We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Driving trip to South Dakota”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trails End Cabins & Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Driving trip to South Dakota”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our first impression was that this was going to be horrible. The front porches of these cabins in a row face a street that had double wide trailers on the other side. Not a pleasant view from the front porch. They are also very, very small inside. However, Shelly was extremely nice and knowledgable about the area and gave great advice about where to eat. The rear of the cabins included a hot tub and fire pit area which was a more wooded like setting, also quite small. The hot tub area needs to be made a little more inviting perhaps with rope lights that come on at dusk and an easily accessible light switch. Location to town was great. We could walk to everything, train, dinner, breakfast even grocery store wasn't too far. It was also a good location for seeing the attractions, Mount Rushmore, Custer Park and Crazy Horse. Town of Hill City was much more quaint than the tourist town of Keystone.
The bed in our cabin #4 was awful. You rolled to the center no matter how hard you tried not to.

Room Tip: Quiet location. Don't try to put the maximum number of people in a cabin unless you are really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

OK, so the cabin was cozy. (#3 - a two person for my wife and me) But if I needed a bit of space, I'd go sit on the porch. Fantastic. Clean and comfortable. But the best part was personal service/information from the owner - Shelly, I believe her name was. (I wish I was sure....she deserves high praise.) Custer State Park wasn't even on our radar when she recommended it - we ended up going there twice. She was able to share some local insights that were enlightening. I'll second what others have said about location, both of BHTE and Hill City. But unquestionably the best feature of this location is the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This was our first stay in a cabin. The owner was very friendly and gave us a great rate. The centralized location in the Black Hills was perfect for all of our day trips. The cabin was spotless and had all the comforts of home with a fully furnished kitchen. It also had a bathroom with a shower. A great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crossingthecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waukegan
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed in the two bedroom cabin in July and a wonderful choice for touring the Black Hills!
The owner was friendly and helpful and does a great job keeping everyone happy! The cabin was cozy, clean, and furnished nicely! Everything you need for light housekeeping as provided. The cabins and motel are situated in a neighborhood about two blocks walking distance to town. We enjoyed The Trails End Cabin and sitting in the evening on our porch was very relaxing after a busy day of touring the sights! You won't go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerWaukegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Friendly service doesn't come close to describing this place! The cabins are clean, maintained and quaint. The owner is pleasant, friendly and super helpful. The setting is relaxing. This isn't the Marriott but if you want a quiet place that makes you feel at home, this is it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

It was a beautiful setting in the pines, everything was immaculate and clean. There was wildlife and it was very peaceful and relaxing. The proprietor was very friendly and suggested all the Great activities and restaurants for us to visit during our stay. Would make this a destination to stay at every time we visit the beautiful Black Hills of South
Dakota.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SIGNTST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I really enjoyed staying here. It was surrounded by the beautiful pine trees of the Black Hills. It was walking distance from Main Street which is full of great restaurants (favorite was the Alpine Inn). The room was very clean. I will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldTravelingGirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hill City hotels
3.4 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
0.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Hill City
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trails End Cabins & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trails End Cabins & Motel

Property: Trails End Cabins & Motel
Address: 320 Park St, Hill City, SD 57745-5102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Trails End Cabins & Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will love our log cabins and motel in Hill City, the Heart of The Hills. With a quiet, forest setting, we are just 2 blocks from downtown where you can explore many attractions, entertainment, shopping and dining choices - and just a short drive to the major sites, Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, the Cathedral Spires and Custer State Park. We can help you plan your day trips, where you will visit the "must see" attractions as well as discover the "hidden gems!" We will keep you up to date on any Special Events going on in the area. Under new ownership, we offer 3 deluxe motel rooms and 6 log cabins with varying amenities, and an overall laid back and quiet atmosphere. We take pride in maintaining a super-clean property with new, comfortable beds, A/C units, fully-equipped kitchens, and gas & charcoal grills. You can relax at the end of the day in our hot tub or share stories around the fire pit. Wi-Fi, a strong Verizon cell phone signal and cable TV are available if you want to keep in-touch with your world. Trails End Cabins & Motel is a special find. Once you've experienced our log cabins, we're confident you'll want to return year after year for your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Trails End Cabins & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing