We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No view, no lobster”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
B&B The Yellow Rose
Ranked #1 of 1 Belderrig B&B and Inns
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No view, no lobster”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We booked weeks ahead and even reserved a table for dinner (!!) looking forward to a lovely evening meal with lobster, crab etc. overlooking the sea. Even the lady, on our arrival and on our reply that, "yes, we love sea food" replied that "that's fine because my husband is a fisherman". For dinner we were served mackerel, chips and mushy peas, @ 20 EURO each, for what appeared to be all from packets. Were they fished in the little corner shop? And of course no breath-taking views from our bedrooms overlooking the sea !

Room Tip: Don't always believe what you read in the adverts. Read other peoples comments and decide accord...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Filios S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    0
    2
    5
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Owens Cross Roads,AL
Level Contributor
150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

I'm afraid the only thing going for this house is the sweet, working family and the view. Rooms teeny,but neat and tidy. Could not open my window because cat kept trying to get in. Being far from town, we opted for the dinner- big mistake. Pricey for what we got. If you stay here, ask for the room in front with the sweeping coastal view. Be sure to visit Ceide Fields- the main reason we stayed at the Yellow Rose.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

My Husband and I and our 18month old son were booked in for three nights at this B&B. We arrived very late (around 11pm) after a big day driving. The room was adequate, but overcrowded with beds. The ensuite was little more than a cupboard. The bed was not good. I suspect it was older than I am. At first I thought there was no top sheet, but then discovered that the bed had not been made properly - as it was scrunched at the bottom of the bed on my side and so I think sheets had not been changed from the last guests. Too late to find somewhere else or to make a fuss. Breakfast was greasy and cold, and plates were not so clean. We decided to leave after one night, and paid our fee plus another night good faith for the cancellation. We discovered once we were home that our hosts had also cashed our cheque which we sent as deposit.
Stephen the husband and fisherman is very nice, so it does pain me to write a bad review.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cremona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

Terrible in every respect! First of all Mrs. Eileen welcomed us in a very impersonal way, like a boring routine. The room was so small that we had difficulties to move inside, carpeting was dirty and bed uncomfortable. No hand towels, no key to lock the room! Unfortunately we also had dinner there and it was terrible as well:no crab, no lobster, nor succulent fish, only a tasteless soup followed by a boiled and insipid fillet of unspecified fish, probably caught directly in the freezer! Stay away from this place! It seems that previous reviews are about a different b&b!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Illy67Cremona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, New York, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Miles from the nearest large town, this area in the most northern part of the Connemara region is the home of many ancient legends and folk tales. Ancient civilizations such as those documented at Ceide Fields and also at the Prehistoric Farm Site, a short walk down the road from the Yellow Rose, are steeped in antiquity. It is places like these which make Ireland seem so magical and mysterious. Stephen and Eileen McHale made us feel right at home and even asked a local historian to join us after a fresh fish dinner (caught by Stephen) to talk to us about the area and our familial roots. Will definitely be returning in the future - my husband wants to go fishing with Stephen!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to B&B The Yellow Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B The Yellow Rose

Property: B&B The Yellow Rose
Address: Belderrig, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belderrig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Belderrig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B The Yellow Rose 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your B&B The Yellow Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing