We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buffalo Ridge Resort and Business Center
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lantern Motel(Milbank)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
9
10
0
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
10
0
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Who knew this place existed? Apparently my cousins did as this is where they took me to eat dinner. We had attened a prayer service/wake and were famished. (At least I was!). Small towns in S.D. on a Sunday night leaves you with very little options. We arrived about 5 minutes before the grill closed (9PM). As mentioned...I didnt know this place existed since I didn't grow up in the area. They turned the old blind school into an event center/hotel and restaurant. It is a very old brick/stone building with lots of atmosphere and room for potential.
The food was great and so were the prices. We had 3 entrees and 6 or 7 drinks for $83. My compliments to the chef on a great filet! The wait staff was prompt and friendly as well.
I might check out the hotel should I ever need accomidations in the area again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdluvs2shop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Excellent accomodations. Much more quiet than one may expect from such close quarters. Ambiance is lovely. Food in the Bar - Excellent. Service/Staff - Excellent!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasper02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We had made it a point to visit this destination after hearing about how unique it was, but was very disappointed in the dining experience. After sitting a table waiting for a server to come, we ended going up to the bar to get our own beverages. Other couples came in after us and a server brought them menus and we had to wave her down to get one also. Then after getting the salads we are left to eat without silverware. Again, had to seek out utensils to eat with. Usually, waitresses clear your table when you are done eating the salads. Not here, the waitress looked at the table and went up to the bar and visited with the bartender for awhile. Finally, our food arrives, The seafood lasagna was horrible! Fishy tasting and the garlic bread was burnt to the point that it should have been tossed. My husband ordered the basalmic porkchop and it was over-cooked and hard to cut. Overall the dining experience was miserable. Between the poor service and the poor food, I can't say that I would recommend it to anyone, other then to have a tour of the place. It has the potential of being a fabulous place if it was properly managed and staffed. Lori

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Wow what service they have at this place this past weekend. I have been to the Rock Room to eat a couple times before but they must be under new management since we were last there about a month ago. We were greeted by a worker in the front area and told us to see the hostess so we went there. We had a group of people and they said that they didn't have room for us. They had a whole area in the front where we could have sat and drank. They have a huge campus that we can walk around and look at. They never once asked if we would like to grab a drink and walk around or sit in front and have drinks. Both the hostess and waitress had no time for us. It even appeared that a manger was there and he did nothing to accommodate us in staying. We have been there when the owner is there and he would never have allowed what happened to us happen. We will not go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

This is definitely a small town experience and not a typical resort. The staff was super-friendly and brought home-made banana bread to have with your coffee. A lot of investment was made to turn this old school into a hotel and it shows. They have new furniture, free internet and great televisions in each room. There is a great fitness center with racquetball in the basement. They apparently get a lot of training classes here and I’m sure it’s the best place to stay or have a conference for many hours in any direction.

Some questionable things were done during the renovations that make it a different experience; such as a window above the door in each room, there are no closets for hanging up your clothes, there is no desk or place to work in the room. But at least the rooms have comfy chairs. The halls are not carpeted and the rooms have wooden doors that don’t seal well so it might be noisy if there were a lot of guests. However there isn’t any nightlife in Gary during the week so it was dead-quiet once people settled down for the night. All-in-all a nice experience, a little different, but sometimes that’s just fine.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudder80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews