We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing place to stay”
Review of Spring Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spring Creek Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Hill City B&B and Inns
Colonsay, Canada
2 reviews
“Very relaxing place to stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Our family stayed in a cabin and hotel room, we were very happy with how clean they both were. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The location was great. We would most definitely stay there again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    18
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
22
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Itasca, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here over the 4th of july and we were happy with our stay at the Spring creek inn, next time we visit the black hills we will stay there again. The inn is a little ways out of town but close enough to walk to. We really like staying in Hill city because it has that old west feel to it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SRX440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas, USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This place is exactly what you would expect at a nice country motel. Even though it is small, it still offered a little more than we were hoping for. A sweet little playground out back with a jungle gym, merry go round, basketball court, horseshoe pits. Lots of space to run. Perfect for any size family with kids. The breakfast left something to be desired, as well as the very hard beds, but it was clean and very well-maintained. Great value for the cost. :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Krissy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The nice yard behind the motel/cabins leads to Spring Creek. The lawn was mowed nice and they offer a small concrete pad with basketball goal, volleyball court, merry-go-round, and other kids equipment near creek. They also have outdoor fireplace with seating around it in the shade that offered a very nice rest for weary travelers. The owner was very friendly and very helpful. Although a group of construction workers were staying there and a couple vans full of young people, and they were a bit noisy late at night, we truly enjoyed the stay. The tiny TV was hilarious to us as our computer screens at home are bigger, however, all in all, a great place to stay, relax, take pictures, and enjoy the beautiful outdoors in South Dakota. Very close to Hill City and Mt. Rushmore and hotels in that area are quite high so this is a great value considering.

Room Tip: If traveling with family, consider one of the cabins as they offer small family cabins or two story...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Close to Mt. Rushmore yet away from crowds. Super friendly staff. Easy drive to Rushmore. Arrived and got settled before evening ceremony at monument. Quiet, clean, good TV and great shower. All we needed for $93.89.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Our hunting party has stayed here several times while deer hunting and the owner is always very accommodating. They are right in the middle of deer country. They are close to the ski and snowmobile area. In the summer there are many back roads and trails to hike. Hill City is about 2 miles away. Spring Creek Inn is right off the highway. This is where I stay when I need a place in the Black Hills.

Room Tip: They have a larger stand alone cabin that has 2 separate bedrooms, full kitchen, a small dining room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We drove in to town without a reservation not knowing about all of the weekend's events in and around Hill City and Custer State Park. We tried another place and they were full. They were kind enough to call Spring Creek for us and we were in. Our room was spacious with a nice bathroom and a refrigerator. The place is peaceful and the grounds behind the inn suggest relaxation plus.
We met some great "bikers" from Iowa and enjoyed the evenings with them due to the arrangement of the rooms.
We had only planned to stay one night but liked the place and area so much we stayed another night.
Rates are the best and the owners are really helpful and friendly.
Would stay here again for above reasons and the proximity to Custer and Mt. Rushmore.
We tried Keystone before Hill City and could not get out fast enough. Too touristy. Hill City is the ticket,

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank outdoorgirlnj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
2.6 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
188 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
42 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
7.3 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Creek Inn

Property: Spring Creek Inn
Address: 23900 Highway 385, Hill City, SD 57745-6516
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Spring Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Spring Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing