We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, comfortable rooms and kind reception from the owners.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountains To Prairies Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 8 Hill City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

My mother and I recently stayed here for two nights durin our trip to SD. Having never really enjoyed a B&B before, I was pleasantly surprised with all the extra personal touches we experienced. Booking was easy and personable, spoke with Linda and easily arranged the booking. We stayed in the Chessie Lees Peas room which was quite comfortable for the two of us (there is also a loft upstairs with an extra bed, this is an extra fee). The pillowtop queen bed and full bed were just fine. There is a fridge and microwave off in an alcove. A coffee maker is included in the room as well. When hearing that my mom liked decaf, Sam immediately went and ground some up for us. Very responsive.

I like the fact that the room has its own entrance. We were there during a freak April snowstorm and the pellet stove/fire kept us warm and cozy.

Breakfast was large and filling. We were able to request what we wanted in our omelette the night before.

The location was great, within walking distance to downtown Hill City and there is an excellent restaurant next door.

Sam and Linda did everything to make sure we were comfortable. Sam even dug our car out from under the snow for us!

I would highly recommend this B & B!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thtrebuf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2012

I have always done what these other reviewers have done and left perfect reviews, especially when the folks running the place are so "nice", but in honor of future travelling families who operate on a tight budget, I offer an accurate glimpse of OUR experience. After 30 years of B&B's, we left this one feeling unimpressed. The "loft" leaves children sleeping without protection of a door or lock so my husband slept on the childrens bed (which is a cheap air mattress) with one child in bed with me while our other child slept on hard carpet with a sleeping bag (which did not feel fresh). Great for Grandma's house, bad when paying over $200 a night! Window covering was a blanket, and a ceiling fan did not bring much comfort in August. Main room felt like we were sleeping in an antique shop...very crowded. Bed felt small and supportless while motorcycles, semi-trucks AND trains roared from 20-300 feet away. Breakfast was a bit late and unusually awkward. No music playing and no one knew if we should go in and sit or Not. From all the great reviews we expected a hot lumberjack feast but received the light and fit economy breakfast and ended up less than satisfied. The breakfast service was slow and awkward. A few bites of berries...10 minutes...a tiny glass of juice...ten more minutes...a few tiny triangles of french toast...ten minutes...okay, well I guess its time to go. The half hour drive to Mount Rushmore and for the beautiful Black Hills, this odd location at an intersection in town make this place about a four out of ten for us.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Burkmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mountainstoprairies, Owner at Mountains To Prairies Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

Mid-summer 1-nt stay, airjet room dbl, $135; gave military disc., $121.50 (+two kids $10 and $15). We enjoy doing all possible for our guests' needs and wishes. Please visit our comprehensive website.

The above summary in response to this review is expanded below for better understanding of specific concerns. Although we are saddened by the disappointment these guests apparently felt, in view of their first comment we feel it is appropriate to express our confidence in and affirm other reviewers who honestly shared their experience at Mountains To Prairies Bed and Breakfast in a very favorable light. We do indeed take pleasure in providing what we reasonably can to contribute to the happiness of our guests' vacations. To help assure no unpleasant surprises for guests, we describe and picture in detail on our website the various aspects and features of each room, amenities, location, etc. When someone calls us directly from a review site and has not visited our website before booking, the opportunity to develop a thorough advance picture of the room and overall setting may be missed, as may have happened in this case. Mountains To Prairies is not hard to find on the internet, and we are delighted when people who call have already visited our website to satisfy many of their questions prior to calling...but we are always happy to answer any questions by phone or email.

Regarding the loft ('Bear Den' or 'sitting area'), we try to describe that portion of the Bluma Madle Suite in advance, during the reservation process, so far as it seems important for the potential guest. We do know that the air mattress was discussed in this case, as it is not a standard feature of the Bear Den. Though the space is open to the entry foyer below, none of the Bear Den's sleeping and living area is visible to the foyer, as there is a turn in the log stairway. Overnight while the foyer entry door is locked, no one has access to the foyer except us, the management; and these arrangements have been in place for 7 years. The Bear Den is a camp-style experience for children and fleece sleeping bags are provided. These bags (and pillow cases) are always laundered between guests. The sleeping loft is covered with brown shaggy carpet.—We have slept on it without added padding, and we have been tent camping with pads...about the same feeling! The blanket window covering mentioned by the reviewer has always been there and can be seen in photos, such as a photo provided by a reviewer on this site. We chose soft brown down-filled lap throws and had eyelets installed on corners for hanging on hooks. This allows children to easily black out their space, or for play times to remove the throws for creating tents and other fun things. The imagination shown by children over the years has been delightful. The Bear Den is immediately outside the door of the Bluma Madle main room and was designed so children could enjoy a unique rustic-style experience.

Regarding the suite's main room mentioned by the reviewer, where the adults sleep (queen pillowtop bed), antiques are featured, as they are in all three guest rooms. The surfaces of tables and dressers, except for useful items, are kept clutter-free to provide space where guests may place their luggage and spread out comfortably.

Regarding traffic, yes, Mountains To Prairies is along East Main Street. Traffic quiets down overnight, which is when guests are around, and does pick up in the morning, with the 1880 Train whistle usually sounding at around 7:30 a.m. as it pulls out of the station for its first run. Many guests enjoy the nostalgia of the whistle and consider it their wake-up call. The other two guest rooms are quieter, but Bluma Madle is newer construction and well insulated. White sound can also be created via the air conditioner unit.

Regarding the reviewer's breakfast concerns, almost always we have music or birds playing on a cd player prior to calling guests out, but it is certainly possible that this was missed on the one morning these guests were here for breakfast. However, nowhere to our knowledge have we promised music would be playing as an amenity. The meal mentioned would have started out with fresh fruit, individual servings in 8 ounce bowls in this case (heaped berries, bananas, whipped cream). Juice is served in 12 ounce glasses and refills are available, either offered or by request. The french toast plate also held thick bacon and cowboy potatoes. Special beverages from our espresso bar are complimentary with breakfast, either offered or by request.

We appreciate one-on-one suggestions by guests for possible improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

If you are visiting the Black Hills, Mountains to Prairies is like having a cabin in the middle of town; convenient to all the area attractions (Crazy Horse Monument, Custer State Park, Mount Rushmore, etc.) Clean, spacious, comfy cozy. We stayed 3 nights in Chessie Lee’s room which can comfortably accommodate 5 people if you take the loft. It has a small fridge and microwave and the pellet stove was especially appreciated the night it snowed.
Sam and Linda are gracious hosts and Linda’s specialty coffees are great. The sign is a bit hidden from the street so keep your eyes open so you don’t pass up this gem

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seger725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Mountains to Prairies was our first experience in a B & B. Not having anything to compare it to may lead you to believe that we don't have a lot to say. But that's just not true. This was a fantastic experience. The next leisurely trip we make, we will be looking for a B & B just like Mountains to Prairies. We truly believe it is the best B & B in the Black Hills!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We went for 4 nights at the tail end of the busy season and we had a very good time. We had a VERY busy schedule planned since we don't get a lot of vacation time, and Sam & Linda were gracious in helping us with our needs. We also had some compounding issues with our vehicle, and they were able to help recommend somewhere locally to get it fixed.

On to the breakfasts! We really enjoyed each meal, the crown belonging to the made-to-order omelets! Everything was great, finished up by a treat coffee. They were great fuel for our very active and busy days.

Our room was upstairs above the antique store, and we slept well. It was equipped with a refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot as well as TV/DVD/VCR/Dish. Added bonus was the jet-tub. After our long busy days, what a great way to relax and get ready for the next adventure.

Room Tip: Upstairs requires the use of the stairs - if this is a problem, we'd recommend the rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeremyHakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We recently stayed at Mountains to Prairies and thoroughly enjoyed it. Sam and Linda made us feel so comfortable. Sam was very knowledgeable and helpful with his suggestions for dining and sightseeing. Linda cooked a great breakfast and made delicious coffee drinks. Both of them were very nice and we enjoyed our conversations. This B&B was very clean and conveniently located near main attractions and just walking distance to local shops and restaurants. Our daughter loved the bear's den!

Room Tip: If you have kids, make sure to pick the room with the bear's den and use the air mattress on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We chose this B&B based on reviews from Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed. After staying in basic cabins in Yellowstone, we welcomed the cozy, comfortable atmosphere of Mountains to Prairies. Even though our suite was in the main house, we had our own entrance and felt like we were staying in our own luxurious cabin. We were surrounded by antiques and wood paneled walls. We enjoyed our own kitchenette, even though we simply make coffee every morning. The hosts were caring and made us feel at home. The location right in Hill City was perfect. After a long day of sightseeing, we parked the car and walked to dinner. Desperados was our favorite restaurant with Alpine Inn coming in a close second. A nice feature was the ability to opt out of breakfast if we chose, allowing us to get any early start. We did enjoy one of Linda's wonderful breakfasts which kept us satisfied most of the day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
3.7 mi away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harney Peak Inn
Harney Peak Inn
#1 of 8 in Hill City
73 reviews
3.5 mi away
Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Trails End Cabins & Motel
Trails End Cabins & Motel
#3 of 13 in Hill City
92 reviews
7.4 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 13 in Keystone
961 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lantern Inn
Lantern Inn
#2 of 8 in Hill City
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountains To Prairies Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountains To Prairies Bed and Breakfast

Address: 200 East Main Street, PO Box 765, Hill City, SD 57745
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Hill City
Price Range: £64 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in hills, near scenic drives, mountain lakes, wilderness, caves. Walk to historic downtown. Log-accented suite has 'bear den' for children. Pine-wrapped suite with loft sleeps up to five, and cabin-style suite with kitchenette sleeps three; personal entrances. All three provide queen pillowtop beds, satellite hdtv/dvd/vcr, wireless internet, refrigerator, microwave, ac, smoke/pet free. Inhouse antiques shop and espresso bar. Make M2P your starting point, and your relaxing place. Discounts available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing