We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really great stay and lovely friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Orchards Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orchards Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Raveningham B&B and Inns
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really great stay and lovely friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in late August. Absolutely lovely place to stay, the owners Buff and Martin could not have been friendlier or more helpful, and the house and gardens are both fantastic with many quirky and fascinating features, and Buff's breakfasts have to be eaten to be believed with lots of home-made or local produce. I would recommend this accommodation to anyone, it's brilliant!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Castle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed at Orchards Retreat for one night whilst attending a wedding reception locally. We would have loved to stay longer and explore the area more. Buff was extremely helpful and accommodating. The room was large and full of character and the breakfasts were all one could ask for.
Having stayed in many B&B's this was the first to have an adult tree house in the garden! The grounds were great for us and our child to play hide and seek, football and Frisbee.

A morning walk to the nearby thatched round tower church was a great end to our stay. We hope to return.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We felt like we had gone to a friends house for the weekend, Buff and Martin were such fantastic hosts. Breakfast was superb and the room was huge and beautiful. We did some brilliant bike rides and walks from the house and even had Martin on hand to fix a puncture- what a star. I'd happily go back again and again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

The title says it all, resulting in our very short stay being a delight. Buff was a lovely host who has the ability to make her guests feel both very welcomed and very 'at home'.
We loved the character of the house, the views of the lovely gardens and the huge bath as well as the fab English breakfast the following morning.
We would certianly book again.

Dee/Eric
24th May 2013

Room Tip: Each room in the main house has its own charming character and are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Orchards Retreat is a wonderful ‘arts and crafts’ era house, full of character and set in a beautiful garden. I'd previously stayed there on my own and recently returned for a weekend with my husband and our small dog. Martin and Buff were wonderfully welcoming and Buff really went the extra mile in providing a delicious breakfast suitable for my special diet. We felt very much at home and came away feeling relaxed and refreshed. In fact we are planning another weekend visit next month. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the large and sunny en suite room (with bath). The bed was large and very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

As with other reviews, there's very little to 'moan' about here. If you're looking for a great short break venue, the owners have got it just right!. They're charming, friendly, professional and very attentive. Our family stayed in the 3 bedroom cottage, which was self-contained and ideal for what we wanted, allowing us to prepare our own meals as necessary and chill-out. Other members of our family stayed in the main house and 'raved' about the rooms and breakfasts! The decor throughout 'Orchards' provides a special kind of ambience, with various decorative 'touches' .... hence the 'quirkiness', but all in best possible taste! As someone already mentioned, don't expect 'perfection' with en-suites facilities, as large rambling properties such as this have their own special 'charm'. You can't go far wrong by staying here.

Room Tip: If you have children, then the COTTAGE is a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acumen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stayed at Orchard Retreat, as we were at a wedding in the area. The B&B is in a lovely location in the countryside. I totally agree with the last 5* review, including friendly owner, nice breakfast and very quirky house. I would say the house interior is rather rustic and oozes character. Will hope to stay again if we are in the area again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The en-suite room is very nice and spacious, and overlooks the quaint garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raveningham
4.1 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
3.9 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Swan Motel
The Swan Motel
#2 of 12 in Beccles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Swan B&B
The Swan B&B
#1 of 2 in Loddon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dawn Chorus Holidays - The Pines
4.0 mi away
The Swan House
The Swan House
#4 of 12 in Beccles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchards Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchards Retreat

Property: Orchards Retreat
Address: Beccles Road, Raveningham NR14 6NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Raveningham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Raveningham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchards Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orchards Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing