We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Janssen's Lodestone Motel & Cabins
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Stayed in the Motel Cabin- small but very functional with its kitchen. the property is very well cared for and Mr. and Mrs. Janssen are very hospitable. The price is well below any other place. We traveled with my family and parents and everyone was quite happy with the humble accommodations. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Make every effort to arrive with daylight, because if you are coming by way of Rapid City you approa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oscar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed for the first time in August and couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The owner is very friendly and even offer to help unload our bikes off the trailer when we arrived. The place is quiet and cozy.
We liked our cabin and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our hosts were more than accommodating. The cabins are perfect, clean and well stocked and reasonably priced. The location could not have been more perfect for our first trip to South Dakota. Everything we wanted to do in the entire area was close by and easily accessible. The creek area behind the cabins is a great bonus area. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: all cabins and rooms are on ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladeane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Looking for a comfortable place to stay centrally located where you can spend the day exploring Custer State Park, riding the Needles Highway, visiting Mount Rushmore, playing in the Black Hills National Forest or enjoying the Indian Museum North America at Crazy Horse Memorial? This is it because all of these things are within a 10 - 15 mile radius! The cabin and motel are perfect for folks who want to enjoy all the beauty of the Black Hills, plus it's approximately an hour or so from other South Dakota must see's: Deadwood, Sturgis, Spearfish Canyon, and Rapid City. Rustic cabins are clean, have comfy beds and are perfect for those who want to make a few meals while traveling. Helpful owners are on site and pleasant. Come sit a spell on the porch, cook a burger on the grill, or watch for big horn sheep or other wildlife down by the creek. A very relaxing place to stay!

Room Tip: Cabins are charmingly rustic...have their own kitchen, plus a grill on the porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank FredaNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We made our first trip to the Black Hills of SD in June 2014. We took the advice of many and tried to find accommodations in the Black Hills rather than staying in Rapid City or the surrounding areas. Good recommendation. The Lodestone could not be more centrally located with easy access to all the attractions. Cabin number four was just as advertised. It was clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy, but suited our needs perfectly, especially for the price. The staff was friendly and helpful in planning our travels around the area. Would defintely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JMT1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

The couple who own this resort were very friendly and accommodating. The cabins were beautiful and reasonably priced. It was centrally located between any activity you would want to do. There is a nice creek area out back. The cabin had a TV with a DVD player and satalite tv; however I can't say anything about that we have a no TV rule on vacation. I can't wait to return next year. What an amazing place.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This cabin was cozy and clean. We were located right in the heart of the Black Hills. Only a mile and half from Hill City. Quick drive to Mount Rushmore, 1880 Train ride, Custer State Park and many other attractions. This is a mom and pop operation. Our room had two queen beds, sofa, easy chair, nice shower area, and a kitchenette. To top it all off we had a gas grill right outside our front door. This is a way to save money on meals too. Anything we needed the owners were of assistance. Would stay again and recommend this cabin to others. I was most impressed with how clean everything was and the price.

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness center. However, we had HD Dish TV and WIFI. All the cabins are close by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mavis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hill City hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
1.8 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
128 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
4.6 mi away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#10 of 12 in Hill City
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Janssen's Lodestone Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Janssen's Lodestone Motel & Cabins

Address: 23884 Highway 385, Hill City, SD 57745-6517
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
#5 Family Hotel in Hill City
Number of rooms: 155
Also Known As:
Janssen`s Lodestone Motel & Cabins Hotel Hill City
Janssen`s Lodestone Motel And Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing