We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”
Review of Restmore Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Restmore Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hill City B&B and Inns
Gretna, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed in the Eagles Nest for 5 nights and loved the convenient location, just minutes away from everything we wanted to see. It was beautifully finished and roomy, with the best stocked kitchen we've ever seen. Anything you could think of, it was there! The hosts were extremely friendly and thoughtful, even turning on the porch light for us if we were out late. I researched a lot of options before booking this cabin and definitely made the right choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed for one night and enjoyed our experience. Great value for the price. A bit outdated but clean and quiet. Friendly and helpful staff. Located in the heart of downtown Hill City. 5 minutes from Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse monuments.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monongahela
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay here for 5 nights. Home was the Stage Coach. Old stage coach stop at one time, We had room for everyone on our trip. Great place to use as our base for all our trip to the sights around the area in the Black Hills.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roseann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

First of all there are the cabins, which seem very nice, and then there are the motel rooms, which should be avoided if sleep is actually important to you. When we arrived at the inn, we met the family who own it and who seem nice. The trouble is that the motel rooms are located directly under the family living space, and the ceilings provide very little insulation. I feel this is unfair for both the family but mostly for guests paying on their vacation. Between the noises of children and heavy furniture above our heads each night and morning, added to the traffic noise outside, we lost sleep every night and felt tired and off during most of our stay here.

Even though it seems like a good value, these motel rooms are not a good choice if you want to relax and enjoy your stay. Unlike the cabins you do not get a fire pit. The room itself is small and outdated. The only plus is the location in the Black Hills, but there are better places to stay in Hill City.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank explorergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dryden, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed 3 nites Loved the Black Hills. Owners of property are very friendly and accommodating Cabins looked very nice. Many comments about the highway noise for this property, however, we note that there are many properties in this area that would experience the highway noise also. Unavoidable and no fault of the owners. We were designated to the motel room as we have a dog, it had everything for a comfortable inexpensive stay however the rooms are rather dated and are in dire need of updating. The bedding, towels and dishes were clean. Blinds should be replaced. Cabins had use of firepits and it would have been nice to have an area for us, staying in the motel room, to also enjoy an evening fire somewhere out back. We had use of a barbeque and a picnic table to eat our meals at. For those looking for less expensive accommodations, especially if travelling with a dog, this motel will fit that notch

Room Tip: If you don't have a fur baby, stay in a cabin. Pets are only allowed in the motel portion
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iryseyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the Bear's Den cabin and found it perfect. The space is small (perfect for 2) but very well laid out. The owners must have put a lot of thought into the outfitting and decorating the cabin. The kitchen with full sized stove and fridge is VERY will outfitted with just about anything you might need including a griddle! The bathroom towels were better than many hotels. A flat screen TV is mounted to the wall on an adjustable arm so you can change the viewing angle. The bed was plenty comfortable. Outside there is a nice deck with seating, a gas grill and a fire pit - a nice place to relax as the sun set after a full day in the Black Hills.

Overall the cabin was very clean, in excellent condition and exceeded my expectations. The location is great - it is just outside of Hill City and very centrally located in the Black Hills.

The only negatives would be there is some noise from the adjacent road and the cleaning fee. The cabin is close to a road, and while the cabin does block out a lot of the noise, you will hear some occassional noise from traffic as it passes by. The cleaning fee is fully disclosed in advance but I wish they would just incorporate it into the cabin rate.

I'll also add that my review applies to the cabins and specifically the Bear's Den. Judging by the exterior of the other cabins, they would appear to be just as nice. The Rest More Inn also offers a couple motel rooms. These rooms do not seem as updated as the cabins based upon their exterior and pictures on their website.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vancemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwell, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This place should be called "Rest Less". Checking in went ok, and the room looked nice and decent at first glance. The blinds in the room were filthy and gross looking. They were located next to one of the beds, which we decided not to use because of that. The room had not been dusted in some time also. The bathroom also did not have an outlet in it so that my wife could do her hair. No outlets conveniently near the bathroom to prep for an evening out. Besides that the room was nice enough and had plenty of supplies for our stay. An inconvenience was that the toilet was in the back and close enough to the back of the building where people can sit and BBQ. Well that means that those people can hear everything you are doing on the toilet. Very uncomfortable, for the both parties. Also the most horrible thing about this place was the constant noise. This property is located directly near a 55mph highway, which means loud motorcycles, tractor trailers and cars zooming up and down the highway. But the worst of it all was that the owners of the property live upstairs and there is no insulation or soundproofing between your room and their upstairs living quarters. So this means we heard EVERY footstep, their baby crying, their kid running all over, the vacuum cleaner running, the washer, the dryer, etc... This went on from 5a - 11p at night. The last night I finally couldn't take it anymore. Believe me, I am a very patient person and my wife can sleep through anything. The noise finally got so loud and constant that I finally ended up yelling the last night around 10:30p, that I was annoyed and could not take the noise anymore. That helped for like 15 minutes or so. And then It started again. I got up and emailed the owner and politely asked to keep it down and explained I had a 17 hour drive home and needed my sleep. I didn't get a response of course until the next day after I left. Basically was told "Sorry for the inconvenience. Maybe we need more soundproofing." That is all I got from them. Also, we were never checked on during our entire stay. No a peep or boo from the owners. We never were offered clean towels or anything else for that matter. I would NEVER EVER come back to this place. It really made a horrible impression on a vacation that was to be perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ethanflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
2.8 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
5.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
8.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
183 reviews
5.2 mi away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#10 of 12 in Hill City
129 reviews
2.3 mi away
Trails End Cabins & Motel
Trails End Cabins & Motel
#3 of 12 in Hill City
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Restmore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restmore Inn

Property: Restmore Inn
Address: 24191 Hwy 385, Hill City, SD 57745
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Hill City
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing