We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional B&B With That Homely Feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
School Lodge Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Halvergate B&B and Inns
Abermule, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Traditional B&B With That Homely Feel”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I was the only guest and stayed for one night, in one of the separate annexes. Very homely, but maybe not to everyone's "personal taste", although spot-on for me. I returned to the B&B after a family party, feeling rather peckish and had no problem ordering a meal for my room after 8pm. Clean and well presented and the breakfast the next morning was wonderful. (Easy to gripe on here, but the only change I would've made was the unsmoked bacon, which is not a favourite of mine. Perhaps being given the choice of smoked or unsmoked bacon is something to take on board for the future?) Other than that one small personal preference - I would recommend this B&B for families and single travellers alike. Many thanks for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countryclass, Owner at School Lodge Country Guest House, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
We are pleased this gentleman enjoyed his stay. However, after many years of experience we have found that using lightly smoked bacon satisfies 99% of our customers tastes.
After having occupied his room from 8 pm. and leaving the next morning we can only assume that his comments relating to families, occupancy etc. etc. are based purely on assumption.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    21
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
74
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Easy to find and in a small Norfolk village, the School Lodge guest house is a real home from home. Converted from a small village school some years ago, the rooms are not massive, but with easy chairs in the room too, are more than suitable, each with en-suite, and TV and fridge.
Breakfasts are huge and set you up for the day. An evening meal is also available, and are good home-cooked fayre. You can also order from a short menu for food to be delivered to your room!
There is a simple village pub 5 minutes walk away too.
Norwich and GT Yarmouth are not far away either.
Julie is a very welcoming host.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlshirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countryclass, Owner at School Lodge Country Guest House, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
We were glad to have Mr. Shirley as our guest. It was also pleasing that he enjoyed the Armchairs and other Facilities in his room, albeit the most compact of all our rooms.
Taking advantage of the food facilities hopefully made his stay even more convenient and leisurely.
We will look forward to possibly having him stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

A Friend and I choose to stay in this guest house because of its closeness to the photographic course we were attending Friday 10th-11th January we stayed for 3 nights, Julie was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble we even had a cooked breakfast at 6am one day, (which I thought went beyond the call of duty). The breakfasts were superb . Our room was very comfortable with 2 electrically operated bed, television,arm chairs and good on suit facilities .We choose to eat out in local pubs but on reflection we should have booked to have our evening meal there too. I cannot recommend this guest house highly enough and will certainly be going back

Room Tip: Brilliant Guest house
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank animalgirlBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countryclass, Owner at School Lodge Country Guest House, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Lovely guests, we were very pleased to have them stay with us, and that everything was to their liking.
Whilst not taking advantage of the Food Facilities on offer, it will be something we can look forward to providing for them, perhaps in the not too distant future.
Many Thanks for the kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

only stayed one night but spent a nice evening in the local pub 5mins walk good nights rest, and a great home cooked breakfast made with local produce, Julie was very helpfull, if in norfolk again will book again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odonogeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countryclass, Owner at School Lodge Country Guest House, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay. It was our pleasure looking after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Julie is a lovely hostess,made you feel very welcome when we arrived,our room was very comfortable plus fridge if you needed it,one night we decided to stay in and we ordered a meal to our room,it was really nice,breakfast was also good plenty of choice,i would definitely recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peppapig12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countryclass, Owner at School Lodge Country Guest House, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your comments, so glad you enjoyed your relaxing stay with us and also that you enjoyed you meal from our "Take Out" eat in your room menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This is a very pleasant Bed and Breakfast. It's nice to have your own entrance to your room. Also nice to be able to have a fridge to store things in.

On our last night we came back to the B&B around 5pm feeling really tired and we couldn't be bothered to go out to find somewhere to eat. We were aware that we needed to inform Julie at breakfast if we wanted to have dinner that night and as we hadn't we were pleasantly surprised when on enquiring, she said we were too late to book for the dinner but she would happily rustle up a salad for us to have.
It was great, and we ate it sitting outside in the garden. These extra helpful touches are what makes for a good host.

The choice at breakfast was good with good quality food.

Just the place to unwind, or in our case rush around like lunatics, trying to see everything!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbalwaystravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countryclass, Owner at School Lodge Country Guest House, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
It is very pleasing to learn that this couple had taken advantage of our NEW "Dine in Your Room" meal service...They actually preceeded the launch. We feel that giving people the Option and choice when dining to be very important and we are glad they enjoyed thier food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crowborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2013

What a fantastic guest house to stay at. Our own private entrance and garden area. Very comfortable and spacious accommodation. A really warm and friendly welcome from Julie made our stay complete. The dinner that she cooked for us on our second night was amazing, we really didn't think that we would have any more room for the lovely dessert, but we managed it ....just !!! The breakfast sets you up for a day of exploring the local area. We will definitely go and stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torchytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countryclass, Owner at School Lodge Country Guest House, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Lovely comments from lovely people and we certainly look forward to seeing them again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to School Lodge Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School Lodge Country Guest House

Property: School Lodge Country Guest House
Address: Marsh Road | Norwich, Halvergate NR13 3QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Halvergate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Halvergate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — School Lodge Country Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
School Lodge Bed and Breakfast in Norfolk is a converted village School with individual, separately annexed en suite rooms with own individual styles. All ground floor. Each room has its own Private Entrance and Sit Out areas. Secure private parking within the grounds. All Rooms Offering Free Wifi, Tea/Coffee making facilities, Large Plasma/LCD TV's with FreeView, DVD Player, Stereo, Fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your School Lodge Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
School Lodge Country Guest House Hotel Acle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing