We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“We loved the nightly cabin rental!”
other travellers have booked this property
Backside of Bed and Breakfast  w/ deck view from the back yard.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Backside of Bed and Breakfast  w/ deck view from the back yard.
Bridal suite jacuzzi Bridal Suite upstairs room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
28 reviews
Backside of Bed and Breakfast  w/ deck view from the back yard.
Bridal suite jacuzzi
Bridal Suite upstairs room
King size bed Wildlife/Indian room
library in Wildlife/Indian room
outside Wildlife/Indian room looking at the creek
USA (Americana room )
USA room (Americana room) jacuzzi/shower combo
Victorian Room
dining room at Christmas time with the tree up
strawberry/blueberry shortcake one of my many breakfast items
Mexican Breakfast casserole for 2
treats for the guests in the bed & breakfast
heart shaped donuts for the guests
one of our many deer up by the firepit thats in the backyard nightly fires w/smores if you\'d like
Nightly Cabin rental
nightly cabin rental Kitchen
full size bedroom in NIGHTLY CABIN
queen size sleigh bed in the nightly cabin
kitchen in nightly cabin rental looking from the fridge to the outside door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Hill City, South Dakota

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
merstad91...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We loved the nightly cabin rental!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
3
people found this review helpful

The nightly cabin at the Holly House was exactly what we wanted for our stay in the Black Hills area. The location was perfect - right in the heart of the hills area and was the perfect size for my husband, our 5 year old son, and myself. The cabin was clean and well kept and the kitchen was well stocked with utensils, pots and pans, etc. Our son loved the big yard and the creek.

We will definitely go back!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garvey_P
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect Place To Stay in the Black Hills! We Will Be Back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
4
people found this review helpful

Holly House was the absolutely perfect place for us to stay for a week on our family vacation to the Black Hills. It is easy to find and conveniently located to all of the Black Hills destinations. I am not yet sure when we will be back, but we will definitely be staying here again! I highly recommend it to everyone.

Dawna and Dave were such great hosts. They gave us many excellent recommendations for restaurants and attractions, and they are just wonderful people, period. I really enjoyed talking with them and learning about the area.

We stayed in the cabin, and it was perfect for our little family. I can't say enough good things about our stay here. Thanks, Dawna and Dave!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Hospitality and location.
Liked least: Nothing--it was all good!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2012
Thanks Garvey it was a pleasure meeting your family and hope you do come back some day ...
Dawna * Dave
Holly House B&B and Christmas Cabin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene4899...
Burlington, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great South Dakota Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
4
people found this review helpful

Holly House is a great location to explore the Black Hills with friends. It is convenient to all the places you want to experience...Custer State Park, Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, and Needles and Iron Mountain Scenic ByWays and nearby towns. Our rooms and private baths were clean with fresh towels each day. We got a good nights sleep all 3 nights and woke up to a most wonderful breakfast. While waiting for breakfast enjoy a cup of coffee or tea on the deck or down by the stream, then be ready because Dawna really knows how to do breakfast. Not only is it delicious, it's very genereous. If you leave hungry, you didn't eat! Although the Holly House is near the highway it becomes very quiet at night. Dawna & Dave are wonderful hosts. Be sure to spend some time with them each day not only to share your experiences, but to hear about theirs.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Breakfast
Liked least: Nearness to the highway and other businesses
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theritcho...
La Salle, Manitoba Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Holly House B&B exceptional breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first stay at Holly House in Hill City , SD and it was totally enjoyable. The room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfasts provided were not only very tasting and nourishing but varied day to day. We stayed for four nights and enjoyed every breakfast as they were all delicious. Upon arrival Dawna greeted us by our first names and made us feel right at home immediately. Both Dawna and Dave were friendly and helpful and assisted us any way that they could. I would recommend this B&B to anyone. When we return to the area Holly House will be our first call. Thanks for the lovely stay.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The hospitality and friendliness
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newming00...
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great B&B for Mt Rushmore Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Dawna and Dave were very friendly innkeepers. I can't say enough about the breakfast - each day's breakfast was different and delicious. Rooms were clean and immaculate. We were in the bridal suite - great price for such a large room and huge bathroom. And even with the foot of snow we got overnight, Dawna had already shoveled the path to our car by the time we were awake, and then did another round before we left. Great hospitality, highly recommend.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Breakfast
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jkmcculla
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location to Enjoy Mt. Rushmore, the Black Hills, and Custer State Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We finished out a trip to several National Parks with a visit to Hill City, SD and a stay at the Holly House. We rented the Christmas Cottage out behind the main house, which was great. Provided privacy, yet was 20 steps from the house. (There are several additional bedrooms available in the main house.) Though it was just the two of us in the Cottage, we thought it would be perfect for a small family. Dawna and Dave were gracious hosts, and made our stay enjoyable. The breakfast each morning was delicious, enjoyable, and filling! We found this to be a perfect location from which to visit Custer State Park, the Black Hills, Crazy Horse Monument, and of course Mt. Rushmore. Be sure to drive the Iron Mountain Road, and the Needles Highway as well! And, visit Mt. Rushmore in the day, but be sure to go back for the nighttime ceremony and illumination of the monument - very patriotic and moving!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location was excellent
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Solo traveler
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$135
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing