We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
United States
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The Lodge at Plamer Gulch is an ok place but nothing fancy here. You can tell the place caters more toward the campers (Plamer Gulch is also a KOA campground), but if I wanted to camp I would not have picked the "Lodge". The "Lodge" seemed to be a manufactured type of structure with wood siding making it 'appear' to be a wood structure. The main picture you see everywhere (with the huge bear) is probably the only thing going for it. It is also kinda out of the way if you are more into sight seeing or touring the neat little towns in the area. Make sure you have your own internet unless perhaps the lady at the front desk finally figured out how to use their wi-fi. We called the desk and even went there face to face but she just gave us a piece of paper on how to use the wi-fi, which was pretty worthless. You could tell she had no idea how it worked and didn't seem very interested in finding out. The room was clean and ok, but we were only there to sleep since (not being campers) there is nothing else to do at the "Lodge". I am torn between the poor rating and average rating --- so I will go with poor and 1/2, as there were many other places to stay in the area that seemed to have been a better pick.....but you just don't know until you get there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank therealremzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    59
    43
    28
    15
See reviews for
115
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This was our 1st time staying here at the lodge and I don't think we will return. The lodge is not very clean, the sheets and blankets on the bed are stained and have holes. Towels are worn and frayed. the rooms can use some updating. disappointing because of the price to stay here. The fun zone for kids was good except pool was green, and mini golf needs to be fixed up. There is a lot to do for kids but they should consider fixing things up and making it nicer. The ponderosa restaurant was ok, they turned away many customers because they didn't have enough staff and our waitress was very busy taking care of many tables by herself. The turtle town food was also not very good...while it is convienent the pizza was not good and nachos were chips with a big glob of cheese on top...this place is very big and I think has a lot of potential to be better.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAQ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed in the lodge the third week of June and had a great time. We had never visited the area before and were overwhelmed by the amount of lodging choices. Palmer Gulch is close to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, and Custer State Park. It is off to itself, not in a little town area. While there we found out this is the 2nd largest KOA in the country. Staying in the lodge was nice (outdated, sure, but definitely clean, comfortable, and spacious). Our kids enjoyed the basketball court, jumping pillow, pool, and water play areas. It didn't feel like it was as crowded as it was. The college age staff were hit-or-miss. Some were awesome, and some were awful. Loved having the Black Hills right outside of our room and an awesome view of Harney Peak. The place was definitely not perfect, but we loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveFerns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayzata, Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

In that no one in our family had ever visited South Dakota, we were all looking forward to our 4th of July (10 day) vacation at The Lodge at Palmer Gulch RV Park. The first day, I took a shower in the (filthy) shower house. The water was so poor and brown that my bangs that I had been growing for 6 months broke off 3 inches. I have my hair colored with blonde highlights and it turned brown with just one washing. The pool was murky and GREEN and the water slide was dirty. After reserving a full hook-up site, we were unable to get one until day 7 (of 10). That meant washing in the shower, driving to the dump site and filling our rig's water tank. We were forced to purchase a $50 filter for the water supply and a $99 filter for our rig's shower. We were in an area with tent and/or pop-up campers until day 7. The folks across the street from us (after moving) had 3 dogs with them, including a pit bull. The owner laughed when he told us that their dog had gotten loose and "rolled" another dog that was on a leash, walking by their campsite. Someone stole the yellow rings that went to a brand new game of lawn darts. I could go on an on. Oh, forget having WIFI. You will NOT get it at Palmer Gulch and will have to drive into town to get any sort of a cell or WIFI signal. I sincerely don't want to be negative. But, it is what it is. They offered no type of apology when we asked about all of the above. I heard the Rafter J was great. We'll go there next time.

Room Tip: We traveled in our motorhome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hill City hotels

Lennox, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My family and I are on our way home right now from our annual vacation. We stay at the campground every year. This year was so disappointing! First thing when we get there we got jumped by the older lady that's in charge of where everyone should park their campers while they check in. Holy crap apparently she is not having a good season. After we get to our spot we realize quit fast that the pool is disgusting. Completely green. Went to the main house to find out what their plan was for the pool. Immediately played dumb. Then tried to explain to me that their iron levels are high and when mixed with the chemicals it turns green. After I explained to her that this our fourth year and its never been that way before she said that the guys were working on it. Not so. The water slide was brown from mud. Garbage cans were always over flowing. Showers and bathrooms were always disgusting. Restaurant told us they could not seat us for thirty min because the kitchen was too small to cook for as much seating as they had available. Must have shrunk from last year. Staff was extremely rude this year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

As usual, Palmer Gulch was fantastic with the exception of the bartender at the lounge. She was sullen aand obsessed with the arrangement of the chairs. Never mind that there were customers waiting or diert glasses on the tables. The chairs had to be exactly placed at tables in their proper position, four chairs to a table pelase. Sorry, she never said please. And when our kids ate pizza on the terrace while we had cocktails, we were told that we were committing a "misterdemenor". Needs to be replaced.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan6365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The pools were green, bugs, floating black things and hair in the pool. The color of the pool was green and cloudy. My kids didn't want to get in the water. Other people were also complaining and the water slide water was just as gross. This was the 4th of July weekend so the pool should be awesome knowing their park would be full. My kids were quite sad. The pool should have been crystal, beautiful blue. We have stayed there before and the pool was great.

Also, the Lodge (hotel style) allows pets. There were people walking around with giant dogs. I could hear the dogs barking. One lady, who had a dog, was in the hall telling her husband that their dog had such bad fleas. Really? I feel for the people who get that room next. Pets are not needed in a hotel. Nasty.

Room Tip: Probably pass on the lodge. Not great, needs updating badly, not super clean. Call ahead and find ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Legokingpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
3.4 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
2.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Hill City
90 reviews
5.7 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
282 reviews
6.6 mi away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#10 of 12 in Hill City
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Palmer Gulch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Palmer Gulch

Property: Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Address: 12620 Highway 244, Hill City, SD 57745-8902
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Lodge at Palmer Gulch 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether exploring the spectacular views of Mount Rushmore National Park, hiking through Custer State Park, climbing Harney Peak, or enjoying the day at Sylvan Lake, the Lodge at Palmer Gulch mixes the adventure and relaxation of the outdoors with the convenience of resort style accommodations:∙ 62 lodge rooms∙ 20 full-service private cabins∙ 10 row cabin duplex rooms∙ 6 executive lodges∙ 3 meeting facilities. We also offer fine dining, shopping, and family friendly itineraries! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lodge at Palmer Gulch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Palmer Gulch Hotel Hill City
Hotel At Palmer Gulch
At Palmer Gulch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing