We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall nice place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2012

RV spots are a little close together or i would give 5 stars. Very clean. Staff was really nice. Check in procedure was lengthy. Beautiful views of the hills!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jameson O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

Forget KOA. This setting is almost idyllic, beautiful. It's not wooded, but pine trees surround this spacious campground with scattered mature trees, rolling green fields, lemon fresh (literally) free bath facilities, and accommodating ownership. Horse Thief is 20 minutes or less from Mt. Rushmore, between Rushmore and Crazy Horse. And it's quiet! Easy to recommend for tent or RV. Thank you for noting if this review helped you (I hope so).

Room Tip: Tenters may prefer sites in the 30s for elec., H20, & proximity, but all are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank HepAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

For great camping in the Black Hills area near Hill City, the Needles Highway, Mount Rushmore and Sylvan Lake, choose Horse Thief Campgrounds! We traveled late in April 2012 during free national park week. This was a bit early for RV camping, but a call to Horse Thief Campgrounds said they were open to tent camping (which we were doing) and they said that the bathhouse was available for showers etc. What a wondeful find! I saw an ad in one of those Black Hills guides and it turned into two wonderful days and nights in the woods for my son and I! The fire pit was huge and there was abundant dead wood all around. The general store was open for us, and I am glad because they had the can opener that I had forgotten! Very friendly and helpful staff even at pre-season! I will definitely return soon! The bathhouse with sinks, toilets and showers was large and very clean. Fishing was good at Lake Sylvan, and we really felt all alone everywhere since the tourists hadn't arrived yet!. Thank you, Horsethief Campgrounds! I give you five stars! * * * * *

Room Tip: If you want to be way back in the woods, choose tent camping site #87!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tekmann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We travel to the hills about 2x a year. I always stay at Horsethief. The staff is friendly and everything is clean. I always stay in a cabin with my wife and 2 boys. This is not a 5 star resort by any means. It is a nice, family oriented campground.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Great Location, convienent to all the activities that we had planned and scheduled. Thank you so much, definately will go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jodi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We spent one night at Horse Thief, after visiting Mount Rushmore during the day. The campground is very peaceful, nestled in the middle of the vast Black Hills. Campsites are spread apart enough so that you are not right on top of the other visitors. The bathrooms are very clean and the showers warm. There is a nice little store at the front of the campground, where you can buy needed supplies or other snacks for your stay. The hosts are very friendly and can recommend some good day trips in the area. There is a pool, but very small - so don't rely on it if you are an avid swimmer. Overall, a great stop on our way through South Dakota.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank munmei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Excellent! Our family had a great trip here. Paul, Julie and Ryan were absolutely awesome! I highly, highly recommend the campground. Great experience! We have 3 young kids..and they loved the beauty of the camp. Facilities were super!

Highly, highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pete n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.7 mi away
Harney Camp Cabins
Harney Camp Cabins
#11 of 13 in Hill City
30 reviews
7.8 mi away
Powder House Lodge
Powder House Lodge
#1 of 10 in Keystone
300 reviews
7.8 mi away
Holy Smoke Resort
Holy Smoke Resort
#2 of 10 in Keystone
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mount Rushmore Resort & Lodge
4.6 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
6.4 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort

Address: 24391 Hwy 87, Hill City, SD 57745
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Hill City
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horse Thief Campground and Resorts welcomes you to come and enjoy some of the most beautiful scenery that the Black Hills has to offer. Horse Thief Campground is located on 40 Acres, located in the Heart of The Black Hills and Centrally located to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park & Sylvan Lake. Located just 5 miles from Hill City, SD, on Hwy 87 South, you will enjoy peaceful,quiet and starry nights by the campfire with no nearby road noise. We have a variety of sites to accommodate all of you camping needs, from Tent sites, Cabins, and Full hook up sites to accommodate all size R.V.'s from small R.V.'s up to 50 Feet. Horse Thief Family "Come as a Guest, Leave as a Friend" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse Thief Campground Hotel Hill City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing