We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Hot Continental Breakfast!”

Golden Spike Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 30 Restaurants in Hill City
Restaurant details
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Had waffles, ham or sausages, cinnamon bread, biscuits and gravy, etc for breakfast!!! Clean and comfortable rooms, nice pool, pleasant staff.

Thank Annette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Golden Spike Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel as well as the amenities provided. Hill City is a wonderful location and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your vacation here. We hope that you will choose to stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

We were staying at the Golden Spike, and decided to eat here one night and order pizza on another night. The first night, we ordered hamburgers, pancakes & a taco salad. All were very good, but there was no whipped cream on the pancakes (like the menu said) and service was very slow. Our waitress was very good and friendly, but seemed a little flustered since she was the only one on duty and there were about 8 tables of people. It took a long time for our food to get to our table.The night we ordered pizza from the room, but asked them if it was ok if we ordered ahead then came and ate it in the restaurant. The man that took our order said that was fine. When we got to the restaurant and told the host this, he was very flustered by this and seemed a little upset at us that we did this. He plunked us down at a table and brought water. The next time we saw him, he brought our pizza out. Neither he nor the waiter on duty visited our table again. I guess we were not supposed to do that and we had to be satisfied with water to drink! It made it hard for us to tip--didn't really have any service except that they would have to clean the table off, so we gave a small tip. The pizza was very slow coming to us, even though we ordered ahead, but it was very tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kristeen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We ate at this restaurant several times and the food was always very delicious and very reasonably priced!

1  Thank Dwana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We ate breakfast here three days and it was good. We decided to try it one night for dinner and it was awful. I had a steak sandwich which was served as a very tough steak on some Texas toast. It was supposed to have sauteed onions and peppers with it, which the server brought out when I pointed out the discrepancy. He also gave me half off of the sandwich, which was nice. I wouldn't eat here for anything other than breakfast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Golden Spike Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about the restaurant. We are sorry that you had a bad experience. We value your thoughts and comments and will use them to improve. We hope that you will consider coming back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We were staying here for 4 nights and on the night we arrived we were rather late so opted to eat in the restaurant rather than venturing into the town. The "specials" had finished but we had an okay meal and the service was reasonable although we had to keep reminding the waiter what we wanted.

The free breakfasts were very good - just hate to see the wastage from everyone! We were brought up to take only what we could eat.

Thank GillyB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Spike Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Golden Spike Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing