We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite place of the trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horse Thief Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Our favorite place of the trip”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We booked at Horse Thief based in part on the wonderful reviews and it didn't disappoint, We are a military family traveling under orders from Texas to Alaska staying in a few hotels but mostly tenting our way there. We decided to take a side trip to South Dakota to see things there.
First, Horse Thief is wonderfully situated! It is between Custer and Hill City as well close to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Sylvan Lake, Scenic needles Highway and the 1880 Train. There is a wonderfully twisty drive.
The campsite is wonderfully secluded and quiet. Tenters can camp in areas that are apart from the RV'ers which makes things a little quieter. There are vault toilets in the back of the camp and flush toilets and free showers up at the front,. There is a laundrymat, a small store, a pool and a playground.
We were too busy sightseeing to use the pool, but other people seemed to enjoy it.
When the owner saw us pull up in with our UHaul in tow, she changed our site so that it would be easier for us to manuver in. We felt welcome and happy there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VCJackson007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    49
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
121
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My family stayed there just one night and it was terrible. Owners were very rude and we were over charged on my debit card for "misc" fees. I recommend you remove the "Horse" from your name and just call yourselves THIEF Campground!! Dont stay there!

Room Tip: Just keep driving - dont give them your money. they steal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Horse Thief Campground, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Tim M.

We are sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. As you were aware, your group of Eight people arrived at the campground after hours, when you arrived at 10:30 your group was informed that quiet hours were 10:00 P.M. to 7:00 A.M. and to please check-in to the office in the morning. At 12:30 in the morning, we had several calls from fellow campers with complaints about your group being loud and waking them.

When your reservations was made you have been charged a deposit. for the base rate and had a remaining balance for the six additional guest and Taxes. A confirmation letter to confirm that reservation and charges were email to you at that time.

The following morning you did not arrive at the office to check-in, and your Credit Card on file was charged for the balance that was due, and a copy of your receipt was mailed to you at your address on file.

Upon your telephone call to the campground, we explained to you that the amount charged to your card was for the remaining balance on your account . charges for the extra people, the additional tent that was added onto the site and taxes that were due.

At that point you chose to call us several choice names and hang up on us.

We are sorry if you feel that our campground rules and policies are unfair, but we are a family campground, and promote a peaceful and quiet experience for all of our families and guests.

Sincerely,

Horse Thief Campground
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Horse Thief Campground was by far the nicest natural campsite I have ever stayed at and I've stayed a lot! Secluded but close to everything in the Black Hills. Bath house, pool, campsites are all clean and well maintained. I stayed here on the recommendation of a co-worker and I owe him Big Time!!!! If you don't stay here when camping in the black hills you are probably an idiot.

The Lundin Family
Omaha,Ne

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheLundinFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

RV spots are a little close together or i would give 5 stars. Very clean. Staff was really nice. Check in procedure was lengthy. Beautiful views of the hills!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jameson O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Forget KOA. This setting is almost idyllic, beautiful. It's not wooded, but pine trees surround this spacious campground with scattered mature trees, rolling green fields, lemon fresh (literally) free bath facilities, and accommodating ownership. Horse Thief is 20 minutes or less from Mt. Rushmore, between Rushmore and Crazy Horse. And it's quiet! Easy to recommend for tent or RV. Thank you for noting if this review helped you (I hope so).

Room Tip: Tenters may prefer sites in the 30s for elec., H20, & proximity, but all are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HepAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

For great camping in the Black Hills area near Hill City, the Needles Highway, Mount Rushmore and Sylvan Lake, choose Horse Thief Campgrounds! We traveled late in April 2012 during free national park week. This was a bit early for RV camping, but a call to Horse Thief Campgrounds said they were open to tent camping (which we were doing) and they said that the bathhouse was available for showers etc. What a wondeful find! I saw an ad in one of those Black Hills guides and it turned into two wonderful days and nights in the woods for my son and I! The fire pit was huge and there was abundant dead wood all around. The general store was open for us, and I am glad because they had the can opener that I had forgotten! Very friendly and helpful staff even at pre-season! I will definitely return soon! The bathhouse with sinks, toilets and showers was large and very clean. Fishing was good at Lake Sylvan, and we really felt all alone everywhere since the tourists hadn't arrived yet!. Thank you, Horsethief Campgrounds! I give you five stars! * * * * *

Room Tip: If you want to be way back in the woods, choose tent camping site #87!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tekmann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, South Dakota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We travel to the hills about 2x a year. I always stay at Horsethief. The staff is friendly and everything is clean. I always stay in a cabin with my wife and 2 boys. This is not a 5 star resort by any means. It is a nice, family oriented campground.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
6.4 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
4.6 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
7.7 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
6.0 mi away
Whispering Winds Cottages
Whispering Winds Cottages
#3 of 19 in Rapid City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse Thief Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse Thief Campground

Property: Horse Thief Campground
Address: 24391 SD Hwy 87 South, Hill City, SD 57745
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Hill City
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Horse Thief Campground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horse Thief Campground and Resorts welcomes you to come and enjoy some of the most beautiful scenery that the Black Hills has to offer. Horse Thief Campground is located on 40 Acres, located in the Heart of The Black Hills and Centrally located to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park & Sylvan Lake. Located just 5 miles from Hill City, SD, on Hwy 87 South, you will enjoy peaceful,quiet and starry nights by the campfire with no nearby road noise. We have a variety of sites to accommodate all of you camping needs, from Tent sites, Cabins, and Full hook up sites to accommodate all size R.V.'s from small R.V.'s up to 50 Feet. Horse Thief Family "Come as a Guest, Leave as a Friend" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Horse Thief Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse Thief Campground Hotel Hill City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing