We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First trip to the Black Hills” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Janssen's Lodestone Motel & Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Janssen's Lodestone Motel & Cabins
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Flowood, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First trip to the Black Hills”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We made our first trip to the Black Hills of SD in June 2014. We took the advice of many and tried to find accommodations in the Black Hills rather than staying in Rapid City or the surrounding areas. Good recommendation. The Lodestone could not be more centrally located with easy access to all the attractions. Cabin number four was just as advertised. It was clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy, but suited our needs perfectly, especially for the price. The staff was friendly and helpful in planning our travels around the area. Would defintely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMT1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    13
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
31
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

The couple who own this resort were very friendly and accommodating. The cabins were beautiful and reasonably priced. It was centrally located between any activity you would want to do. There is a nice creek area out back. The cabin had a TV with a DVD player and satalite tv; however I can't say anything about that we have a no TV rule on vacation. I can't wait to return next year. What an amazing place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This cabin was cozy and clean. We were located right in the heart of the Black Hills. Only a mile and half from Hill City. Quick drive to Mount Rushmore, 1880 Train ride, Custer State Park and many other attractions. This is a mom and pop operation. Our room had two queen beds, sofa, easy chair, nice shower area, and a kitchenette. To top it all off we had a gas grill right outside our front door. This is a way to save money on meals too. Anything we needed the owners were of assistance. Would stay again and recommend this cabin to others. I was most impressed with how clean everything was and the price.

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness center. However, we had HD Dish TV and WIFI. All the cabins are close by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mavis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This place was great, Called when we arrived late in the evening and they were just happy little campers to have us over. Nice puppy too. Wish we could have stayed longer it was so cute and relaxing there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilypad1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

The accomadations were really quite excellent comfortable and clean. One bedroom was to the back where my two grandson slept (10 & 12) and I was to the front with the bathroom in between including the kitchen. The owners were the friendliest folks in every way ready to be of assistance when ever necessary. My grandsons just loved having fellowship with their grandson and watching television at their home and exploring all over the place. We would look forward to staying at the Lodestone Motel as our home base for seeing all the sights around about and they were very reasonable and it was perfect for us.

Room Tip: The rooms may be a little different one from the other and would suggest checking it out that it has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Easter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennox, South Dakota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The room was nice enough for the original price and for the age of the hotel. The full kitchen is nice to have. But... I made the reservation with Mrs. Janssen for 2 people and a well behaved dog - a 55 lb. lab. I checked in with Mrs. Janssen. We walked our dog around the grounds, down to the creek, and had her out on our porch with us much of the eve. Then in the morning Mr. Janssen whom I hadn't seen yet, rudely told me he didn't know we had a dog, that I owed them another $15 plus any damages (there were none), and that most places charge $100 extra for a dog. He also said they have a tiny dog because they camp and "no campground anywhere will allow a dog over 20 lbs.". Ridiculous. I tried to tell him I made the res. stating we had a dog but he was rude, wouldn't let me finish a sentence, and told me his wife is confused. It wasn't worth arguing. I threw him $15 and left, never to return.

Room Tip: Mr. Janssen was rude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winter076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our cabin #1 was great. I loved parking the Goldwing right out front nearly on the porch. We had to park the jeep and trailer off to the side about 75 yards away but that's OK. Tom said nobody would mess with them and they didn't. It was cozy inside the cabin with two double beds in the front/main room. The couch was under the flat screen TV hanging in the wall corner so it wasn't easy to watch TV from the couch - you kinda had to sit on a bed to watch it. No biggie as we didn't watch TV much. Nice little kitchen with stove, microwave and full sized fridge. All pots, pans, dishes, cups, etc, etc. Nice bathroom with shower stall. Portable heater provided in the bathroom worked for a little while then quit. Tom and Cecelia are really nice folks. Their dog Spunky is pretty friendly and visited often. Tom is a bike rider and builder from way back and can tell you lots about rides you may be considering. A MUCH better value than the place we stayed the first night - very basic and the same price.

Room Tip: If you're only a couple, you might see if a cabin has only one bed so you'll have more room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hill City hotels
1.8 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
4.7 mi away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#10 of 12 in Hill City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Janssen's Lodestone Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Janssen's Lodestone Motel & Cabins

Property: Janssen's Lodestone Motel & Cabins
Address: 23884 Highway 385, Hill City, SD 57745-6517
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
#5 Family Hotel in Hill City
Number of rooms: 155
Also Known As:
Janssen`s Lodestone Motel And Cabins
Janssen`s Lodestone Motel & Cabins Hotel Hill City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing