We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame on Super 8”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Shame on Super 8”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I spent three nights at the Super 8 in Hill City, SD in June 2012. I chose it based on price, as I am a budget traveler.

The positive:

Great location on Main Street, convenient to restaurants and shops.

The negative:

The hotel is in desperate need of an interior makeover. They repainted the exterior, when money should have been spent inside with new mattresses, linens and tubs/showers.

Mattress was very old and saggy. It was very low to the ground. Box springs were stained. I imagine the top mattress was no better, but I was afraid to look. The foundation of the hotel business is sleeping, yet this hotel ignores the most important component – decent mattresses. I had the same experience last year at the Super 8 in Santa Fe, NM, so shame on me for picking it, but this place was all that I could afford. I tried to Priceline a better hotel, but never achieved a successful bid.

Pillow stuffing was spilling out.

Bedspread was threadbare and old. Blanket appeared to have cigarette burns.

Shower head was very low. I’m 5’6” and it was too short for me.

Hotel smells of cigarette smoke and chlorine from the indoor pool.

Toilet was running when I first entered the room. To their credit, it was fixed immediatly, but the housekeeper should have caught that when making up the room and gotten it fixed.

Room Tip: If you stay here, ask for the second floor or higher, otherwise you'll have headlights beaming i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelsgirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    74
    105
    59
    40
See reviews for
147
103
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This was a great place to stay to visit Mount Rushmore (9 miles away), friendly helpful staff (Deb), room was clean and comfortable.
Hill City itself is a cool town to visit - wish we had more time to stay -will definitely go back

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinker69Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Hotel was ok - room was clean and was pet friendly with nice area outdoors. Trouble with toilet and billing was a nightmare - got over charged for the room and was told that funds would not be available for up to a week? ended up having my bank at home straighten it out after gettting chastized by the clerk at the counter! What? Check your bill ask questions once it's done nightmare to straigten out! Probably will not stay there again since there are many other options in town and in Custer just down the road.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Circle2Ranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownhills, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Stayed in October 2011.
Toilet constantly refilling, I tried to fix being as it was real late when I arrived and couldnt be bothered to move rooms. Turned off the water too it in the end.

Room bathroom etc is clean and comfortable.

HOWEVER, woke up in the morning, and started to pull back curtain. Saw that some wasps/yellowjackets (but bigger than normal wasps/yellowjackets) was in between the glass and the wire screen. Then looked to the left, and they were actually inside the room with me.
Im real afraid of wasps any anything like that so quickly got out of there. Whilst packing my stuff, realised that the night before where I had put my laptop, I had stepped on one barefoot and squashed it.

Told the girl on reception about this and she thought it was quite funny. I dont think so.

Breakfast however is good and free! There is stores around to pick up stuff - get some Apples for the Begging Burro's in Custer State Park.
There is also a gas station right next door to the hotel which was very convenient.

Would stay again, but would need reassurance of no wasps! :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123NeilyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Spent 4 nights here while visiting Mt. Rushmore, Custer state park, Badlands state park, Rapid City, etc. We brought our dog, a 19 lb. shih tzu, traveling with us for the first time. Our room was in an area of the hotel that looks to be reserved for guests with dogs. The room was clean & had no indication that a pet had previously occupied it. There was a grassy area around the hotel to take your pet to 'potty.' It was well maintained. There was a charge of $10 for a pet that covered the entire stay at the hotel.
Internet worked great, breakfast was OK (coffee, toast, doughnuts, cereal), lot of hot water, close to attractions, market nearby, etc.

Would definitely stay here again with our dog if we return. Good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenns53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

My husband and I have stayed here twice while visiting the Black Hills. The rooms are basic but comfortable. When visiting the area, we generally spend most of our time out hiking or sightseeing and very little time in our hotel. The location is centrally located in the Hills and easy to get to Custer State Park, Sylvan Lake, Mt. Rushmore, etc.

The woman who works the front desk (unfortunately, I forgot her name) is sweet and helpful. During both stays, we found the hot tub in the pool room to be rather chilly. The friendly front desk woman was happy to turn up the temperature for us, and even checked in on us to make sure it heated up adequately.

Breakfast is downstairs and the layout is not the best, so it gets very crowded and chaotic. The continental spread consists of hot and cold cereal, fruit, toast, English muffins, pastries, coffee, tea, and a variety of fruit juices.

The hotel is located right on Main Street in Hill City, so it is easy to walk to nearby restaurants, shops, and the gas station right across the parking lot. Also recommended is the filet mignon dinner at The Alpine Inn, located just down the block from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank viajerosivda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Our stay was nice in Hill City there is many shops and art stores to see. The super 8 was close to main street so you can walk to the stores and many great places to eat.
The pool was not the highlight of the place the pool was really foggy we could not see the bottom of the shallow end and the hot tub was not hot it was barley warm :(
The rooms were clean. And the breakfast in the morning was ok toast, cereal, donuts, and juice.
They did have free Wi Fi.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pologirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
3.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
8.0 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area

Property: Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area
Address: 109 Main St., Hwy 16/385-Main St & Deerfield, Hill City, SD 57745
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore Hotel Hill City
Super Eight Hill City
Hill City Super 8
Hill City Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing