We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“service was horrible”

Golden Spike Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 28 Restaurants in Hill City
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
245 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“service was horrible”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Just another bad dining experience in Hill City. Our waitress seemed amiable and she gave us more time to decide on our meals. The food was good, a California turkey BLT, and a French dip, and that's where it ends. She never came back again to check on our meals or drinks. We waited forever for her to finally show up with our check even tho' the hostess knew we were done for quite some time. She just stood there and grinned like the Cheshire Cat. Just another place we won't eat at again in Hill City.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    17
    22
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Mankato, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Great Food and Hot Continental Breakfast!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Had waffles, ham or sausages, cinnamon bread, biscuits and gravy, etc for breakfast!!! Clean and comfortable rooms, nice pool, pleasant staff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Golden Spike Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel as well as the amenities provided. Hill City is a wonderful location and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your vacation here. We hope that you will choose to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty good food, slow service”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We were staying at the Golden Spike, and decided to eat here one night and order pizza on another night. The first night, we ordered hamburgers, pancakes & a taco salad. All were very good, but there was no whipped cream on the pancakes (like the menu said) and service was very slow. Our waitress was very good and friendly, but seemed a little flustered since she was the only one on duty and there were about 8 tables of people. It took a long time for our food to get to our table.The night we ordered pizza from the room, but asked them if it was ok if we ordered ahead then came and ate it in the restaurant. The man that took our order said that was fine. When we got to the restaurant and told the host this, he was very flustered by this and seemed a little upset at us that we did this. He plunked us down at a table and brought water. The next time we saw him, he brought our pizza out. Neither he nor the waiter on duty visited our table again. I guess we were not supposed to do that and we had to be satisfied with water to drink! It made it hard for us to tip--didn't really have any service except that they would have to clean the table off, so we gave a small tip. The pizza was very slow coming to us, even though we ordered ahead, but it was very tasty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristeen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Island, Nebraska, Usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We ate at this restaurant several times and the food was always very delicious and very reasonably priced!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“This was pretty bad for dinner, good for breakfast.”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We ate breakfast here three days and it was good. We decided to try it one night for dinner and it was awful. I had a steak sandwich which was served as a very tough steak on some Texas toast. It was supposed to have sauteed onions and peppers with it, which the server brought out when I pointed out the discrepancy. He also gave me half off of the sandwich, which was nice. I wouldn't eat here for anything other than breakfast.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, General Manager at Golden Spike Restaurant, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about the restaurant. We are sorry that you had a bad experience. We value your thoughts and comments and will use them to improve. We hope that you will consider coming back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Spike Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Golden Spike Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing