We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ducked in to avoid the rain - a lucky break!”

Prairie Berry Winery
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Experience our award-winning wines in a fun and relaxed setting in the heart of the Black Hills. Find us three miles northwest of Hill City on Highway 385, just a few miles from Mount Rushmore National Memorial and Crazy Horse Memorial. We’re Hill City’s only working winery and Sandi Vojta, our fifth generation winemaker, handcrafts each wine, often using old family recipes, just a few steps from our Tasting Room. Start your Prairie Berry Winery experience with a free wine tasting of up to five of our award-winning wines, including our Anna Pesä handcrafted traditional European wines, at our Tasting Bars. We produce a variety of wines in styles for every palate – from crisp, dry wines and robust, oak-aged reds to sweet, fruity varieties. Our Kitchen offers housemade menu items including gluten-free, vegetarian and kids’ options. Menu selections pair perfectly with our wines, vary with the season and many of our ingredients are sourced locally. Enjoy a meal on our patio with our beautiful views of Black Elk Peak (formerly Harney Peak). Our brewery, Miner Brewing Company, is located next door.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ducked in to avoid the rain - a lucky break!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Wine fans should definitely make a point of visiting Prairie Berry while in the Keystone area. We each were able to select up to five wines to sample, and our server was very friendly and knowledgeable about each one. Don't miss the Red A** Rhubarb!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jpwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    143
    26
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
custer s dakota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“More”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

What's not to like . Great food .Great wine . Only thing would be . More wine .More beer . More food . A must stop in the black hills . Enjoy the great dessert .

Helpful?
1 Thank sauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sweet Wine Lovers”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was a nice stop to visit as we traveled through Hill City. The staff was very friendly and helpful. A wine tasting for 5 of our personally selected choices was offered free of charge. This was a pleasant surprise. But unfortunately, we were not particularly partial to any of the wines. If you like sweet or dessert wines you'll like the selection of wines available here. Coming from Virginia, we have many wineries and great wine to choose from. South Dakota....not so much. But appreciate the fact that this winery is trying and pulling in native ingredients to their wines like rhubarb and choke cherries. These items just require a ton (literally) of sugar to offset the tartness. Many wines tasted like fruit juice. There are some small food plates available to order at a walk up cashier, but the kitchen closes at 7:30pm. It took over 40 minutes to receive our order of chips and guacamole and a caprese salad.
It seems this place has good intentions, but still trying to work the kinks out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanin03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wentworth, South Dakota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This brewmaster has the family recipes”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Started back in the late 1800's you are tasting wines from family recipes with a direct link to the brewmaster. She has a taste for the berries. Since grapes weren't real plentiful in the Black Hills, you are tasting all the natural fruits, rhurbarb, raspberries, elderberries, chokecherries, if you know the plants of the Black Hills, they have fermented them. But they also are very good with the grape wines. Have just started a great wine club, so getting 20% OFF your purchases is great, And the quarterly club gives you the opportunity to have a couple extra cases sent to you for that $12.00 shipping of their select wines. Their tasting room is nicely done, gift shop has wonderful items, and the kitchen puts out great food. Thanks to Dawn for a great explanation of our wine selections.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ramon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Plata, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little wine taste and lunch”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

After our 2.5 hour train ride we went to lunch and a wine taste at Prairie Berry Winery. We ate lunch first which was fabulous. We ordered many different items so all 6 of us could share. We ordered a chicken/bacon pizza which came out on a bread that was terrific. We ordered a muffelata (New Orleans Style Italian Sandwich) which was very good but different from Central Market in New Orleans. The chicken salad sandwich was great. The turkey and cheese was good also. The best thing was the desert. They had a lemony style cream with strawberries with a layer of balsamic vinagerette ( I loved this). Then we went and tried their different wines. Like wine tasing goes it depends on what you like, but we found some wines we really liked and had a case shipped home.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dominic Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Prairie Berry Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing