7 mins drive.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South_Norfolk, Owner at South Norfolk Guest House, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you Michael for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to making you a pot of nice strong black coffee when you call in to see us when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My husband and i have just recently returned from a 5 night break at South Norfolk Guest House. We received a very warm and friendly welcome from the owners Simon and Heather, who presented us with a cup of tea and a glass of elderflower drink in the guest lounge after a our long journey. The bedroom was inviting, comfortable, spacious and clean and the window looked out to a field where we were surprised and entertained each day at seeing a wide variety of birds including pheasant, woodpecker, barn owl and also of several rabbits and a mother and baby muntjac (small stocky deer). The bathroom was also spacious and clean and had everything you needed. The breakfast each morning was delicous and plentiful and served at a time of your choice in the conservatory. They had the usual variety of cereals, fruit, jams and bread to make your own toast. I varied my cooked breakfast each morning from a full english to an omelette and then scambled egg on toast, which was all very filling and satisfying and which we didn't need to eat anything again for several hours. My husband and i were celebrating our 4th wedding anniversary while there and Simon presented us with a box of chocolates as a gift, which were diabetic chocolates as we had informed Simon that my husband had literally just been informed that he was a diabetic on the morning that we travelled. Simon also went out to get my husband some diabetic jam and marmalade, which we were so appreciative of this. We used the guest house as a base so that we could visit as much as Norfolk as we could and Simon is very knowledgable of where the best places/towns are to visit and we followed his recommendations of where to eat each evening and we were also thankfull of his advise to use the park and ride facility when going into Norwich city centre. We fully recommend staying at South Norfolk House and will return there again if and when we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South_Norfolk, Owner at South Norfolk Guest House, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the kind review, not to mention the photos of our pheasant! It is always gratifying to know that we have offered a good experience. Please do come and see us when you are next in the area. Many many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I managed to get a good rate at South Norfolk Guest House via Top Rooms for our four night stay. I booked one of their luxuary doubles, we got 'Oak' which is their family room & contains one double bed plus a single with pull out matress. I did find it a little strange having the en-suite layout with the toilet/basin in one room & the shower in the other but the penny dropped that this is a great arrangement for a family, meaning the production line in the mornings can be maintained! Our room was located in the older part of the building which was once a school years ago.

Breakfasts were good utilizing a fine selection of local produce, in particular the different flavour jams which I tried each day.

Location is good just about 12 - 13 miles south of Norwich which has an excellent park & ride system at the junction of the A140/A47 to avoid central car parking costs. Places like Sandringham, The Broads & the North Norfolk Coast are all in easy reach. Being at the lower part of Norfolk the rest of East Anglia & its attractions are not that far away.

If you fancy a comfortable guest house, don't want to pay Norwich prices, have the peace & quiet to go with it then give South Norfolk Guest House a try.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank je2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South_Norfolk, Owner at South Norfolk Guest House, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the kind review, not to mention the photos of our pheasant! It is always gratifying to know that we have offered a good experience. Please do come and see us when you are next in the area. Many many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

I haven't stopped in a guest house for a number of years.. But what a lovely place. We wherein Norfolk for a family get together and needed somewhere for the 2of us.. When we got there the owners were out but had left a message on the door for us to contact them.. All good and it did all it said in the letter.. Great cooked breakfast with all local produce, plenty of choice of cereal and jams for toast with 2different vitiates.. Bed was very comfy, en-suite was a wet room with plenty of room. Great place if you want a nice clean guest house.. Well done to the owners

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South_Norfolk, Owner at South Norfolk Guest House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We welcome your kind comments and endeavor to provide good value for money.We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Our rooms vary in size and are priced accordingly. For longer stays we recommend the upstairs rooms which offer more space ensuring you receive the best stay ever. It will be good to welcome you back to our guest house when you are next staying in south Norfolk. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed for 1 night with my wife in early November for a family get together. Owners were lovely, room was clean and spacious with a new bathroom en-suite. Breakfast was also lovely with lots of local produce, and lots of resources available for places to go and eat.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South_Norfolk, Owner at South Norfolk Guest House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for leaving a review on tripadvisor. We welcome your comments and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Wonderfull,Everything we needed for our 4 night stay it was a very comfortable bedroom which was spacious, and clean, a full english breakfast if you wanted it and even Kippers on the menu to.Simon and his wife are wonderful hosts,genuine,friendly and full of information.The pub was just over the road good food and very friendly.I must say that you need a torch when walking over to the pub as there isn't any street lighting. The guest house is very central to where we wanted to go.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South_Norfolk, Owner at South Norfolk Guest House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review on Trip advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The property is the old village school and is located on the edge of the village. We are just a short walk from the pub and are more than happy to lend torches for those dark evenings! we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Moulton
8.5 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
8.4 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,414 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
415 reviews
1.0 mi away
Red House Farm Bed & Breakfast
Red House Farm Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Tivetshall St. Mary
15 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Ram Coaching Inn
The Old Ram Coaching Inn
#1 of 2 in Tivetshall St. Mary
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Norfolk Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Norfolk Guest House

Property: South Norfolk Guest House
Address: (North Section) Frith Way, Great Moulton NR15 2HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Moulton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Moulton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — South Norfolk Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Norfolk's unspoilt countryside; the South Norfolk Guest House provides quality accommodation for up to 18 guests. Our nine bed rooms create choice and flexibility for an affordable time whatever the reason. South Norfolk Guest House is found just two and a half miles from the village of Long Stratton (situated on the A140); and is therefore perfect for access in and around Norfolk and Suffolk. We offer a large private car park and motorbike lock points. We look forward to offering you a comfortable stay and a great breakfast, served in either the conservatory or the dining room beside the open log fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Norfolk Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing