We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location adequate accommodations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location adequate accommodations.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I can't imagine a better location to be in when visiting the Black Hills! Only 10-15 minutes to Mt. Rushmore, Custer, Crazy Horse and surrounding areas. Hiking a plenty for all levels and ages available. However, the cleanliness of the cabins was disappointing since we paid $1400 for our 5 night stay. As you can see in other reviews the wifi is non-existent. That was frustrating not because we needed to be on our devices for entertainment purposes but to do research on our stay. Don't plan on it whatsoever. We had kids in the 10-13 age range and for the most part they enjoyed the campground amenities. The small water slide pool water was gross according to the kids, which really says something if kids say that. We had a huge grassy area where the kids could run around, play catch, and climb the huge rocks out there. Our favorite activity was horseback riding. It was well worth the money for the 90 minute trail ride with Liz and Liz! Our guides made sure everyone was safe, well-informed about the horses and the landscape, and great with the kids. Ceiling fans inside the cabin would've made a huge difference in our comfort level. The one on our porch was nice to keep us cool when eating out there and kept the flies away too. The cabins have the very basic kitchen tools and dishes. They also provide some bar soap but you may want to bring your own. We also ended up using a washcloth to dry our dishes because the kitchen towel provided didn't absorb a drop of water. All in all you can't beat the location but knowing what we know I'm not sure if we'd stay there again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    59
    43
    28
    15
See reviews for
115
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My family and I stayed here for approximately a week while in the area,and I tried to like it but I just didn't. The lodge itself was really warm and stuffy, and the people were not the friendliest. We actually were in the wrong place to check in at first and the young ladies who were working behind the desk were very busy talking to each other with their backs turned to the guests, and then when we did manage to get their attention, the one was popping and cracking her gum the whole time she was explaining where I had to be. Not a good first impression for me. The people at the Lodge were better and we got to our room even though it was a little before check in time. The room itself was fine, we weren't going to be in the room that much, and the balcony was a nice surprise. We had 2 big problems with the room. The first one was the bathroom/sink area was not cleaned our whole stay, nor was the room vacuumed. The crumbs from chips the first day stayed there the whole time. I don't mind if the bed linens stay, but I expect the rest of the room to be cleaned. The second one was the brown water. The employees explained that it was safe and that it was some mineral, but it was just kind of off putting. The amenities were OK. The front pool was a little cleaner than the back one, but the water slide water was horrible! My kids went down once and said that was enough because it was so dirty. The chuckwagon dinner was nice, there is horseback riding if you can arrange it, there is little cell phone service which was fine with me. The food on the property was a little expensive for the quality, but it was convenient. I would say not to get the slice of pizza at the little cafe, mine tasted like the smell when cheese burns in the oven. For the price of the room, I expected more and it just did not deliver. I would not stay in the lodge again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the campground. They have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hill City hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oakdale, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We definitely overpaid for a room in the lodge. It (room 101) needs a bit of "freshening" up. There wasn't a screen door our patio so all the bugs came in. Also a couple of questionable black specks on mattress. Nothing bit us though, except mosquitos due to no screen door. We actually kept our suitcases in our rental car. We don't consider a ground level pine tree and a car road as a "view" so make sure if you are looking for a room with a view you actually get a view. The grounds, which we paid an extra $10 a day for on our bill, were nice. Good for RV/tent/motorhome. Don't stay here if you are just looking for a hotel room in the MT Rushmore area.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not on level 1 if you want any kind of view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourist33878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was one of the most enjoyable things we did on our vacation. From the wagon ride into the woods to the meadow where we had dinner, the entertainment while dinner was being cooked and the actual dinner it was wonderful. The entire staff was very accomodating and gracious. The food was great and large portions, even seconds if you wanted. A must see A plus plus. I f we ever come back that way I would make a point of doing this again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disneyfan1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at the Lodge in October 2013 during the snow storm. The power went out. We were told to contact management for a refund for October 5 and 6. We have repeatedly tried to contact management and they have just ignored our emails.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIncoln, NE
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had a lovely 4 night stay at Palmer Gulch. We stayed in executive Lodge 30. We had 8 people, 4 kids, 4 adults. The highlight was our own hot tub on the very large deck. The amenities at the whole park were very family friendly. We had a few housekeeping problems but the office had maintenance men to us right away. They could use a new door mat at this cabin as it was a mess to walk on. However we did not bring that to their attention and I'm sure would have taken care of it had we asked. Wood was delivered to us for the fire pit and overall we would stay again. Now for my main warning it you do stay here. There is virtually no cellular service and the hot spots the advertisement for Wifi is unreliable as well. Even though going on vacation is good to get away, many still need to keep in contact with family members and work. Had we known this before we checked in, we could have made arrangements. I feel their website should reflect this better. But I still give them a very good rating for the overall camp. The location was perfect for visiting many Black Hills beautiful sights. Our grandchildren loved this place.

Room Tip: We loved the Executive Lodge with its own outside Hot Tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glencoe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at the Lodge the first week of July 2014. For the price, the room was very disappointing. Looked old and dirty, water has a brown color to it, mattresses thin and uncomfortable, carpet is matted down and room is small for a family of four. Staff is polite and nice. Stayed in a standard room on the second floor. There must be a problem with their cooling system as it is extremely hot in the hallway on that floor. The bottom of the tub was also stained brown from the water problem. The outdoor activities are nice for kids and the scenery is beautiful. I would recommend camping here but expect to have close neighbors as the sites are small and crowded. Paid $140.00/night plus if you want a tiny fridge it is an extra $25 per week. Breakfast consisted of only bagels or cereal and milk, coffee and juice. There are much nicer places to stay in the area for much less money.

Room Tip: Do not stay at the Lodge, camp instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Famof4249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
3.4 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
2.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#10 of 12 in Hill City
129 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
95 reviews
5.7 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Palmer Gulch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Palmer Gulch

Property: Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Address: 12620 Highway 244, Hill City, SD 57745-8902
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Lodge at Palmer Gulch 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether exploring the spectacular views of Mount Rushmore National Park, hiking through Custer State Park, climbing Harney Peak, or enjoying the day at Sylvan Lake, the Lodge at Palmer Gulch mixes the adventure and relaxation of the outdoors with the convenience of resort style accommodations:∙ 62 lodge rooms∙ 20 full-service private cabins∙ 10 row cabin duplex rooms∙ 6 executive lodges∙ 3 meeting facilities. We also offer fine dining, shopping, and family friendly itineraries! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lodge at Palmer Gulch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Palmer Gulch Hotel Hill City
Hotel At Palmer Gulch
At Palmer Gulch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing