We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, cozy, comfortable, convenient!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trails End Cabins & Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Black Hills, SD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming, cozy, comfortable, convenient!”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Perfect get-away cabin in the center of the Black Hills. Cute cozy log cabin tucked away in a quiet spot a block away from the main drag. Nice wood interior that my husband loved, super clean with comfortable beds in both rooms, brand new tiled walk in shower, fully stocked kitchen, this would be great for a longer stay than our one night. Nice screened in covered patio with grill & hot tub behind our cabin, private from the street. Didn't get to stay long enough to try out the hot tub or grill but did enjoy the chairs on the front porch to watch the stars come out. One block away from the shops and great food & drink downtown so you don't have to drive after a few adult beverages. Owner is super friendly & really made us feel at home. Pet friendly too! If you prefer the generic hotel experience, this is not for you. This is more like staying at your favorite relatives vacation cabin with all the comforts of home in a peaceful rustic setting!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a dog, ask for a cabin vs a motel room. There is a back door to take them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blackhillsbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Wyoming
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Just a block off Main Street, this small, quiet, clean motel was the perfect spot to stay. Within walking distance of nearly everything in town, hidden away in a residential section - no traffic noises, clean room, the owner checked every day to make sure everything was OK. The room had 2 queen beds, a fridge, microwave, and coffemaker. We showed up with one more person than I had reserved for; no problem, we got a rollaway with a smile. The hot tub and gas grill out back were a big hit with my grandkids, and we got to watch deer across the street every morning. We will definitely choose this motel the next time we are in Hill City.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cate82930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

I'm writing this review from Cabin 4 . My wife and I are on our vacation and enjoying every minute in the Hill City area. Our cabin is the center point for our daily exploring. The cabin is clean and complete. The owner is a single woman that runs the place by herself. She checks and cleans every day to make sure all is well and functioning..... Personal pride. The cabin is simple, in a quiet area of town... No traffic noise. If you have a loud family this is not for you. Stay at one of the big resorts in the area. There are 9 units ranging in side from 1-3 bedrooms.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tomufunnyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We found this on the internet and read some reviews here. The Trails End was just what we needed. It is a small, possibly 10-15 room motel. It is in a nice little neighborhood and fit our needs perfectly. My daughters were able to jump on their bikes and ride around. We were able to park at the door and walk three blocks to the main street for meals and shopping. The rooms are super clean and very compact. The room in which we stayed had two double beds and a clean updated bathroom. There was a coffee pot, microwave, fridge and tv. We sat outside both nights--once on our patio and one up by the main entrance to visit with friends and enjoy the quiet evenings. My kids, ages 8 and 9, both used the hot tub several times and loved that. The owner couldn't have been kinder or more helpful. This is a great place for families or couples and anyone looking for an enjoyable, economical place to stay for a few nights. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWeibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarissa, MN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My family of five, gave this a 'ten thumbs up'. The cabins were clean and comfortable and you can't beat the location—just one block off main street. The owner is great, she goes above and beyond to make sure that you have everything you need. There is a nice jacuzzi and grill in back for your enjoyment. The Trails End Cabin & Motels in Hill City is a great location for viewing all that the Black Hills has to offer. As a travel agent, I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet little spot close to area attractions.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heido12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here with the wife during late July an early August 2010. We were looking for a quiet place off the main strip so that we wouldn't have to listen to all the noise from the arriving Sturgis attendees, and we stumbled across Trail's End by accident. We were quoted a great rate and given the keys to a charming little cabin. The place is far from fancy, but it has a cozy and warm feel and the owner was extremely gracious and helpful.

I spent every evening grilling dinner on the BBQ pit behind the cabin, while the wife enjoyed the hot tub. The main strip in town is a 5-minute walk, and all of the region's attractions are a short drive away. By the end of our stay, we were sad to leave. We highly recommend the Trail's End for a relaxing and quiet stay in the Black Hills!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nip255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
3.4 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
0.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
240 reviews
3.4 mi away
Whispering Winds Cottages
Whispering Winds Cottages
#2 of 19 in Rapid City
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trails End Cabins & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trails End Cabins & Motel

Property: Trails End Cabins & Motel
Address: 320 Park St, Hill City, SD 57745-5102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Trails End Cabins & Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will love our log cabins and motel in Hill City, the Heart of The Hills. With a quiet, forest setting, we are just 2 blocks from downtown where you can explore many attractions, entertainment, shopping and dining choices - and just a short drive to the major sites, Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, the Cathedral Spires and Custer State Park. We can help you plan your day trips, where you will visit the "must see" attractions as well as discover the "hidden gems!" We will keep you up to date on any Special Events going on in the area. Under new ownership, we offer 3 deluxe motel rooms and 6 log cabins with varying amenities, and an overall laid back and quiet atmosphere. We take pride in maintaining a super-clean property with new, comfortable beds, A/C units, fully-equipped kitchens, and gas & charcoal grills. You can relax at the end of the day in our hot tub or share stories around the fire pit. Wi-Fi, a strong Verizon cell phone signal and cable TV are available if you want to keep in-touch with your world. Trails End Cabins & Motel is a special find. Once you've experienced our log cabins, we're confident you'll want to return year after year for your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Trails End Cabins & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing