We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trails End Cabins & Motel
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$120
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$87
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coyote Blues Village B&B(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
80
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitenjoyed the hot tubscreened areaquiet streetgreat gatheringcovered patioblack hillsgreat hostsdeadwood spearfishmain streetclose to downtowndeer and wild turkeysgreat place to staydevils towermickelson trailwithin walking distancerestaurants and shops
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We found Trails End hosts Mary and Doug to be exceptional and very helpful. The cabin was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The hot tub was enjoyed as was the fire pit. Enjoyed our visit and stay tremendously.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LSSmith1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This place is "just right!"

Clean, fresh, friendly. It's a nice, small, family-run place -- just right for a stop over in the Hills -- or a few days away from it all.

I was especially impressed with the backyard amenities -- the fire pit, a hot tub, a beautiful patio setup, and "morning coffee" chairs with a terrific view of the Black Hills. (That's what we're here for, right?!?!)

Take the time to get to know the proprietors. Mary and Doug are good people who love making it a place you'll love.

Looking forward to my next trip there!

Room Tip: Our cabin (Cabin #1) was clean, cozy, and suitable for Mom and Dad plus one.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LaurieR802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just completed our pre-Sturgis Rally tour of the Black Hills. It was awesome. Eleven of us stayed for three nights at the Trails End and I cannot say enough about this wonderful place. Our every need was within a couple of blocks and yet it has the feel of staying in a remote cabin in the woods. From the sunset Adirondack chairs on the forested hill behind the cabins to the great warm fire pit and the hot tub picnic area, we had a great time. Mary was so very helpful in making sure we didn't overpay and Doug helped us move our bikes into his garage when there was an impending hail storm. God it was like staying with family! These are seriously good folks. We will return!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnny4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

During a recent trip to the Black Hills area, my boyfriend and I wanted to find an affordable place to stay with a full kitchen so we didn’t have to constantly eat out. We also wanted to be central to everything in the area – Rapid City, Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Sylvan Lake, etc. We lucked out finding Trails End Cabins & Motel! We booked cabin #3 for 4 nights in mid-July and were not disappointed. The cabin was small – full kitchen, small table, full bed and a bathroom with a small shower. However, it had everything we needed and the outdoor space made up for the tight space inside. Outside there is a wonderful patio and enclosed hot tub with plenty of grills (charcoal and gas) to share among guests. There’s also a fire pit.

Location was perfect. The cabins are within short walking distance to downtown Hill City where there are restaurants and shops. We walked one day over to the 1880 Train and took it to Keystone and back. We were also very central to all the other places we wanted to go, which cut down on the time we had to spend driving. The cabins are in a residential area but you wouldn't really know it. Across the street are some houses, but behind them is a huge hill of vacant land where we twice saw deer roaming. Behind the cabins is a fully wooded area. You really get to feel like you’re out in nature while also being conveniently close to everything you need.

The owners, Doug and Mary, were perfect hosts. Mary gave us a lot of info about things in the area when we checked in and Doug took the time to introduce himself the next day when he spotted us outside. They do a great job making sure everyone has everything they need and keeping the cabins clean. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for clean, comfortable, perfectly-located lodging in the Black Hills!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kara_MKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

There were four of traveling so we opted for cabin 5 with three bedrooms. The cabin has four queen beds plus a sofa bed and is advertised for 10 people,but outside of the bedrooms there really isn't room for 10. Probably 6 people max. The living room and kitchen aren't big enough for more than that. It had a small bathroom also. However, it was great for the four of us - plenty of room and quiet. There is a new enclosed hot tub and fire pit which were great. The kids made s'mores around the fire one night. There are several gas grills available also. Within walking distance of town. This would be a great place for an extended stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richbutnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews