We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Good Time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Crooked Creek is a nice campground. They had activities for the kids like a playground but we mainly used the campground as a resting point from which to go see Black Hills attractions. We did do a little gold-panning in the creek just so we could say we did that and for the kids. We primitive camped (no electricity or heat) in one of the Tipi tents the first night which the kids (6 and 9 year-old boys) can now have as a memory (good memory I hope but we sure did get cold early September 2011). The other two nights we stayed in a cabin with electricity and heat (no bathroom). The communal bathroom shower area (they only had one shower building open, maybe because summer season had just ended) was OK for the toilets (very clean at least) but the showers could really use some help in that while new and clean there was just practically no room to dress/undress. It was workable and otherwise a nice shower facility but the size of the shower stall dressing area left a lot to be desired. Also had to wait until after the morning rush to use the showers because they only had one building open and too much demand. Otherwise I don't have anything to complain about and overall it was a pleasant campground. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There are so many campgrounds right off the highway that unless you make a real effort to go somewhere more isolated you are going to get some road noise which some reviewers have been critical of. We experienced no negative issues with the road noise and it certainly is not unique to Crooked Creek as stated. For what we paid I actually am really happy with what we got ($28.50 a night in a cabin with electricity and heat). We had a good time and would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2011

We arrived at Crooked Creek on 7/11/11 around 7 p.m., unloaded our items, and went to get dinner. We got back to our cabin around 9 p.m., and first attempted to get onto the Crooked Creek wireless network. My wife teaches online courses and needed to do a few hours work each night during our vacation. When we tried to connect to the network, the signal quality said (for all 3 connections-there were 3 for the resort) low or poor. We kept trying, kept getting booted off, tried continually for 60 minutes, and after 10 p.m. we tried to call the front office to ask about this, but they were gone at this time. My wife needed to get work in that night, so we called a few places in Hill City but had no luck; thus, we had to relocate to a hotel in Rapid City 30 miles away. A major inconvenience since our children (5 years old and 8 months old) were already asleep. We came back to Crooked Creek the next day, and I talked to someone at the front desk that said refunding our money shouldn't be a problem. We came home 7/14, and noticed the charge was still on my account. We talked to the owner, who made it seem we could get a refund, but then said since we went though a reservation company, we'd need to talk to them instead. I talked to Leah at Black Hills Central Reservations and she said as long as Crooked Creek would refund, they would. She called the owner of CC while talking to me, and the owner of CC now refused to refund our money as she said, "We have Internet and with the way the economy is now I will not refund the money". When I told this woman that my wife needed to work each evening, and the resorts network for either down or too weak to reach our cabin, she replied, “that’s not my problem”.

When times are tough people show their true colors. Please do yourself a favor and stay as far away from this place as you can. Unless of course you enjoy filing a refusal of payment with your credit card, filing a BBB claim, and posting comments about amoral establishments.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank MN_Photo_Guy55427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillCityResort, Owner at Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

The customer never contacted the front desk to explain that the wi-fi was not working. We do not have DSL internet so therefore we have radio towers that send out the signal and sometimes these need to be re-booted. This customer went all the way to the BBB with this complaint. All of the money was refunded to the customer accept the night they checked in. And as business owners we would never tell anyone in this state of economy that no refund would be made!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We had prebooked this so called cabin for a week and thank god ended up canceling 1 night before we actually got there. $100 a night during the week is a little pricey for this run down small cabin. Furniture is from the 70's beds are small and very uncomfortable. Very disappointed. Ended up leaving early and losing $. Nice people but asked for extra pillow one night, never rec'd, bring towels because their bath towels are very small--no extras what so ever. If you had a camper this place is very nice. Beautiful scenery and accomodations. Internet WiFi works off and on.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexiloo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillCityResort, Owner at Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

This customer stayed at our Country Inn Motel. Happy to hear thet enjoyed our babbling creek but were unhappy with the new queen beds we just put in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

we stayed there for four nights and overall enjoyed the experience. we were on motorcycles and chose the option where we stayed in a tent provided by them.
campground is nice and well taken care of. hot showers and clean restrooms.
the tent was up when we arrived, altho we had been promised a site with electricity, it had none. no big deal though as we were tenting. the "deposit" for linens and towels turned out to be a charge. no big deal, but $25 to use towels and sheets is a little excessive. (had they listed it as a charge on the internet instead of a deposit, would have been nice) the $3 all you can eat pancake breakfast was okay, did it once, they opted for the local fare. Overall a nice, centrally located, easily accessible by motorcycle campground. Would definately consider it again, but would probably go for the cabin option they have or the motel they also have on site. NOTE: close to a main highway, I imagine that it is quite noisy during the Sturgis motorcycle rally

Room Tip: talk to the staff, friendly and helpful
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huskerfan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

If anyone is reading these reviews and thinking they should look somewhere else because of the bad reviews, PLEASE reconsider. I read these and almost made a huge mistake and cancel my reservation and look elsewhere. I am soooo glad I didn't. I really can't quite see what all the fuss is about. The staff were WONDERFUL! I haven't been treated so well by individuals that are operating a facility. They went over and above to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. We stayed in a cabin with a small kitchenette. We had a very clean room, two clean nice beds, a small frig, microwave, toaster, hotplate and TV. The bathroom was more than enough with a nice shower, sink and toilet. Towels were provided. Also, all our dishes were included and a grill and fire pit. I am not sure why the complaining...I guess it's just too hard to please some people. As for me and my family, this was a fantastic experience and if we get the chance again, we will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheFabFour1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Beautiful setting. Great price. There was a babbling brook right outside the window! Sure it was a tiny room and a small bed but the air was crisp and cool... and there was a babbling brook right outside the window (which remained open all night to capture the sound and the air). Maybe too many RV campers but it was an RV camp with a motel afterall (and they were on the other side of the creek). Bonus, for a change from all the mid-priced chains, it was only $75! The owner was very nice too! Would have liked to spend a couple of days relaxing but had to move on.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RT1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We read the mixed reviews but decided to give it a try and were not disappointed with our stay. The grounds were clean,open, and had a small creek running through it. We stayed at one of the rooms for a decent price(about 75) and it was ok for the price we paid. Clean, plenty of space, and a large vanity outside the bath area(this really helps when traveling with a couple of teens.) We had a microwave and fridge. We were away from the road and did not here any traffice or noise. The management's customer service skills are not the best but they were ok for the little we conversed. For the price and location we enjoyed the break from a hotel in town.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huskertravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hill City hotels
2.8 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
5.1 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
191 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
118 reviews
5.2 mi away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#10 of 12 in Hill City
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park

Address: 24184 HYW 16 & US 385, Hill City, SD 57745
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Hill City
Price Range: £42 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park is nestled in a valley of the southern Black Hills, just outside of Hill City, South Dakota. Minutes away from national monuments, the George S. Mickelson Trail, and many museums and shops, it is the perfect place to stay for vacationing families, outdoor enthusiasts and history buffs, alike. Pack a lunch and spend the day hiking on the Mickelson Trail or soaking in the beauty of nature and wildlife at Custer State Park. Create a life-long memory by visiting Mount Rushmore National Monument and Crazy Horse Memorial. Enjoy the quaint mountain community of Hill City and spend an afternoon visiting art galleries, shopping, taking a ride on the 1880 Train, enjoying a glass of wine at one of our 4 wineries or have a cold brew at one of our 2 new Micro Breweries. Hill City has it all! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crooked Creek Hotel Hill City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing