We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Camping Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rafter J Bar Ranch Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rafter J Bar Ranch Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Alaska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding Camping Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at the Rafter J Bar Ranch every year for the last 5 years on our journeys across the country. The staff are incredibly friendly, the facilities are clean, and the setting is beyond beautiful. We recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    48
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
148
39
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glenwood, Iowa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

It's truly is a little slice of wonderful! Beautiful campgrounds and they don't squish everyone together! Bathrooms and showers were clean and didn't stink! Great view! Excellent location! Quiet and absolutely perfect! I would send my best friends there for sure!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South dakota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed in june 2014 for a family reunion. The facility was nice that there were cabins to rent, campsites to rent and tent sites to rent. The cabins had some with and some without bathrooms.
There is a nice pool and basket ball court. The facility is very well taken care of, no trash laying around, lots of shade and not too cramped together. It is right next to the Mickleson bike trail which is handy if you like to pedal Bike. It is convenient to Mt Rushmore, Crazy horse , sylvan lake. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. The only down fall, was that it is a bit pricey for camp sites.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a RV park. Great location for the area attractions. Crowded in thew summer but so are all places in this area around Mt Rushmore. The sites were roomy and a picnic table was provided. You also have a fire ring with grill. Nice relaxing location.

Room Tip: Make your reservations far in advance. I saw many that were turned away because of no reservations.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sbri09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saskatchewan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Lovely campground, we asked for and received a campsite up on the hill which was very close to shower/bathrooms. I was a little surprised at the fifty some dollar per night price, camping in Canada is much cheaper. In comparison to a KOA that we stayed at later in our trip though this campground was worth every penny. It was spotless, organized, quiet and had an absolutely lovely young man at the front desk. The showers and bathrooms were clean and functional, the breakfast was delicious and the couple serving it were just great! The campground office and store offered all the things you may have forgotten at home AND this spot was a great central location to see all the surrounding sights and tourist attractions. The only down sides were terribly unaccessible WiFi, costly firewood and an extra charge for more than two adults per site.
If i return to the area I would definitely return to the Rafter J.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barclove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a great place to stay while in Hill City. Really close to all attractions in the area plus it was so nice! We stayed in a camping cabin with AC and were really surprised by how nice it was. Lots of room on the patio and the fire pit was great. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at Rafter J for 3 nights while we were in the Black Hills. It is located within 10-15 miles of all the major attractions in the Black Hills. The park is HUGE and well laid out. It felt like camping in the wilderness. The breakfast was excellent (all you can eat pancakes), unfortunately they only served it a couple of times a week. The pool and hot tub were clean and comfortable. The camp store was stocked with everything you would need. All in all we loved the park and this place should get 5 stars EXCEPT for the Wi-Fi. The park claimed it had park wide Wi-Fi, but it rarely worked and sometimes when it did the open-dns server would block almost every site! (cnn, espn, weather.com). Short story: this park doesn't have Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: We got lucky and stayed in the part of the park called "the line". We loved it. The othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KC_Scottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
5.5 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
1.6 mi away
Horse Thief Campground
Horse Thief Campground
#1 of 12 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
7.8 mi away
Powder House Lodge
Powder House Lodge
#1 of 8 in Keystone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafter J Bar Ranch Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafter J Bar Ranch Campground

Property: Rafter J Bar Ranch Campground
Address: 12325 Rafter J-Bar Road, Hill City, SD 57745
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Hill City
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale campground offering tent and trailer camping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rafter j Bar Ranch Campground Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing