We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”
Review of The Castlefields

The Castlefields
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Clifford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$17
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Every so often you find a place where all the adjectives in the world wouldn't do justice. This is just such a place.

The friendly and warm welcome set the tone with well pulled beers brought to us by a roaring wood burning stove. We started with the Castlefields platter to share which more than adequately set the drama that was still to come with the mains. I had the steak with all the trimmings and my wife had the duck. Both were cooked to perfection and extremely generous in size with chips and mouth watering fresh vegetables.

With barely room left for more, we braved the desserts. My wife could only just about manage the sorbet and I tucked into a creme brûlée which was perfect.

All in all, a faultless meal and experience and an absolute must for anyone within any driving distance whatsoever. We will certainly be back.

Helpful?
Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    42
    21
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Yet another excellent visit”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Went back to the Castlefields Inn, what can I say yet another fantastic visit, as usual a lovely warm welcome from the staff, we hadn't booked a table but did not have to wait too long before we got seated.
The food was its usual high standard & lots of it, the burgers are absolutely amazing. We have never had a bad meal.
The place is always kept to a high standard & I do believe they do camping & caravan inn in the adjacent paddock which has brand new showers, toilets & other facilities.
The views are amazing, we regularly travel over 60 mile to go here for a meal as its just the best meals around

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wurzelsmobiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
“superb food and superb views and great staff”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

let's start with the great food, the excellent staff, first rate quality service. this is why we keep going back there. the person who made derogitory remarks about the views needs glasses this location is one of the most beutiful settings in herefordshire. I was a local taxi driver and this was one of my favourite runs because of the stunning views. Now let's adress the remarks about the staff, they are excellent to those who said otherwise i don't know what you wanted but you are so wrong!, go and try a 5* in london you wont get better service there! This is a great place for all the family.If you have not been there yet you don't know what you are missing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keith p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friday Evening”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We have visited The Castlefields six or seven times over the last two years and obviously like it or we wouldn't keep going back.
The food is always excellent,and my wife and I have never thought the waiting staff grumpy. There have been times when we have had to wait a little longer than we would have like between ordering and eating but this has only happened when we have booked the table at peak evening times. The way to avoid this is to ask when booking a table for the staff to recommend a slightly quieter time. For example, last evening we had booked for 6.30 and had to wait a much shorter time for our meal than those people who had booked for 7.00 or 7.30. It is such a lovely meal that it is worth eating slightly earlier or later to avoid slow service. We will be going again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank markbeavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Goodish food”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

The food was quite good specially the 16 oz burger "in that burger there were 3 burgers couple pieces of bacon onions melted cheeses good venue not many nice views compared to the Radnor arms llowes good value for money

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Huw T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solly674, Owner at The Castlefields, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your review although I am not really sure you have visited us as we do not serve a 16oz burger with 3 burgers in and also we are surrounded by thebeautiful Merbach Hills and overlook the Wye Valley. Should this review be for someone else?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Castlefields also viewed

Eardisley, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Whitney-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Castlefields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing