We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Suffern
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Pleased”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I stayed at the Lodge in August of 2013. The room was always cleaned and made up. In the morning there was coffee and rolls/bagels. It is right down the road from Mt. Rushmore, close to Crazy Horse.
The onsite restaurant, The Pondorosa, has great comfort food. I loved the Buffalo meatloaf. The Pub was a great place to relax and meet people. The ice cream shop was very good.
I paid $134 per night.
I was very pleased. I would return.

Room Tip: I stayed in The lodge. Not the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffernDebanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    55
    41
    26
    15
See reviews for
109
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shakopee,MN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Lodge at Palmer Gulch twice. In August 2012 and just last week. We love the location of his resort. Close to many local attractions.
Rooms: Last year we stayed in Presidential Suite. It was a nice room with a fireplace,couch, a small kitchen area. The rooms are ends of the building. They do not have a nice view and our room had a lot of noise from the parking lot. This year we had a king premier room. It was on the third floor and not facing the parking lot. We had a beautiful view from our balcony. The room was quiet and had lots of room. We missed having a refrigerator.
Food: We tried the restaraunt and did not enjoy our meal. We had to wait to get in, the service was slow and the food was not that good. There are many good places to eat in Hill City and Keystone.
We did not use any of the activities.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kapond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed here for three nights with our grandson, but found that we actually spent little time enjoying the facilities -- we spent most of our time enjoying the other attractions the area offered -- Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Bear Country USA, Reptile Gardens -- and the location was just about perfect to get to these spots. The facility also has camping and cabins, but we elected to stay at the lodge thinking it would be a little more comfortable. The room was large and had a microwave and refrigerator, but the pull-out couch was so uncomfortable that our grandson simply slept on top of the couch. Our king-size bed was okay, but all the linens were tired and worn out, We could have used more pillows (but didn't ask). Broken furniture that we reported was never fixed during our stay. The rooms look better on the website then ours actually was, so I was a little disappointed.

I'm not sure it was worth the expense, especially given that all we did was sleep there. If you have time to take advantage of what the resort has to offer, especially for kids, then I think you might enjoy it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ekaterina48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed in cabin 19. It was very roomy and rustic. Just what we were looking for. Very nice view and pretty quit up there on the hill. If ur looking for modern don't waste ur time this is a rustic place with 3 bedrooms and sleeps 10. This was r first visit to the resort and I think we will be back hopefully next year. So much to do if u have kids. I loved just sitting by the pool watching the kids swim. We also enjoyed making the tie die shirts we must of made 10 of them. It's a good value at only 5 dollars each. Only drawback was the mountain water it smells like metal. But we wouldn't change a thing. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tz2272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sauk Centre, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed in a cabin and it had a pungent odor, was not clean and very dark inside. The linens smelled and were very tinted from the low water quality. It was a busy little city and not much of a "get away" besides the fact there was no cell phone reception or reliable wifi signal. Our kids enjoyed the fun zone, but we will not return or recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013jrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hill City hotels

United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

The Lodge at Plamer Gulch is an ok place but nothing fancy here. You can tell the place caters more toward the campers (Plamer Gulch is also a KOA campground), but if I wanted to camp I would not have picked the "Lodge". The "Lodge" seemed to be a manufactured type of structure with wood siding making it 'appear' to be a wood structure. The main picture you see everywhere (with the huge bear) is probably the only thing going for it. It is also kinda out of the way if you are more into sight seeing or touring the neat little towns in the area. Make sure you have your own internet unless perhaps the lady at the front desk finally figured out how to use their wi-fi. We called the desk and even went there face to face but she just gave us a piece of paper on how to use the wi-fi, which was pretty worthless. You could tell she had no idea how it worked and didn't seem very interested in finding out. The room was clean and ok, but we were only there to sleep since (not being campers) there is nothing else to do at the "Lodge". I am torn between the poor rating and average rating --- so I will go with poor and 1/2, as there were many other places to stay in the area that seemed to have been a better pick.....but you just don't know until you get there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank therealremzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

This was our 1st time staying here at the lodge and I don't think we will return. The lodge is not very clean, the sheets and blankets on the bed are stained and have holes. Towels are worn and frayed. the rooms can use some updating. disappointing because of the price to stay here. The fun zone for kids was good except pool was green, and mini golf needs to be fixed up. There is a lot to do for kids but they should consider fixing things up and making it nicer. The ponderosa restaurant was ok, they turned away many customers because they didn't have enough staff and our waitress was very busy taking care of many tables by herself. The turtle town food was also not very good...while it is convienent the pizza was not good and nachos were chips with a big glob of cheese on top...this place is very big and I think has a lot of potential to be better.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAQ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
3.4 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
5.7 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Palmer Gulch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Palmer Gulch

Property: Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Address: 12620 Highway 244, Hill City, SD 57745-8902
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lodge at Palmer Gulch 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether exploring the spectacular views of Mount Rushmore National Park, hiking through Custer State Park, climbing Harney Peak, or enjoying the day at Sylvan Lake, the Lodge at Palmer Gulch mixes the adventure and relaxation of the outdoors with the convenience of resort style accommodations:∙ 62 lodge rooms∙ 20 full-service private cabins∙ 10 row cabin duplex rooms∙ 6 executive lodges∙ 3 meeting facilities. We also offer fine dining, shopping, and family friendly itineraries! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Lodge at Palmer Gulch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Palmer Gulch Hotel Hill City
Hotel At Palmer Gulch
At Palmer Gulch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing