We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Castlefields

The Castlefields
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Clifford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$16
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
134 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“A treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Could not believe this how fantastic place was could not fault anything excellent food superb value enormous portions never been anywhere like it wish there was one in hereford it would be fully booked all year round mind you saying that booking at the castlefieds is highly advised and essential on a sunday give it a try you will not be disappointed I can assure you yummy

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emmaloolooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    42
    19
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Visited tonight. Clean, lovely pub. Good home cooked food. Prompt waiter service. Only downfall was my sister was missing the peas from her steak and I was missing the mash from my chicken, the chicken was a bit dry on the ends, but there was so much it didn't ruin my meal and the problems were overcome very quickly. Would def return.

Helpful?
Thank Samera86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“delightful experiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

went for lunch on sunday it was absolutly delicious fantastic value gorgeous food starters mains desserts all home made other pubs in the area must be feeling worried because i have never been any where like it amazing i will be going back again and again

Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“good food let down by poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

My first time visiting this restaurant a few days ago. The restaurant itself is very warming and inviting. When we arrived we were given a small menu. I remembered online the menu had been bigger than this. I asked if there was another menu to which a received a grunt that was a yes. The young women returned with a few of the other menu. As I opened it she then said ohhh thats the wrong menu and took it away exclaiming someone had mixed up the menus. We were served by a few different waitresses throughout the meal. The food was great, very fresh, and you definitely good value. Unfortunately the miserable waitress would be enough for me not to come back here. She didnt even try to hide how bored and uninterested she was in doing her job.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Saw2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presteigne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Plentiful and very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

When I go out for a meal, which isn't that often anymore, I like to leave feeling like I've actually eaten! So many restaurants these days are going down the 'gourmet' route, and with it, the portions gets increasingly small. leaving you feeling like you need a packet of crisps on the way home. Not so with the Castlefields, where the portions are plentiful, but very reasonably priced.
A large group of us went out and were delighted by the choice of starters and mains. A few couples chose the 'platter for two' - which was delicious, but they struggled to finish as the portions were very generous. Everyone else was pleased with their starters too.
Then came the fantastic main course. Some, with eyes bigger than their belly, decided to have the 12oz burger. Neither managed to finish, despite everyone else coaxing them to do so! :) We felt that there should be a certificate for anyone managing to finish one of these :D Despite not finishing them, they said that they were the best burgers that they had ever tasted.
Only one member of our party managed to completely clear their plate due to the fabulously large portion sizes. However, some of us did manage to find a bit of space to try some of their delicious desserts. We managed to finish those! :) Yum!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RedRox7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Castlefields also viewed

Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Eardisley, Herefordshire
Whitney-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Castlefields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing