We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts and cabins”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trails End Cabins & Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We found Trails End hosts Mary and Doug to be exceptional and very helpful. The cabin was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The hot tub was enjoyed as was the fire pit. Enjoyed our visit and stay tremendously.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LSSmith1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

This place is "just right!"

Clean, fresh, friendly. It's a nice, small, family-run place -- just right for a stop over in the Hills -- or a few days away from it all.

I was especially impressed with the backyard amenities -- the fire pit, a hot tub, a beautiful patio setup, and "morning coffee" chairs with a terrific view of the Black Hills. (That's what we're here for, right?!?!)

Take the time to get to know the proprietors. Mary and Doug are good people who love making it a place you'll love.

Looking forward to my next trip there!

Room Tip: Our cabin (Cabin #1) was clean, cozy, and suitable for Mom and Dad plus one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LaurieR802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just completed our pre-Sturgis Rally tour of the Black Hills. It was awesome. Eleven of us stayed for three nights at the Trails End and I cannot say enough about this wonderful place. Our every need was within a couple of blocks and yet it has the feel of staying in a remote cabin in the woods. From the sunset Adirondack chairs on the forested hill behind the cabins to the great warm fire pit and the hot tub picnic area, we had a great time. Mary was so very helpful in making sure we didn't overpay and Doug helped us move our bikes into his garage when there was an impending hail storm. God it was like staying with family! These are seriously good folks. We will return!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnny4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

During a recent trip to the Black Hills area, my boyfriend and I wanted to find an affordable place to stay with a full kitchen so we didn’t have to constantly eat out. We also wanted to be central to everything in the area – Rapid City, Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Sylvan Lake, etc. We lucked out finding Trails End Cabins & Motel! We booked cabin #3 for 4 nights in mid-July and were not disappointed. The cabin was small – full kitchen, small table, full bed and a bathroom with a small shower. However, it had everything we needed and the outdoor space made up for the tight space inside. Outside there is a wonderful patio and enclosed hot tub with plenty of grills (charcoal and gas) to share among guests. There’s also a fire pit.

Location was perfect. The cabins are within short walking distance to downtown Hill City where there are restaurants and shops. We walked one day over to the 1880 Train and took it to Keystone and back. We were also very central to all the other places we wanted to go, which cut down on the time we had to spend driving. The cabins are in a residential area but you wouldn't really know it. Across the street are some houses, but behind them is a huge hill of vacant land where we twice saw deer roaming. Behind the cabins is a fully wooded area. You really get to feel like you’re out in nature while also being conveniently close to everything you need.

The owners, Doug and Mary, were perfect hosts. Mary gave us a lot of info about things in the area when we checked in and Doug took the time to introduce himself the next day when he spotted us outside. They do a great job making sure everyone has everything they need and keeping the cabins clean. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for clean, comfortable, perfectly-located lodging in the Black Hills!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kara_MKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

There were four of traveling so we opted for cabin 5 with three bedrooms. The cabin has four queen beds plus a sofa bed and is advertised for 10 people,but outside of the bedrooms there really isn't room for 10. Probably 6 people max. The living room and kitchen aren't big enough for more than that. It had a small bathroom also. However, it was great for the four of us - plenty of room and quiet. There is a new enclosed hot tub and fire pit which were great. The kids made s'mores around the fire one night. There are several gas grills available also. Within walking distance of town. This would be a great place for an extended stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richbutnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We loved this little cabin. Camping got rained out, so we decided to spend the night and wanted more of a fun and special setting than just a hotel room. What a great place this was! The owners are so sweet. She showed us at least 2 cabins before we made or choice. They got us everything we needed and even let us sleep in extra. Finding places that allow 3 bigger dogs is not easy, and they welcomed them with open arms, only charging us a $15 fee for all 3 instead of per dog. One night in Hill City was just not enough, so we are already planning on going back next year and will definately stay here. Highly recommend if you want the nicest hosts and a special setting. p.s. there's a hot tub, too!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed there over memorial weekend and had a great stay. The cabins are on the edge of Hill City, still in town but surrounded by mountains. Behind the cabins is a nice covered hot tub, fire pit, picnic tables, and a mountain full of pines. In other words, it's secluded but still in town close to gas stations, grocery store, and main street Hill City. If you're going to the Black Hills to see Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Bear Country, etc. This is right in the middle of everywhere you want to be. The cabins are rustic but have all the comforts of home. Doug is a great host and new owner of the cabins and hotel who was there to help with anything we needed. -Scott L, Golden Colorado

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
2.9 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
3.7 mi away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#10 of 12 in Hill City
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
3.4 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
7.2 mi away
Powder House Lodge
Powder House Lodge
#1 of 9 in Keystone
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trails End Cabins & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trails End Cabins & Motel

Address: 320 Park St, Hill City, SD 57745-5102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Hill City
Price Range: £75 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trails End Cabins & Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will love our log cabins and motel in Hill City, the Heart of The Hills. With a quiet, forest setting, we are just 2 blocks from downtown where you can explore many attractions, entertainment, shopping and dining choices - and just a short drive to the major sites, Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, the Cathedral Spires and Custer State Park. We can help you plan your day trips, where you will visit the "must see" attractions as well as discover the "hidden gems!" We will keep you up to date on any Special Events going on in the area. Under new ownership, we offer 3 deluxe motel rooms and 6 log cabins with varying amenities, and an overall laid back and quiet atmosphere. We take pride in maintaining a super-clean property with new, comfortable beds, A/C units, fully-equipped kitchens, and gas & charcoal grills. You can relax at the end of the day in our hot tub or share stories around the fire pit. Wi-Fi, a strong Verizon cell phone signal and cable TV are available if you want to keep in-touch with your world. Trails End Cabins & Motel is a special find. Once you've experienced our log cabins, we're confident you'll want to return year after year for your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Trails End Cabins & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing