We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing but noise!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park
nowhere
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nothing but noise!”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed in a beautiful tent site July of 2011 for 4 nights. It was perfect...lots of room, next to the creek, under a tree and right next to the Mickelson trail. The bathrooms were very clean although, cramped and not enough showers to keep up with demand, and the worst toilet paper on the planet! Leaves would have done a better job! Regardless, because of the extreme NOISE and lack of quiet time enforcement, we will never stay there again. The office staff seemed attentive upon arrival, but once we had a problem with partying neighbors until 3 am, there was no one to be found. I appreciate the beautiful lawns, (the grounds are VERY well kept) but after being kept awake until 3 am, irritability rising with each minute, we REALLY did NOT want to hear mowers starting up at 7 or 8 am, lasting until the early afternoon. We complained about the partying neighbors the next night....nobody really cared. The property is very close to the highway, so we got a lot of noise from that, which was not very relaxing. I realize there is nothing the owners could do about that, but since it is an issue, one would think they would make an extra effort to enforce other noise...ex. LOUD PARTIES. (this was NOT during Sturgis...these people were just the average travelling group whooping it up until 3 am) There is no place to wash dishes, other than a tub with cold water only, with super rude cleaning staff watching your every move. One woman even started spraying down mats from the bath house right next to where I was so the the water was spraying on me. Just plain rude. The pool was really small, but we don't know about the temp. because we ended up showing up to the campground in cold rainy weather, so swimming wasn't appealing...a HOT TUB would have been a very nice addition for ADULTS! All in all, it's a beautiful campground for tent camping, if you can score the right site, the bathrooms are clean, but the noise and lack of enforcement is a serious detriment. We won't stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Celenebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillCityResort, Owner at Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Glad you enjoyed 4 night stay. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    30
    16
    14
    16
See reviews for
66
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed here for four nights. The couple at the front office were super friendly and we felt very welcome. It has a great location central to all the Black hills have to offer. We did a lot including Custer, Mt. Rushmore, Keystone and of course Hill City. There were a lot of campgrounds in the area but this one had a great fall special. The wifi was very good. The only negative we had was that the RV sites were a bit close together. These big rigs and slides take up lots of room. But the central location really made up for that.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jen1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillCityResort, Owner at Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Hey thanks for staying with us! Sounds like you had a good expierience while you were here. Hill City is welcoming a new event this summer. "Brule" an American Rock Opera group. And don't forget about the Custer State Park Buffallo round up the last weekend of september. Oh and don't forget the Hill City quilt show second week of september. Hope to soo you there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed at Crooked Creek this summer and really enjoyed our time. We enjoyed the location, the atmosphere, the clean restrooms. Kids loved the pool. The camp sites were in great shape. We loved the carpet-like grass. Loved that it was peaceful! Thanks to those who work hard to keep the place in shape!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littleaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Crooked Creek is a nice campground. They had activities for the kids like a playground but we mainly used the campground as a resting point from which to go see Black Hills attractions. We did do a little gold-panning in the creek just so we could say we did that and for the kids. We primitive camped (no electricity or heat) in one of the Tipi tents the first night which the kids (6 and 9 year-old boys) can now have as a memory (good memory I hope but we sure did get cold early September 2011). The other two nights we stayed in a cabin with electricity and heat (no bathroom). The communal bathroom shower area (they only had one shower building open, maybe because summer season had just ended) was OK for the toilets (very clean at least) but the showers could really use some help in that while new and clean there was just practically no room to dress/undress. It was workable and otherwise a nice shower facility but the size of the shower stall dressing area left a lot to be desired. Also had to wait until after the morning rush to use the showers because they only had one building open and too much demand. Otherwise I don't have anything to complain about and overall it was a pleasant campground. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There are so many campgrounds right off the highway that unless you make a real effort to go somewhere more isolated you are going to get some road noise which some reviewers have been critical of. We experienced no negative issues with the road noise and it certainly is not unique to Crooked Creek as stated. For what we paid I actually am really happy with what we got ($28.50 a night in a cabin with electricity and heat). We had a good time and would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden Valley, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We arrived at Crooked Creek on 7/11/11 around 7 p.m., unloaded our items, and went to get dinner. We got back to our cabin around 9 p.m., and first attempted to get onto the Crooked Creek wireless network. My wife teaches online courses and needed to do a few hours work each night during our vacation. When we tried to connect to the network, the signal quality said (for all 3 connections-there were 3 for the resort) low or poor. We kept trying, kept getting booted off, tried continually for 60 minutes, and after 10 p.m. we tried to call the front office to ask about this, but they were gone at this time. My wife needed to get work in that night, so we called a few places in Hill City but had no luck; thus, we had to relocate to a hotel in Rapid City 30 miles away. A major inconvenience since our children (5 years old and 8 months old) were already asleep. We came back to Crooked Creek the next day, and I talked to someone at the front desk that said refunding our money shouldn't be a problem. We came home 7/14, and noticed the charge was still on my account. We talked to the owner, who made it seem we could get a refund, but then said since we went though a reservation company, we'd need to talk to them instead. I talked to Leah at Black Hills Central Reservations and she said as long as Crooked Creek would refund, they would. She called the owner of CC while talking to me, and the owner of CC now refused to refund our money as she said, "We have Internet and with the way the economy is now I will not refund the money". When I told this woman that my wife needed to work each evening, and the resorts network for either down or too weak to reach our cabin, she replied, “that’s not my problem”.

When times are tough people show their true colors. Please do yourself a favor and stay as far away from this place as you can. Unless of course you enjoy filing a refusal of payment with your credit card, filing a BBB claim, and posting comments about amoral establishments.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MN_Photo_Guy55427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillCityResort, Owner at Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
The customer never contacted the front desk to explain that the wi-fi was not working. We do not have DSL internet so therefore we have radio towers that send out the signal and sometimes these need to be re-booted. This customer went all the way to the BBB with this complaint. All of the money was refunded to the customer accept the night they checked in. And as business owners we would never tell anyone in this state of economy that no refund would be made!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We had prebooked this so called cabin for a week and thank god ended up canceling 1 night before we actually got there. $100 a night during the week is a little pricey for this run down small cabin. Furniture is from the 70's beds are small and very uncomfortable. Very disappointed. Ended up leaving early and losing $. Nice people but asked for extra pillow one night, never rec'd, bring towels because their bath towels are very small--no extras what so ever. If you had a camper this place is very nice. Beautiful scenery and accomodations. Internet WiFi works off and on.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexiloo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillCityResort, Owner at Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
This customer stayed at our Country Inn Motel. Happy to hear thet enjoyed our babbling creek but were unhappy with the new queen beds we just put in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

we stayed there for four nights and overall enjoyed the experience. we were on motorcycles and chose the option where we stayed in a tent provided by them.
campground is nice and well taken care of. hot showers and clean restrooms.
the tent was up when we arrived, altho we had been promised a site with electricity, it had none. no big deal though as we were tenting. the "deposit" for linens and towels turned out to be a charge. no big deal, but $25 to use towels and sheets is a little excessive. (had they listed it as a charge on the internet instead of a deposit, would have been nice) the $3 all you can eat pancake breakfast was okay, did it once, they opted for the local fare. Overall a nice, centrally located, easily accessible by motorcycle campground. Would definately consider it again, but would probably go for the cabin option they have or the motel they also have on site. NOTE: close to a main highway, I imagine that it is quite noisy during the Sturgis motorcycle rally

Room Tip: talk to the staff, friendly and helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huskerfan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hill City hotels
2.8 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
2.7 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
247 reviews
5.2 mi away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#10 of 12 in Hill City
128 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park

Property: Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park
Address: 24184 HYW 16 & US 385, Hill City, SD 57745
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crooked Creek Resort and RV Park is nestled in a valley of the southern Black Hills, just outside of Hill City, South Dakota. Minutes away from national monuments, the George S. Mickelson Trail, and many museums and shops, it is the perfect place to stay for vacationing families, outdoor enthusiasts and history buffs, alike. Pack a lunch and spend the day hiking on the Mickelson Trail or soaking in the beauty of nature and wildlife at Custer State Park. Create a life-long memory by visiting Mount Rushmore National Monument and Crazy Horse Memorial. Enjoy the quaint mountain community of Hill City and spend an afternoon visiting art galleries, shopping, taking a ride on the 1880 Train, enjoying a glass of wine at one of our 4 wineries or have a cold brew at one of our 2 new Micro Breweries. Hill City has it all! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crooked Creek Hotel Hill City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing